Biology: Genetics

Japanese Quail genome

Genomics of the amoeba Dictyostelium discoideum.

"MaizeGDB is a community-oriented, long-term, federally funded informatics service to researchers focused on the crop plant and model organism Zea mays."

"MGI is the international database resource for the laboratory mouse, providing integrated genetic, genomic, and biological data to facilitate the study of human health and disease."

"MyMpn is an online resource devoted to studying the human pathogen Mycoplasma pneumoniae."

The species of Nasonia are a primary model for parasitoid genetics.

"OxyDB is a user-updatable database of information about the Oxytricha trifallax genome sequence, determined at the Washington University Genome Sequencing Center. OxyDB provides information on the genome, genes, and proteins of Oxytricha based on analyses performed at Princeton University, scientific literature published by the Oxytricha research community, and other sources."

"PomBase is a comprehensive database for the fission yeast Schizosaccharomyces pombe, providing structural and functional annotation, literature curation and access to large-scale data sets "

"The Rat Genome Database (RGD) was established in 1999 and is the premier site for genetic, genomic, phenotype, and disease data generated from rat research. In addition, it provides easy access to corresponding human and mouse data for cross-species comparisons. RGD’s comprehensive data and innovative software tools make it a valuable resource for researchers worldwide."

"Provides comprehensive integrated biological information for the budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae along with search and analysis tools to explore these data, enabling the discovery of functional relationships between sequence and gene products in fungi and higher organisms."

Nematode biology.

A collection of articles that discuss genes and the diseases they cause. These genetics are organized by the parts of the body they affect.

Focus is on human genetics.

"Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health."

"GOLD: Genomes Online Database, is a World Wide Web resource for comprehensive access to information regarding genome and metagenome sequencing projects, and their associated metadata, around the world."

OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily. OMIM is authored and edited at the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, under the direction of Dr. Ada Hamosh.

CDC's site covering genetic components of diseases and their impact on public health.

Site from Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. A guide to genetic disorders.

"An animated primer of 75 experiments that made modern genetics."

This site has modules that cover the history, explain the code, how DNA can be manipulated, and the applications of this knowledge, among other things

Site from Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

Very short animated video explaining the structure of the DNA molecule

A collection of primary documents concerning the details of the pursuit of DNA.

This is the discovery of of the structure of DNA from Pauling's perspective. The site has a searchable database of Paulings research notes.

Original letter to Nature proposing the structure of DNA.