Guides: Dentistry: Find Articles

Databases

Use these databases to search for articles on your topic. Many contain scholarly, peer reviewed articles which can be narrowed to full text. If your article is not full text, use the eJournal Finder on the left to search for it in other databases. For off campus access, use your Blackboard username and password.

CINAHL Ultimate
A research tool for nursing and allied health professionals and students. Full text for more than 1200 journals and indexing for another 5000 journals.
Cochrane Library
Contains the following evidence-based medicine databases:
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews) Includes Complete Reviews and Protocols. [FULL TEXT]
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
Cochrane Clinical Answers - provides short answers, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Review deemed most relevant
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source [Ebsco]
Covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics.
ProQuest Central
the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites

PubMed for Handhelds
Brings PubMed/MEDLINE to the point of care through mobile devices, like smartphones and tablet computers. It allows physicians, nurses, and other healthcare providers to access journal abstracts, bottom line summaries, “The Bottom Line” (TBL) and read full-text articles (may require journal subscription). It also includes PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome), askMEDLINE (free text, natural language queries) and Consensus Abstracts to view summary abstracts. Searches using clinical query filters or without filters is available.

SAGE Health Sciences
Topics range from basic sciences and clinical specialties in human and veterinary medicine; nursing, public health, and health services.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Electronic Journal Finder

eJournal Finder
Use this link to search for full text journals within the library databases. Search by journal title or ISSN.

EndNote

EndNote is a reference management software, used to manage bibliographies and references when writing essays, reports and articles SEE EndNote Installation Instructions here: https://udmercy.libguides.com/tutorials/EndNote

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan Form
Request books and journal articles from other libraries. Turn around varies from 7-14 business days.