Guides: Help: Databases, Citing, Plagiarism, Copyright, MS Word, and Other Library Resources: Medical-Nursing Databases

CINAHL Ultimate logo blue background

ProQuest logo Scopus logo Anatomy TV logo

Page contains:

links to database Help webpages
links to short instructional videos and PowerPoint slides on using specific medical, nursing, and health science databases
PDF and Word documents providing instructions for various database functionality like creating accounts and saving references and searches
instructions for renewing Up To Date accounts
breakdown of a sample APA 7 citation

Search Tips

See the Searching Tips page for basic search help and information on truncation and proximity searching. Link below.

Searching Tips Page
Provides assistance with information about using truncation, wildcards, phrase searching, narrowing a search in specific databases and instructions on using Boolean operators

Library Database Apps

Follow instructions for downloading the app that accompanies the Detroit Mercy subscription.

5 Minute Clinical Consult App Instructions

See instructions for downloading the app that accompanies the Detroit Mercy subscription

AccessMedicine App Instructions

Access CINAHL Ultimate. At the bottom of the homepage is an "iphone and android apps" link. Click the link and enter your email address to receive download instructions, a link, and a download "key".

EBSCO Mobile App - Quick Start Guide
Provides instructions for downloading and searching the app.

UpToDate's mobile app is available for both iOS and Android with the UDM subscription.

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine: Overview
Video (24:44 min)
AccessMedicine User Center
Videos and PDF guides

AccessMedicine User Guide
Provides users with a detailed roadmap for using and engaging with the resources in the site. This guide describes AccessMedicineand what content can be attained in the site, as well as details how to create and use a My Access profile. Also, the guide outlines unique and foundational content across the books library, quick reference items, drug monographs, multimedia collection, cases, study tools for exam prep, patient education items, and materials for hospital-based providers.

AccessMedicine User Help
Resource guide describes how to navigate AccessMedicine.

Instructor Resources

Some Instructor resources are only provided to educators. To request access, please email CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com from your institution’s email account (not your personal Gmail, etc.) and include your email signature and the site(s) to which you subscribe for which you would like resources (e.g. AccessMedicine). Once Customer Success has confirmed your educator status, they will enable your access to the resources.
You must have an Access profile to access the resources. Set up a profile by selecting the My Account link in the upper right corner of the webpage.

AccessMedicine Content Maps
Each content map link contains McGraw Hill resources from their digital medical sites to meet the needs of educational programs and practicing clinicians. They are updated regularly.

CINAHL Ultimate

The EBSCO databases which include CINAHL launched a new user interface in January 2025. The Help links are not database specific but rather generic for all EBSCO databases. Instructions for CINAHL are the same as for the other EBSCO databases - found in the links below.

The following CINAHL handouts are presently being updated to reflect the new interface:

CINAHL Creating Accounts and Saving References & Searches
CINAHL Keyword searching

New EBSCOhost Interface - Quick Start Guide
Offers links to helpful resources for using the new EBSCOhost user interface.

Applying Filters in CINAHL

EBSCO Basic Searching Tutorial (CINAHL)
Video (2:04 min) about how to create a Basic Search using the new EBSCO user interfaces. The tutorial is not specific to CINAHL but the instructions are the same.

EBSCO Basic Searching (PowerPoint)
This PowerPoint reviews basic searching functionality for EBSCO databases - it is not specific to CINAHL Ultimate; however, the instructions are the same.

EBSCO Advanced Searching Tutorial (CINAHL)
This tutorial (3:27 min) demonstrates an Advanced Search on the 2025 EBSCO user interfaces. Tutorial is not specific to CINAHL but the instructions are the same.
EBSCO Advanced Search (CINAHL)
Advanced searches use Guided-Style Find fields. Guided-Style Find fields assist you in creating a more targeted search.
Searching with CINAHL/MeSH Subject Headings Tutorial
Video (3:53 min) demonstrates how to create a search using the CINAHL/MeSH Subject Headings functionality.

Using CINAHL/MeSH Subject Headings (PowerPoint)

General Handouts

OVID & Wolters Kluwer Databases

5 MinuteConsult (5MCC.com)
Brainshark video provides an overview of 5MCC.
Acland's Video Atlas of Humasn Anatomy Tutorial
Brainshark video (6:47 min) that provides a brief overview of how to use Acland's.
Bates Visual Guide
Brainshark video providing an overview of Bates. Note, we do not have access to the OSCE Clinical Skills Videos.
Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print Tutorial
Video (4:12 min) reviews how to search and locate tests and instruments on a particular subject.

Up To Date (UTD) Registration and Renewals

Up To Date Training Videos
Offers short training videos on the following topics:
* Product Overview Demo
* Accessing UpToDate
* UpToDate Advanced
* Clinical Tools
* Earn and Redeem CME/CE/CPD Credit
* Editorial Content
* Editorial Process
* Finding Clinical Answers
* Patient Education
* Settings - My Account

Primal Pictures - Anatomy TV

Anatomy TV Help
General link for product assistance for 3D Real-time, 3D Atlas, 3D human, Anatomy and Physiology, and Diseases and Conditions. Each product has a variety of training tools to choose from: quick start video, user guide pdf, and more.
Anatomy TV 3D Atlas Quick Start Tutorial
Video (4:45 min) demonstrates:
* how to interact with the model
* sharing, saving and embedding content
* how to access imaging content
* how to make use of the bank of slides
Anatomy TV 3D Real Time Quick Start Tutorial
Video (5:18 min) demonstrates:
* interacting with model
* sharing and saving content
* dissection content
* assessment tools
Anatomy TV Diseases and Conditions Quick Start Tutorial
Video (6:12 min) reviews product layout and approach.
3D Anatomy Quiz Quick Start
Self-assessment of understanding of gross anatomy tutorial provides instruction on accessing the quiz, product layout, completing a quiz.

ProQuest Health & Nursing Databases Help

ProQuest Databases

Health & Medicine Collection Database Help (ProQuest)
Searching tips and instructions for making the best use of the database. Instructions are the same for Healthcare Administration database.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium Database Help (ProQuest)
Searching tips and instructions for making the best use of the database.

PubMed Tutorials & Handouts

PubMed Tutorials
PubMed online training website. A multitude of short tutorials covering every aspect of searching from basic search to MeSH searching to using your NCBI account.
PubMed Subject Search
Video tutorial about how to perform a subject search.
PubMed for Nurses Tutorial
Tutorial was created specifically to help nurses efficiently find literature using PubMed, but its content is applicable to all. Consists of five videos with exercises to test your knowledge. The tutorial was designed to be completed in less than 30 minutes.
PubMed User Guide (Help)
FAQs by bulleted points

PubMed Single Citation Matcher
Use this tool to find a PubMed citation if you only know some of the identifying information.
PubMed Accounts - My NCBI
Accounts retain user information and preferences to provide customized services in PubMed and other databases. Users can save searches and citations, customize filters, and much more.
Applying PubMed Filters

Scopus Tutorials

Scopus - Cited reference searching

Scopus Tutorials
Tutorials provide a visual guide to using the product. They are divided into chapter which allow you to skip to the parts of interest. There is no sound.