Physician Assistant

Data are provided on topics such as the use of health care, the costs of care, health care systems, trends in hospital care, health insurance coverage, out-of-pocket spending, patient satisfaction, hospital stays, ER visits, surgeries, re-admissions, and much more.

Provides access to CDC data and statistics including national surveys, surveillance resources, and vital records.

Offers health care statistics, reports, and trending for Medicare, Medicaid, and State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Also reports on measures of National Health Expenditures, including age and gender estimates, as well as health expenditures by state of residence and provider.

Site gives you direct access to public data released by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).

Gateway to statistics from over 100 US federal agencies without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.

A compilation of information about all major data collection systems sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). This includes health status and behaviors; health care access; resources, utilization and expenditures; insurance coverage and financing; functional status as well as social determinants of health and quality of care.

Uses dozens of data sources to set national targets and track progress toward achieving objectives.

HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to nationwide and state-specific health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.

On this site, you can find data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse. The data is collected and supplied from agencies from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as well as state partners. This includes the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Food and Drug Administration, and the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, among others.

Select datasets to create custom data views on demographics, Health Care Facilities (CMS), Health Center Program Sites
Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSAs), HRSA Grants
Medically Underserved Areas/Populations (MUA/P), National Health Service Corps (NHSC) Sites, Organ Donation and Transplantation, Ryan White HIV/AIDS Recipients and Sub-Recipients.

The United States’ principal health statistics agency. Provides a myriad of statistics on many topics: Diseases and Conditions; Infectious Diseases; Family Life; Health Care and Insurance; Disability and Risk Factors; Injuries; Life Stages and Populations; Reproductive Health; Healthy People; National Surveys; Vital Records; Provider Surveys; Historical Surveys.

Designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.

Provides utilization and provision of care data for a variety of health care settings: physician offices, ED and outpatient departments, ambulatory surgery, in-patient hospital, and long term care.

NHIS has monitored the health of the nation since 1957, and includes data on a broad range of health topics, collected through personal household interviews. Survey results have been instrumental in providing data to track health status, health care access, and progress toward achieving national health objectives.

One in a continuing series of nationally representative sample surveys of U.S. home health and hospice agencies. It is designed to provide descriptive information on home health and hospice agencies, their staffs, their services, and their patients.

Gathers information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health.

Includes birth, mortality, and fetal death data as well as marriage/divorce and more.

Provides health data on more than 700 health topics including demographics, health insurance coverage, health costs, minority health, and women's health for all 50 states. (Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF))

Non-partisan, not-for-profit civic initiative to provide a data-driven portrait of the American population, US governments’ finances, governments’ impact on society, vital spending, revenue, demographic, health, education, poverty, population, Medicare, and much more.

Provides a tool to quantify health loss from hundreds of diseases, injuries, and risk factors, so that health systems can be improved and disparities can be eliminated. (University of Washington, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME))

Catalog for demographic, public health and global health data. Use the GHDx to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health. (University of Washington, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME))

Portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring global health.

To compare countries on "just about anything from healthcare to murders. Includes a vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources. You can get maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics as well.

Provides a comprehensive perspective on our nation's health, state-by-state, evaluating a historical and comprehensive set of health, environmental and socioeconomic data to determine national health benchmarks and state rankings. Reports include Annual Report, Seniors Report, Health of Women and Children, Those Who Have Served, Health Disparities, teen suicide, low birth weight, obesity, and more.

Provides nationwide comparison of counties with similar populations based on key demographic, social, and economic indicators. (Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute)

Provides statistical information and reports and an interactive mapping tool to create customized data maps.

Responsible for the collection of information on a range of health related issues. The data are provided at the state, county and community level.

Data has been collected from a variety of platforms to offer users easy access to Michigan specific data. Data sets include: Opioid overdose; Michigan profile for health youth; MI Traffic Crash; Treatment episode data; Suicide deaths; Opioid prescriptions dispensed; Opioid related hospitalizations; Alcohol sales to minors; Drug overdose deaths; Lung cancer

Public data portal that includes datasets and content on environmental exposures, health outcomes, and demographics across Michigan, usually by county. For instructions on searching for data, creating infographics, and more, see the Resources link.

