Guides: Computer Science & Software Engineering: Certifications

Cisco Expert Certifications

Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert (CCIE)
Perhaps the most respected and prestigious certification in the tech industry, the CCIE is comprised of six separate certifications that span from design to operations and optimization. The six tracks include:
--CCIE Enterprise Infrastructure
--CCIE Enterprise Wireless
--CCIE Data Center
--CCIE Security
--CCIE Service Provider
--CCIE Collaboration
Cisco Certified Design Expert (CCDE)
This certification ensures that holders are experts in sustainable, manageable and scalable network architecture and design
Cisco Certified DevNet Expert
Passing the two-part exam for this certification shows the certificate holders' knowledge of network automation, programming, and security.

GIAC Certification

GIAC develops and administers over four cybersecurity certifications that align with SANS training.

GIAC Security Essentials Certification (GSEC)
Demonstrates hands-on knowledge of cryptography, defensible networks, incident handling and response, LINUX security, SIEM, web communication and security, and Windows security
GIAC Certified Incident Handler Certification (GCIH)
Includes the knowledge and ability to detect, investigate,respond and resolve security incidents

PMI Certification

The Project Management Institute is an organization of over a million global project management professionals.

Project Management Professional (PMP) Certification
Includes leadership and motivational skills, as well as the ability to use predictive and agile decision-making skills to complete projects and highlight and summarize their impacts

ISACA Certifications

The Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA) is a community of IS/IT professionals who are "dedicated to creating a digital world that’s safe, secure and accessible to all." They have created various badges and certifications that have annual maintenance requirements.

Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC) Credential
Includes skills in a proactive approach to risk assessment, response and reporting using agile methodology.
Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) Credential
Includes skills in assessing risks, implementing effective governance, and proactively responding to data breaches, ransomware attacks, and other security risks.
Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) Credential
Includes knowledge and skills in informatino systems acquisition, development, implementation, management, protection, and the information systems auditing process.
Certified Data Privacy Solutions Engineer (CDPSE)
Includes skills and knowledge to assess, build, implement and govern comprehensive data privacy measures and architectures.
Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT
Includes skills in enterprise IT governance, resources, benefits, and risk optimization.

Okta Certification

Okta is a cloud-based identity and access management platform that helps companies secure user authentication.

Okta Certified Professional
Includes hands-on experience in operating Okta technology for security authentication, including directory integration and single-sign on federation.

EC-Council Certification

EC-council is an American cybersecurity certification, training and services company.

Certified Ethical Hacker (C|EH)
Includes skills in methodically identifying,e valuating, testing and reporton on vulnerabilities in an organization and providing recommendations to protect vulnerable systems.

CompTIA Certifications

The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) offers vendor-neutral, independent certifications that show knowlege standards at both the entry level and advanced levels

CompTIA Network+
This certification shows that holders can explain, implement, configure, monitor, optimize and troubleshoot network services, architecture, and cloud connectivity.
CompTIA Security+
Requirements include the knowledge and skills to mitigate attacks, threats and vulnerabilities, implement identity, access management, and wireless security, respond to incidents, and design environments in compliance with various regulations
CompTIA A+
This certification covers the baseic, core skills needed to identify, support and troubleshoot
secure hardware, operating systems, networks, mobile devices.

(ISC)2 Certification

(ISC) Squared is an international membership association for information security leaders

ISC Squared Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP)
Includes "the advanced technical skills and knowledge to design, manage and secure data, applications and infrastructure in the cloud using best practices, policies and procedures"

Amazon Certification

Amazon Web Services Certified Solutions Architect
Includes the ability to design low-cost, high-performing architecture using the AWS services, framework, and infrastructure.

Microsoft Certification

Microsoft Certified: Azure Security Engineer
Includes ability to recommend, implement, manage and monitor security components and configurations in Azure environments.
Microsoft Certified: Azure Solutions Architect
INcludes ability to work with buisness partners to design cloud computing, networks, storage, monitoring and security.