Economics: Web Resources

Explore Adam Smith’s life and works and access educational materials to learn about and teach concepts central to Smith. From videos, essays, and digital and audio editions of Smith’s most important books, this website provides a wide variety of ways to engage with and learn from Smith.

The Center for Microeconomic Data (CMD) launched in 2013 to centralize the collection and analysis of microeconomic data at the New York Fed while also acting as a catalyst for microeconomic research within the larger academic community. CMD researchers focus on developing and advancing techniques for measuring economic conditions, expectations, and behavior at the consumer level.

The Common Sense Economics website, its accompanying textbook and its course package provide tools to help make economics fun.

The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.

From the website: "The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. Created in 1945, the IMF is governed by and accountable to the 188 countries that make up its near-global membership." Includes the Handbook on Securities Statistics 2015 in pdf format.

The ILO Department of Statistics is the focal point to the United Nations on labour statistics. They develop international standards for better measurement of labour issues and enhanced international comparability; provide relevant, timely and comparable labour statistics; and help Member States develop and improve their labour statistics.

MarketWatch provides the latest stock market, financial and business news. Get stock market quotes, personal finance advice, company news and more.

The National Bureau of Economic Research is an American private nonprofit research organization "committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community".

Practical Money Skills offers interactive tools and educational resources to help individuals and communities build stronger financial futures.Developed by Visa.

Economic success depends upon a vibrant financial system that provides access to capital; it’s up to the financial industry to do a better job of providing that explanation. To that end, “Project Invested” was launched to offer a fuller perspective on the role of capital markets in our nation’s economy.

This virtual museum and archive of the history of financial regulation, provides access to primary materials on the creation and growth of the regulation of the capital markets from the 20th century to the present.

The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible.

Available online and in print.

Available online and in print.

Available in print only.

Companion website to the newspaper.