Selected datasets available to the public for secondary analysis and are available one year after the research report is published on AARP.org. Much request dataset through a request form. Topics include: health and healthcare; life and leisure, livable communities; long term care, technology; work and finance.

AARP Research key issues studied include Social Security, Medicare, long-term care and care giving, work and job security, healthy living, politics and government. technology, and relationships. Site includes state-specific survey results and fact sheets concerning the 50+.

Includes: ACL Data Portal; Profile of older Americans; Census data & population estimates; Projected future growth; Minority again; Key indicators of well-being.

Offers a report (Older Americans: Key Indicators of Well-Being) which provides the latest data on the 40 key indicators. It is divided into six subject areas: population, economics, health status, health risks and behaviors, health care, and environment.

Datasets include Medicare and Medicaid Beneficiary Data, and Medicare Part D Data, utilization data like Physical functioning assessment Psychological status measures Psycho-social functioning measure End-of-life care decisions, claims, quality monitoring, in-patient rehab patient assessment, Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers & Systems, Health and Retirement Survey, Health Outcomes Survey, and more.

A longitudinal panel study that surveys a representative sample of more than 26,000 Americans over the age of 50 every two years. The HRS explores the changes in labor force participation and the health transitions that individuals undergo toward the end of their work lives and in the years that follow. The study has collected information about income, work, assets, pension plans, health insurance, disability, physical health and functioning, cognitive functioning, and health care expenditures.

Concerned with family caregiving issues in the U.S. Research includes reports on Alzheimer’s to retirement, rare disease, working caregivers, caregiver demographics and more. Also provides open datasets on caregivers of veterans and mentally ill adults as well.

Site contains information about the growing older adult population, definitions of abuse, the incidence and prevalence of mistreatment, and risk and protective factors for mistreatment, among other key topic areas.

Database to find NIA-supported scientific resources, datasets, informatics resources, and more.

Data for public use to help advance research on aging and health.Both datasets and health instruments are publicly available for download. The 8 waves of the poll include topics like Health care savings accounts, alcohol, physical functioning and falls, mental health, and blood pressure, social isolation, hearing loss, emergency department use, telehealth, advance care planning, and home and neighborhood environments, dental care, food insecurity and much more.

BRFSS - On-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions, risk behaviors, and use of preventive services, including drug addiction, depression, and other mental/behavioral topics in the United States on a yearly basis.

Provide information on mental health diagnoses and the mental health treatment services, outcomes, and demographic and substance use characteristics of individuals in mental health treatment facilities that report to individual state administrative data systems.

Only source of national- and state-level data on the mental health services delivery system reported by both publicly and privately operated specialty mental health treatment facilities. They include: Public and private psychiatric hospitals, Nonfederal general hospitals with separate psychiatric units, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs medical centers, Residential treatment centers for children and adults, Community mental health centers, Outpatient, day treatment, or partial hospitalization mental health facilities, Multi-setting (non-hospital) mental health facilities.

Survey of all substance use and mental health treatment facilities, sponsored by SAMHSA; nation’s most comprehensive national source of data on substance use and mental health treatment facilities. Provides information about the number and characteristics of public and private substance use and mental health treatment facilities nationwide.

An annual census of treatment facilities. Information is collected on the location, organization, structure, services, and utilization of substance abuse treatment facilities in the United States.

NSDUH measures: use of illegal drugs, prescription drugs, alcohol, and tobacco and misuse of prescription drugs; substance use disorder and substance use treatment major depressive episode and depression care; serious psychological distress, mental illness, and mental health care.

The National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH) measures: use of illegal drugs, prescription drugs, alcohol, and tobacco; mental disorders, treatment, and co-occurring substance use and mental disorders

Provides data on many mental health conditions. Includes two interactive tools that allow quick filtering down to the datapoints needed. Also includes an online analysis tool for public use that allows for exploration and analysis of the nation's substance abuse and mental health data.

System provides reports on tobacco use in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Information is available in areas such as funding, policy, legislation. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), HHS)

Comprises demographic and drug history information about individuals undergoing substance abuse treatment: records for admission or discharge; Demographic information, such as age, sex, race/ethnicity, and employment status; substance abuse characteristics, such as substances used, age at first use, route of use, frequency of use, and number of previous admissions.

