Communication Studies: Research Methods

Provides communication students with the knowledge and necessary tools to compose a variety of course-required papers that are scholarly, accessible, and well-written.

Demystifies the research process by helping students master library skills, scholarly writing, and the latest research technology tools.

The first anthology of work on dialogic approaches to communication that offers a state-of-the-art collection of original essays in this emerging research area.

Provides an in-depth look at why the field of communication is so central in initiatives for social impact around the world.

The Sourcebook for Political Communication Research offers a comprehensive resource for current research methods, measures, and analytical techniques.

Provides a comprehensive and up-to-date review of the current research, theory and practice in the study of skilled communication.

Looks at using research protocols to derive meaning from traditional primary documents such as newspapers and magazines and more recent forms--television newscasts and cyberspace.

Includes personal interviews with many pioneers, systematically exploring their lives, careers, and contributions.

Articulates a broad understanding of crisis communication, discussing the theoretical, methodological, and practical implications of domestic and transnational crises, featuring the work of global scholars from a range of disciplines.

Documents the evolution of transgender communication studies and challenges fundamental assumptions about the relationship between communication and identity.

Unpacks the myriad ways rhetorical and communication theories and feminist intersectional approaches impact one another.

Provides an introduction to the theories and practices related to transcribing communication data.

Explores the latest developments in the theories, methods, and practical applications of this dynamic field.

Explores the presentation and synthesis of research, theory, and application efforts on the aggressive communication traits of argumentative and verbal aggressiveness.

Includes chapters on qualitative and quantitative research methods for conflict, intimate partner violence, family dynamics, mental health, negotiation, workplace bullying, healthcare conflict, identity and intercultural conflict, the middle way approach, conflict in the global workplace, the culture-based situational conflict model, community ethics and engagement, spirituality and conflict, and trust in academic-community partnerships.

Addresses issues including body alterations, biofeedback, andolfactics, which are not always included in other nonverbal communication textbooks.

Non-technical overviews of statistical methods and how they can be used to answer communication-related questions or aide the researcher dealing with difficult data problems

This book explores the issues related to the intercultural communication challenges in different countries and different social groups.

Provides a comprehensive and in-depth account of various issues encountered in translation and interpreting activities and cross-cultural communication in the Asia Pacific.

Introduces and contextualizes the most important methodological issues in the field for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students.

Working from the tradition of the Montreal School in its approach, this book focuses not only on how an organization's members understand the purposes of the organization through communication, but also on how they realize and recognize the organization itself as they work within it.