Guides: Environmental Science: Home

Where to Find Articles

Find Articles

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection
Hundreds of Elsevier journals in physical sciences & engineering, health sciences, life sciences and social sciences & humanities
Engineering Village
Engineering Village is an integrated interface for finding engineering information. Its main feature is Compendex: the most comprehensive database of scientific and engineering research available, covering 120 years of core engineering literature.
AVAILABLE ON CAMPUS ONLY
Environment Complete [Ebsco]
Full text database in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy & related fields of study
GreenFILE
Offers scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
SciFinder
SciFinder ScholarTM is a research discovery tool
Includes references from nearly 9,500 currently published journals and patents from more than 50 active patent issuing authorities. One time registration is required
ASCE Library [American Society of Civil Engineers]
The following journals are available in full text:
- Journal of Geotechnical & Geoenvironmental Engineering
- Journal of Hydraulic Engineering
-Journal of Materials in Civil Engineering
-Journal of Architectural Engineering
-Journal of Infrastructure Systems
- Journal of Environmental Engineering
National Academies Press Free eBooks
National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
American Chemical Society core journals from the beginning of each journal, the earliest from 1879. The entire collection can be searched directly from the initial screen; all journals can be browsed from this screen as well. This included the Journal of Chemical Education, 1924-date is available from this site
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The premier database for research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore includes access to over 4.5 million full-text documents, including IEEE journals, magazines, conferences, and standards, as well as IET journals, magazines, and conferences with a backfile to the late 1800s for select titles.

Websites

Websites

United Nations Water coordinates the efforts of UN entities and international organizations on water and sanitation issues. Includes statistics, new, policies, and reports

WHO/UNICEF Joint Monitoring Programme for Water Supply, Sanitation and Hygiene (JMP) provides an extensive global database of progress on drinking water, sanitation and hygiene at country, regional and global levels. Includes data on households, schools, and health care facilities.

The Environmental Protection Agency Water Topics website Includes laws, regulations, standards and data on drinking water, waste water and water treatment, pollution prevention and monitoring, and water research publications and methods.

The American Water Works Association includes technical content for all facets of water and wastewater treatment including design, treatment, distribution, and collection.

Wastewater: From Waste to Resource is a report form the World Bank about an initiative for smarter wastewater interventions. Includes case studies and technical reports.

Regional Information

Websites

AirNow is a U.S. government website that includes current air quality data by city or zip code, as well as wildfire maps and guides.

The EPA's EJScreen is a mapping tool that shows various environmental justice indicators and indices (e.g. lead paint, hazardous waste proximity, particulate matter, etc...

The IEEE Climate Change website includes scholarly articles, conference proceedings, news articles, and conferences and events related to climate change.

Environmental Science: Home

Environmental Engineering

Where to Find Articles

Websites

Regional Information