Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources
Open Educational Resources are freely accessible educational resources that can be used, re-mixed, and altered for educational purposes. They can include full courses, parts of courses, videos, handouts, tutorials, etc...
The Open Education Consortium is a global, non-profit consortium of educational institutions that advocates for global open education. Its website includes news and information on recent initiatives.
SPARC is another global coalition that advocates for open education, open access, and open data. Its website includes background information on open initiatives as well as news on recent legislation.
Books and Textbooks
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books)
This searchable directory includes thousands of peer-reviewed, open-access books from academic publishers.
National Academies Press
Books and reports from the U.S. National Academies that are free to access and link to, bt can not be re-mixed or distributed.
MERLOT Communication Studies Open Textbooks
Textbooks in the MERLOT collection are reviewed and rated by discipline-specific editors and by users.
College Open Textbooks
Originally funded by grants from the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, now completely run by volunteers.
Free, peer-reviewed, open access books from the Netherlands-based OAPEN foundation.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
Includes books, technical papers, country strategy documents, and knowledge notes authored by the World Bank.
LibriVox includes free audio recordings of books in the public domain.
Open Textbook Library
Free, peer-reviewed and openly licensed textbooks provided by the Open Textbook Network, a group of more than 70 colleges.
Images and Videos
Pixabay: "...copyright free images and videos. All contents are released under Creative Commons CC0, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist"
openclipart: Drawings and clipart that are all in the public domain.
Creative Commons Search: Allows you to search different image and video sources using different CC criteria.
Pixnio: High quality public domain images that can be used freely for any personal or commercial use.
Other Free Learning Resources
World Digital Library
From the LIbrary of Congress and UNESCO, this public archive includes images of historic books, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, prints, and photographs from around the world.
Wisc-Online open educational resource library
"Wisc-Online is a repository of high-quality educational learning materials FREE to learners and educators."
A large collection of peer-reviewed learning objects including animations, assignments, assessment tools, case studies, online courses, simulations, and tutorials
CUNY Academic Works
Includes articles, textbooks, conference presentations, syllabi, and more from the City University of New York students and faculty.
OER Search Engines
Use these search engines to search multiple sites with OER resources:
(developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library)
(developed by George Mason University Libraries)