Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases have scholarly journal articles and magazine articles in many different subject areas, including interdisciplinary subjects. JSTOR includes many older articles that are useful for researching the history of a topic.
Wiley Online Library
This very large database includes scholarly articles on many topics. Hold your mouse over "Social and Behavioral Sciences" to find a link to resources in Communication & Media Studies.
Includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, and market reports from business, social sciences, humanities, science and technology
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
SAGE Communication Studies Collection
This database includes scholarly journals with full text articles focused on communication issues. It covers subjects such as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Intercultural Communication, Television/Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Written Communication, and Rhetoric.
Full text of the back issues (3 years or older) of over 1,200 core academic journals in many disciplines. Ideal for researching the background or history of issues, coverage starts with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. The Library owna current paper issues of many titles in the collections.
Search these databases to find online newspaper articles.
NewsBank: Online Collections
NewsBank contains the electronic editions of record for The Detroit News (1999-date), The Lansing State Journal (1999-date), and over 100 other Michigan newspapers. Paid ads are excluded. The collections also include access to: many regional, national and international newspapers, well known news magazines, and a large database of obituaries and death notices.
Newspaper Source Plus
Full text of over 1,200 newspapers and 40 news magazines as well as TV and radio transcripts. Includes full text of The Washington Post and USA Today
New York Times 1881-2010 (Proquest)
Includes pdf page views of all newspaper issues as well as the full text of articles and advertisements.
This website includes current issues of UDM's student newspaper.
Wall Street Journal>
Click on either of the blue links below the pale yellow line to access articles from 2010 to the present.
American Journalism Review
The American Journalism Review became an online-only publication in July of 2013.
Search for articles from the previous print version here: http://ajrarchive.org/
Remember to give credit to the original source when you use someone else's work or idea, whether you use a direct quote or paraphrase. Most style guides require some form of citation in the text of your paper as well as at the end in a bibliography or list of references.
Purdue Online Writing Center (OWL): The Purdue OWL offers detailed instructions and examples of how to write and cite in MLA or APA format.
Citation Machine: A free, quick, and easy to use citation generator that work for APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
RefWorks: Use RefWorks to keep track of the articles you find as you do your library research, and use it again as you write to format your entire paper, inserting quotations and creating a list of references at the end.
Selected Journals and Newspapers
Several key communication studies journals have moved entirely online, and a few others are scattered among different databases. Here are links to some core journals.
Critical Studies in Media Communication
Recent articles in: Critical Studies in Media Communication