Graphic Novels: Create a Graphic Novel

This interactive website allows K-12 students to create their own comics by choosing backgrounds, characters, props, and dialogue.

Step-by-step guide to creating your own graphic novel.

Help your class make their own graphic novel. They can choose characters, poses, and expressions, then add their own words. Download hundreds of free printable characters.

Information available to help students with special needs, such as autism, deaf/hearing impaired, learning disabled, head and brain injuries, and more.

From the website: "Easel.ly is a website that features thousands of free infographic templates and design objects which users can customize to create and share their visual ideas online. Using the site is as easy as dragging and dropping design elements, and users can either choose a template from our extensive library, or they can upload their own background image and start from scratch." 1-15

This is a subscription-based website. However, it gives directions and sample, printable picture templates for children to make their own comic book.

This interactive website provides three scenes and shows you in a step-by-step guide how to create a graphic novel.

Free website. Must register.

However, there is a for fee version too.

From the website: "ToonDoo is a cool, comic-creating tool from Jambav, a fun site for kids. Jambav is devoted to creating a unique array of free and customizable online games of educational value for children of all abilities."

From the website: Creative Commons provides free, easy-to-use copyright licenses to make a simple and standardized way to give the public permission to share and use your creative work–on conditions of your choice.

Many images are copyright free. Includes music and video.

Find images that are in the public domain: no copyright restrictions.

From the website: "Public domain images, royalty free stock photos, copyright friendly free images. Not copyrighted, no rights reserved. All pictures on this site are explicitly placed in the public domain, free for any personal or commercial use."

Find copyright free images. The images range from 1500 through 1922 and include journalistic photographs, charts, portraits, headlines, maps, decorative images, drawings and editorial cartoons.

From the website: "Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.

This unrivalled collection contains historical images from the Wellcome Library collections, Tibetan Buddhist paintings, ancient Sanskrit manuscripts written on palm leaves, beautifully illuminated Persian books and much more.

The Biomedical Collection holds over 40 000 high-quality images from the clinical and biomedical sciences."