Guides: Communication Studies: Journalism History

Historic Newspapers

Chronicling America (1836-1922)
This Library of Congress database contains digitized newspapers from 1836 to 1922. Many of the newspapers came from small towns or later went out of business
Google News Archive
Historic newspapers pulled from the internet, include the Detroit Gazette ( August 1817- April 1839), the Ann Arbor Register (1875-1897) Ann Arbor Argus (1889-1896) and more.
Michigan Digital Newspaper Portal
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020
Includes full text of newspapers published in U.S. prisons, including women's prisons.
*Library of Michigan Research Zone
Includes access to digitized copies of newspapers including:
- Detroit Free Press (1931-1999)
- Detroit News (1873-current)
- Ann Arbor News (1923-current)
- Grand Rapids Press (1893-current)
- Saginaw News (1881-current)
- Toronto Globe and Mail (1844-2018)
There are also many other historic newspapers from around the world available.
*Note: Michigan residents can request an electronic library card which will give them access to these resources. The process may take several days.
UPLINK Upper Peninsula Digital Network
Includes historic newspapers from Escanaba, Grand Marais, Ishpeming, Manistique, Marquette, Negaunee and Nishnawbe , as well as the Cloverland Magazine.

Historic Magazines

Media History Digital Library
Digitized magazines focusing on the film, media, and broadcasting industries going back to the early 1900s.
Journalism History
Journalism History journal includes full text articles from 1985 to 2020.

Historic Video Sources

Note that many images are subject to copyright.

AP Archive
The Associated Press Archive includes over 1.5 million news and entertainment videos from 1893 to the present.
Getty Images Video Archive
Includes archival video from the following partners:
- BBC
- NBC news
- ITN
- Bloomberg
- Kyodo News
University of Maryland Broadcasting Archives
Includes noncommercial and commercial radio and television programs and photographs including the National Public Broadcasting Archives.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Includes daily evening news programs from ABC, CBS, and NBC going back to 1968 as well as CNN starting in 1995 and Fox news starting in 2004.

Historic News Images

Getty Images Black History & Culture Collection
Images and illustrations dating from the early 1800s to the present.
Getty Images Sports Images Archive
Scroll down to see historicphotos from the following partners:
- NBA
- MLB
- NHL
- PGA Tour
- Formula One
- FIFA
Newspaper Photograph Morgues
The Library of Congress list of contact information for archives of American newspaper photos.

Books and eBooks

Covering America by Christopher B. Daly
Drawing on original research and synthesizing the latest scholarship, Daly traces the evolution of journalism in America from the early 1700s to the "digital revolution" of today. Daly captures the ethos of journalism with engaging anecdotes, biographical portraits of key figures, and illuminating accounts of the coverage of major news events as well as day-to-day reporting.
International Radio Journalism (eBook) by Tim Crook
From early documentary recordings , to the ground-breaking war reporting of Ed Murrow and Richard Dimbleby, to the sophisticated commentaries of Alistair Cooke and reporters such as Fergal Keane, International Radio Journalism explores the way radio has covered the most important stories this century.
Highlights in the History of the American Press by Edwin H. Ford; Edwin Emery
The articles collected in this volume present a vivid panorama of American journalistic history from its antecedents in the English ballad singers to the press giants of modern times.
The History of Fashion Journalism by Kate Nelson Best
An overview of the key moments in fashion journalism history that civers everything from early tailor's catalogues through to contemporary publications such as LOVE, together with blogs such as StyleBubble, and countries from France through to the United States.
A History of News by Mitchell Stephens
Call Number: PN 4731 .S686 1997
Addresses issues in contemporary American journalism from an extended historical perspective and also includes material on the development of news in other societies.
A Journalism of Humanity by Steve Weinberg
Weinberg draws on internal documents and correspondence to uncover key players, significant programs, legal and ethical battles, and the politics of the school from its founding to the present.
Partisan Journalism by Jim A. Kuypers
Kuypers guides readers on a journey through American journalistic history, focusing on the warring notions of objectivity and partisanship. Kuypers shows how the American journalistic tradition grew from partisan roots and, with only a brief period of objectivity in between, has returned to those roots today.