Develops and maintains a number of quality measurement tools and strategies that assess the quality of care provided to children and young adults, as well as projects to advance the effective use of data to improve policy and practice. Based out of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

CCDF provides federal money to States, Territories, and Tribes to subsidize the cost of child care for lower-income families. The Institute has collected, coded, and disseminated the CCDF policies in effect across the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories and outlying areas.

Nonprofit, nonpartisan research center that studies children at all stages of development and provides research, data, and analysis to the people and institutions whose decisions and actions affect children, including program providers, the policy community, researchers and educators, and the media.

Statistics on children and families in the United States across a range of domains, including family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.

Part of the Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, site provides online access to national, state, and regional findings from the National Survey of Children’s Health and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs. Provides: an interactive data query for NSCH and NS-CSHCN data; downloadable datasets with accompanying codebooks that include measures, indicator labels and more; US maps to compare state data with national data; and tables to compare data across states.

Equity-focused research to help improve child wellbeing and increase racial and ethnic equity in opportunities for children. Topics include: Income, Work and Family, Neighborhoods, Early Childhood. Tool allows data analysis by race/ethnicity, to compare data across states, metropolitan areas, counties, large cities, and large school districts, and compare policy indicators across states.
Datasets and Data visualizations available. A project of Brandeis University.

Provides access to hundreds of measures of child well-being to track the educational, social, economic, and physical well-being of children state by state.

Contains links to many research reports on persistent and emerging maternal and child health problems and assessment and surveillance: Child Health USA Data Book, Women's Health USA Data Book, and more.

This web tool provides a catalog of existing surveillance systems that contain data relevant to childhood obesity research. It includes local, state, and national systems that provide data at multiple levels.

Survey to children's immunization providers to monitor childhood immunization coverage.

Examines the physical and emotional health of children ages 0-17 years of age. Special emphasis is placed on factors that may relate to well-being of children, including medical homes, family interactions, parental health, school and after-school experiences, and safe neighborhoods.

Provides access to to maternal and infant health-related data at the U.S., state, county, and city level. Health statistics include preterm birth, infant mortality, tobacco use, cesarean birth rates, and health insurance coverage. Detailed information by race, ethnicity, and maternal age for many indicators is also available.

PRAMS collects site-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. PRAMS surveillance currently covers about 81% of all U.S. births.

Monitors six types of health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults: injuries / violence, sexual behaviors, alcohol & drugs, tobacco, diet, physical activity

Survey to children's immunization providers to monitor childhood immunization coverage.

PRAMS collects site-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. PRAMS surveillance currently covers about 81% of all U.S. births.

The U.S. Census Bureau conducts more than 130 surveys and programs each year on a range of topics: vital statistics, health, poverty data for state, county, and most metropolitan areas; health insurance data; housing; economics; jail data; business; and much more.

Platform to access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Topics include: age and sex; business and economy; education; emergency management; employment; families and living arrangements; geography; health; hispanic origin; housing; income and poverty; international trade; population; population estimates; public sector; race; redistricting; research; voting and registration; and much more.

Gathers information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health.

Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States back to the 1870's.

CDC site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance

NIH's database for patients and their families. Provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. Includes statistics within health conditions or topics..

Provides morbidity and mortality data for selected nationally notifiable diseases reported by the 50 states. Includes a link for State Health Statistics on these subjects as well.

The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program of the National Cancer Institute works to provide information on cancer statistics in an effort to reduce the burden of cancer among the U.S. population.

The objective is to provide a system to characterize the cancer burden in a standardized manner in order to motivate action, integrate surveillance into cancer control planning, characterize areas and demographic groups, and expose health disparities. Interactive graphics and maps provide visual support for deciding where to focus cancer control efforts.

Providing the latest cancer data on the United States population. The site provides state-specific and regional data for cancer cases diagnosed and cancer deaths.

