Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Health and Business Databases
Although some articles in the following databases may fit evidence-based criteria, the databases do not have preset limits to return only evidence-based results. You will need to look at each article individually to determine whether or not it is evidence-based. Try using search terms such as "systematic review" or "meta analysis".
This government database includes millions citations for biomedical articles, including articles addressing health care quality and costs. Use limits on article types to find evidence-based research. Look in the upper right corner to see results accessible to Detroit Mercy students and faculty. There is also a wizard for specialized PubMed searches on healthcare quality and costs
Includes over a million articles in science, biomedicine, technology and business.
Healthcare Administration Database (Proquest)
Includes journal articles and dissertations.
ABI Inform (ProQuest)
This database includes scholarly and trade journal articles, market and industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.
Includes full text articles from 38 journals form fields such as business, management, public policy and marketing
Wiley Online Library
Includes scholarly, peer-reviewed articles on business, healthcare, finance and accounting, etc...
Public Health (ProQuest)
Includes over 500 full text journals and reports, as well as newspaper articles covering the latest breaking topics.
Journal of Health Economics
Where to Find Evidence-Based Journal Articles
The following databases have pre-set filters you can use to limit your search to evidence-based sources
This government database includes millions citations for biomedical articles, including articles addressing health care quality and costs. Use limits on article types to find evidence-based research.
for instructions on how to limit your results to evidence-based articles in PubMed.
This database includes full-text Cochrane Reviews, which are systematic reviews of research in healthcare and health policy.
A large nursing and allied health database-- scroll down under the search options to limit by publication type. CINAHL has limited full text articles, but you may be able to find the full text
of some citations in other UDM databases.
PsycINFO , from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 3.4 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Use an Advanced Search to limit to evidence-based sources.
Ovid Full Text (Journals@Ovid)
Over 100 core titles in the health sciences
Remember to give credit to the original source when you use someone else's work or idea, whether you use a direct quote or paraphrase. Most style guides require some form of citation in the text of your paper as well as at the end in a bibliography or list of references.
Purdue Online Writing Center (OWL)
The Purdue OWL offers detailed instructions and examples of how to write and cite in MLA or APA format.
A free, quick and easy to use citation generator that works for APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
Use RefWorksl keep track of the articles you find as you do your library research, and use it again as you write to format your entire paper, inserting quotations and creating a list of references at the end. For help creating an account, click here.