Skip to main content
University of Detroit Mercy logo

Physician Assistant

Medical / Nursing Mobile App Info

Presently, there are no guidelines or regulations for medical apps; anyone with adequate programming skills can create an app. Analyze any medical or nursing apps before downloading. Note who was involved in the creation of the app.

iMedical Apps is an online publication (blog) written by a team of physicians and medical students that rates medical and healthcare applications for Apple products, Android, devices, and Blackberry. Check it out for suggestions and comments on specific apps.

(Presence on this list does not indicate endorsement.)

Medical / Nursing Apps

Access CINAHL Complete. At the bottom of the homepage is an "iphone and android apps" link. Click the link and enter your email address to receive download instructions, a link, and a download "key".


PubMed for Handhelds: search biomedical literature from MEDLINE.


WISER Response: Provides accurate information about hazardous substances, emergency resources available, and surrounding environmental conditions in an hazardous material incident.

ACEP Toxicology Section Antidote provides access to dosing regimens for a variety of medications and antidotes used for common poisonings encountered in emergency medicine.


CDC Opioid Guideline: helps providers apply recommendations by including the entire guideline, tools, and resources. Includes a Morphine Milligram Equivalent (MME) calculator*, summaries of key recommendations, and an interactive motivational interviewing feature to help providers practice effective communications skills and prescribe with confidence.


CDC Vaccine Schedules: provides ACIP recommended immunization schedules for children, adolescents, and adults.  


Epocrates: drug reference application with info on prescription and OTC medications, pill identifier, drug interactions, and several med calculators.


LactMed: database of drugs and dietary supplements that may effect breastfeeding.


NCSBN Medication Flashcards: from the National Council of the State Boards of Nursing. Study thousands of drugs grouped into manageable categories, all with common actions and effects.

3D Brain: Rotates and zooms around 29 interactive brain structures. Discover how each brain region functions, what happens when it is injured, and how it is involved in mental illness.


 Change Talk: Childhood Obesity and Overweight: a motivational interviewing skill building simulation for Pediatricians, Nurses, and Family Physicians. Collaborate with patients and families to elicit and strengthen their motivation to change their health behaviors.


Resuscitation!: virtual patient simulator that gives a patient case presentation. Take a history, perform a physical exam, form a differential diagnosis and administer therapy to treat the patient’s underlying problem. You can place the patient on a monitor, start IV’s, perform procedures, administer medications, obtain radiology studies, EKGs, and a lot more.

ASCVD Risk Estimator Plus: by the American College of Cardiology and American Heart Association helps providers and patients estimate 10-year and lifetime risks for atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease.


MediCalc: Comprehensive "Medical Calculator System™". It performs automatic computation of more than 300 hundred clinical formulas, equations & scores "commonly used" in medical practice.


MedCalX: Tool that enables professionals to easily use complicated medical formulas, scores and classifications. This free version permits access only to a subset of formulas.


Calculate by QxMD: can be used to calculate various clinical scores and indices.

Medscape: Multipurpose app that offers medical news, drug information, disease & condition information, medical calculator, drug formulary, and CE's.


Medscape MedPulse: Stay informed on the latest medical news written specifically for physicians, medical students and healthcare professionals. Read the most essential news across medicine, customize the app by the topics important to you.


Meducation: keep up to date with the latest news, the most interesting stories, and the most helpful resources

BAM! Dining Decisions: Make smart food choices to stay powered up. Decide which foods give you more energy and powerful muscles and which ones are better to eat only sometimes.


Can I eat this?: CDC app helps prevent travelers’ diarrhea by assisting international travelers in making food and drink choices. Select the country you’re in and answer a few simple questions about what you’re thinking about eating or drinking.


CDC Health IQ: Challenge your Health IQ in this fun and educational health trivia app.


CDC Milestone Tracker: Track a child’s milestones from age 2 months to 5 years with illustrated checklists; get tips from CDC for encouraging your child’s development; and find out what to do if you are ever concerned about how your child is developing.


Health IQ: taking short, 5 minute quizzes to assess your level of health knowledge. In addition to the main daily 30 question quiz, you can also take the  500 daily quizzes on a variety of topics


Solve the Outbreak: CDC app that lets you be a Disease Detective, find clues about outbreaks, and make tough decisions about what to do next. A fun peak into epidemiology.


webPOISONCONTROL by Poison Control Centers provides expert help for a possible poisoning by helping users determine if an exposure is dangerous and requires medical attention.

Based on the Critical Appraisal Skills Program templates developed at Oxford, CASP helps with critically appraising EBP literature.


CDC: a great variety of content such as stories, videos, podcasts, journals and blogs with up-to-date health news and information.


DiagnosaurusDDX: Free version. Helps perform differential diagnosis. Search over 1,000 diagnoses by organ system, symptom, or disease, or view all entries. Use “See Related DDx” feature in each entry for alternative diagnoses.


Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS from AHRQ): Designed to help primary care clinicians identify clinical preventive services that are appropriate for their patients. Use the tool to search and browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations on the web or on your PDA or mobile device.


Figure 1community for medical and nursing professionals to safely share clinical cases and discuss treatment. Contribute your own medical cases in a privacy-conscious way. Available for Android also.


MediBabble Translator: Professional-grade medical interpretation app for healthcare providers;a history-taking and physical exam application designed to improve the safety, efficiency, and quality of care for non-English speaking patients.


Blood Donor by American Red Cross: Find nearby Red Cross blood drives, schedule appointments, earn rewards from premier retailers, follow your blood’s journey from donation through delivery (when possible), and create or join a lifesaving team and track its impact on a national leaderboard.

Resources Formatted for Handhelds

PubMed Mobile: Includes millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.


TOXNET: Covers toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.

 

MedlinePlus: Health information for patients and families. Covers diseases, conditions, medications, wellness topics, and the latest news.

NLM Drug Information Portal: Information for over 31,000 drugs. Names, usage, and structures are displayed, as well as search links to key NLM and government sites, using their mobile version when available.