Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
Encyclopedia Judaica by
Call Number: DS 102.8 .E496 2007
Publication Date: 2006-12-12
Providing an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, Second Edition is important to scholars, general readers and students.
Also available electronically.
The JPS Dictionary of Jewish Words by
Publication Date: 2001-05-01
From one of the most trusted names in Jewish publishing comes an indispensable reference to the most common Jewish words and terms in use today. The entries include words for and associated with Jewish holidays and life-cycle events, culture, history, the Bible and other sacred texts, Jewish worship, and more. Each entry has a pronunciation guide and is cross-referenced to other related terms. The introduction serves as an excellent primer on the history of Jewish words, their transliteration, and pronunciation.
Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia by
Call Number: DS 115.2 .J49 1997
Publication Date: 1997-11-05
This encyclopedia provides the first standard reference work on the lives, history and activities of Jewish women in the United States. Covering a period which extends from the arrival of the first Jewish women in North America in 1654 to the present, this two-volume set presents the most comprehensive and detailed portrait of American Jewish women ever published, and brings together for the first time the wealth of recent scholarship on this subject.
The Universal Jewish Encyclopedia by
Call Number: DS 102.8 .U5, v. 1-10
Publication Date: 1939-1943
an authoritative and popular presentation of Jews and Judaism since the earliest times
The Jewish Encyclopedia by
Call Number: DS 102.8 .J65 1901
Publication Date: 1901
a descriptive record of the history, religion, literature, and customs of the Jewish people from the earliest times