Searchable, comparable, state-level data for chronic diseases and risk factors that have a substantial impact on public health: alcohol; arthritis; asthma; cancer; cardiovascular disease; chronic kidney disease; chronic obstructive pulmonary disease; diabetes; immunization; nutrition, physical activity, and weight status; oral health; tobacco; overarching conditions; disability, mental health, older adults, reproductive health, and school health.

NIDDK site contains outcomes of studies on diabetes, digestive, kidney diseases, obesity, weight and more.

Interactive platform for accessing HIV, Viral Hepatitis, sexually transmitted disease (STD), and tuberculosis (TB) data collected by CDC's National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHHSTP). (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), HHS)

Interactive tool that contains antibiotic resistance data from bacteria isolated from humans as part of the National Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring System (NARMS). (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), HHS)

Statistics and trends for sexually transmitted diseases in the United States. (CDC)

Site contains information about the growing older adult population, definitions of abuse, the incidence and prevalence of mistreatment, and risk and protective factors for mistreatment, among other key topic areas.

An ongoing survey that collects the most current and comprehensive national- and state-level data on intimate partner violence, sexual violence and stalking victimization in the United States.

Offers fast facts on hospitals and hospital systems.

Provides data and statistics about more than 7,000 hospitals nationwide. Information about hospitals from public and private data sources includes Medicare claims data, hospital cost reports, services provided, utilization statistics, accreditation status, financial information, bed size, discharges, patient days, and gross patient revenue.

Datasets include Medicare and Medicaid Beneficiary Data, and Medicare Part D Data, utilization data like Physical functioning assessment Psychological status measures Psycho-social functioning measure End-of-life care decisions, claims, quality monitoring, in-patient rehab patient assessment, Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers & Systems, Health and Retirement Survey, Health Outcomes Survey, and more.

The instrument/data collection tool used to collect and report assessment data by home health agencies is called the Outcome and Assessment Information Set (OASIS). CMS has required Medicare-certified home health agencies to collect and transmit OASIS data for all adult patients whose care is reimbursed by Medicare and Medicaid with the following exceptions: patients under the age of 18, patients receiving maternity services, patients receiving only chore or housekeeping services. OASIS data are used for multiple purposes including calculating several types of quality reports which are provided to home health agencies to help guide quality and performance improvement efforts.

Health Center Program awardees and look-alikes are required to report on a core set of measures each calendar year as defined in the UDS, a standardized reporting system. HRSA uses UDS data to assess the impact and performance of the Health Center Program, and to promote data-driven quality improvement. Explore aggregated UDS data on health center patient characteristics, services provided, clinical processes and health outcomes, patients' use of services, staffing, costs, and revenues.

Information about the provision and use of ambulatory medical care services in the United States. Findings are based on a sample of visits to non-federal employed office-based physicians who are primarily engaged in direct patient care.

One in a continuing series of nationally representative sample surveys of U.S. home health and hospice agencies. It is designed to provide descriptive information on home health and hospice agencies, their staffs, their services, and their patients.

NHCS collects data on patient care in hospital-based settings to describe patterns of health care delivery and utilization in the United States. Settings include inpatient, emergency (EDs), and outpatient departments (OPDs). The survey will provide hospital utilization statistics for the Nation. In addition, NHCS will also be able to monitor national trends in substance use-related ED visits including opioid visits. This replaces the National Hospital Discharge Survey which stopped collecting data in 2010.

Formerly National Study of Long-Term Care Providers (NSLTCP), monitors trends in the supply, provision, and use of the major sectors of paid, regulated long-term care services. NPALS uses survey data on the residential care community and adult day services sectors, and administrative data on the home health, nursing home, hospice, inpatient rehabilitation, and long-term care hospital sectors.

Equity-focused research to help improve child wellbeing and increase racial and ethnic equity in opportunities for children. Topics include: Income, Work and Family, Neighborhoods, Early Childhood. Tool allows data analysis by race/ethnicity, to compare data across states, metropolitan areas, counties, large cities, and large school districts, and compare policy indicators across states.
Datasets and Data visualizations available. A project of Brandeis University.

Foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Health Policy Research, Analysis, Polling, Facts, Data and Journalism. See State Health Facts interactive tools for info on state-level data. Use the "hamburger" in top left corner to navigate website.

Presents trends for measures related to access to care, affordable care, care coordination, effective treatment, healthy living, patient safety, and person-centered care. The report presents, in chart form, the latest available findings on quality of and access to healthcare, as well as disparities related to race and ethnicity, income, and other social determinants of health.

Provide a snapshot of the latest research related to specific social determinants of health. Pick a determinant you're interested in and learn how it can affect health outcomes and health disparities.

Foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Health Policy Research, Analysis, Polling, Facts, Data and Journalism. See State Health Facts interactive tools for info on state-level data. Use the "hamburger" in top left corner to navigate website.

Data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage. The information is based on surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the country. Users can create summary data tables, download public use data files, or browse through MEPS reports and chart books.

Provides access to analysis, reporting, and datasets that monitor health information technology trends and Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology programs and policies.

Datasets include Medicare and Medicaid Beneficiary Data, and Medicare Part D Data, utilization data like Physical functioning assessment Psychological status measures Psycho-social functioning measure End-of-life care decisions, claims, quality monitoring, in-patient rehab patient assessment, Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers & Systems, Health and Retirement Survey, Health Outcomes Survey, and more.

AHRQ maintains 4 databases with aggregated results for selected CAHPS surveys, patient experience with healthcare in a given year. Select one of the databases and see the Chartbooks for each year: Health Plan Survey, Child Hospital Survey, Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Survey, and Clinician & Group Survey.

Site gives you direct access to public data released by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).

Data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage. The information is based on surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the country. Users can create summary data tables, download public use data files, or browse through MEPS reports and chart books.

Data contain survey responses and CMS administrative data for individuals participating in the MCBS. Source of information on socioeconomic and demographic characteristics, health status and functioning, health care use and expenditures, and health insurance coverage of the entire Medicare population including the aged, disabled, and institutionalized Medicare beneficiaries.

Provides access to to maternal and infant health-related data at the U.S., state, county, and city level. Health statistics include preterm birth, infant mortality, tobacco use, cesarean birth rates, and health insurance coverage. Detailed information by race, ethnicity, and maternal age for many indicators is also available.

Provides data on illnesses, injuries on the job, and data on worker fatalities.

Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System - interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data.

Foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Health Policy Research, Analysis, Polling, Facts, Data and Journalism. See State Health Facts interactive tools for info on state-level data. Use the "hamburger" in top left corner to navigate website.

Gathers information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health.

Provides access to to maternal and infant health-related data at the U.S., state, county, and city level. Health statistics include preterm birth, infant mortality, tobacco use, cesarean birth rates, and health insurance coverage. Detailed information by race, ethnicity, and maternal age for many indicators is also available.

PRAMS collects site-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. PRAMS surveillance currently covers about 81% of all U.S. births.

Provides statistics on the health workforce and the medically underserved. Includes: the National Center for Health Workforce Analysis (NCHWA) which provides data on health workforce research and projections. Find workforce projection data, Area Health Resource Files, and Nursing Workforce survey data; National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) contains information on medical malpractice payments and certain adverse actions related to health care practitioners, providers, and suppliers. Find public NPDB data and compliance results; and Health Workforce Shortage Areas provides data on Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSAs), Medically Underserved Areas/Populations (MUA/Ps), and more.

Promotes the generation and utilization of data, information, and research about nurses, nursing education, and the nursing workforce.

Helps to build that body of knowledge by estimating the supply and demand for health workers in the U.S. and developing tools and resources to inform decision-making on health care workforce investments.

Provides data from a variety of sources to present recent trends and the current status of the registered nurse (RN) and licensed practical nurse (LPN) workforces.

Contains essential data about applications, admissions, enrollment, retention, and graduation rates; provide a comprehensive demographic profile of the current student population documenting ethnic-racial identity, gender, and age.​

This government publication includes information on typical job responsibilities, work environment, salary, job outlook, and state and area data.

Provides data on workforce demographics, job characteristics, training needs, intent to stay or leave, professional engagement and satisfaction, and other areas. PH WINS is the only nationally representative survey of state and local government public health employees in the United States.

Here you'll find the latest and archived sources of nursing workforce data.