Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historic Detroit Mercy Newspapers
The UDM Special Collections Page houses the digitized images of UDM, U of D, and Mercy College Newspapers and related publications going back to their first issues.
Mercy College Student Newspapers
Browse through issues of the bi-weekly Mercy College newspaper from its inception in 1941 through its last issue in 1989. The publication's name changed quite a few times, with titles including: Outer Echoes, Dateline, Mercy College News, Mercy Update, MCD Catalyst, and the Mercy Catalyst.
This archive starts with the first issue of the student-run newspaper (1918) and runs through 2012.
This University of Detroit, student-run publication began in 1890 and was eventually absorbed by the Varsity News in 1923.
Media Bias/Fact Check
This website evaluates the biases of newspapers and other news sources.
Search these databases to find online newspaper articles.
America's News (Newsbank)
NewsBank contains the electronic editions of record for The Detroit News (1999-date), The Lansing State Journal (1999-date), and over 100 other Michigan newspapers. Paid ads are excluded. The collections also include access to: many regional, national and international newspapers, well known news magazines, and a large database of obituaries and death notices.
- Detroit News -- Includes full text articles going back to 1999 and also pdf pictures of each page the print newspaper from 2018 to the present.
Newspaper Source Plus (Ebsco)
Provides full text of over 1,200 newspapers and 40 news magazines, as well as TV and radio transcripts. Includes full text of The Washington Post and USA Today
U.S. Newsstream (Proquest)
Includes access to U.S. news sources including the Detroit Free Press (1999-current), the Lansing State Journal, and the Michigan Chronicle.
New York Times 1881-2010 (Proquest)
Includes pdf page views of all newspaper issues as well as the full text of articles and advertisements.
Wall Street Journal
Available online going back to 2010. (The library also receives a daily print copy. We keep the most current three month's print issues in the Bargman Room on the second floor. Issues published before 2010 are available on microfilm.)
This website includes current issues of UDM's student newspaper.
Includes over 200 grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals.