Guides: Communication Studies: Catholicism and the Media

Catholic Radio and Television

Catholic Radio Association: The CRA serves stations, program providers, and archdiosces involved in or interested in broadcasting Catholic radio programs. It helps members with technology, financing, and professional education. The website includes a list and map of Catholic radio stations.

CatholicTV: Established in 1957 by the Archdioscese of Boston, CatholicTV now provides evangelical, educational, and inspirational Catholic programming online and through cable and satellite tv.

Eternal World Television Network (EWTN): The largest religious media network in the world, the EWTN broadcasts Catholic family and religious programs 24 hours a day in Spanish and English.

Other Catholic Communication Resources

Signis: World Catholic Association for Communication
This Roman Catholic lay ecclesiastical association of communications professionals encourages Christians to speak out for communication policies that reflect Christian values and human rights. (Signis has been officially recognized by the Holy See as an International Association of the Faithful).
Vatican Messages for World Communications Days
Each year, the Pope delivers a message addressing World Communications Day. (Messages are posted on the page of each of the last three Popes: Francis, Benedict XVI, and John Paul II.

Catholic Newspapers

Catholic Media Association of the United States and Canada (CMA)
The CMA includes publishers, journalists, editors and other staff members of Catholic newspapers, magazines and newsletters who work together to inform the public and deliver the news following the principles of the Catholic Church. The website includes a list of Catholic newspapers, magazines an newsletters as well as professional development and conference materials.
L'Osservatore Romano (The Roman Observer)
The official Vatican newspaper documents and provides commentary on the papal texts and documents of the Holy See as well as information on international events and news of the Church.
Michigan Catholic
The official newspaper of the Archdiocese of Detroit covers Catholic news and events of interest to Catholics in Southeast Michigan. It also includes faith-building and inspirational resources for Michigan Catholics
National Catholic Reporter (NCR)
An independent newspaper that covers issues of the Catholic Church as well as religious, political and social issues that affect Catholics. The NCR is not affiliated with the Catholic Church, but its mission is to "connects Catholics to church, faith and the common good with independent news, analysis and spiritual reflection."
Catholic Newspapers Online
The Catholic Research Resource Alliance has created this list of Catholic newspapers that are online, including many old editions that have been digitized.