Guides: Chemistry: Databases

RefWorks for ACS

To add records to RefWorks from ACS:

1. Do your search in ACS.

2. Select citations

3. Click on Download Citations in the top bar,

4. Select RIS and what citation format desired.

5. Click on the Download Citation button.

6. Save as to desk top.

In RefWorks:

1. Select References, then import.

2. In the Import/Data Source box select ACS Publications, and RIS format for Database.

3. Browse and attach saved ACS citations.

4 .Import.

Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to AVON.

Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons.
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
American Chemical Society core journals from the beginning of each journal, the earliest from 1879. The entire collection can be searched directly from the initial screen; all journals can be browsed from this screen as well. This included the Journal of Chemical Education, 1924-date is available from this site
Materials Science Database [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Materials science includes physics, metallurgy, ceramics and chemistry and applications are relevant to medicine & dentistry, manufacturing & engineering. There are over 900 full text publications, many unique to this collection.
Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Science Database This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of Elsevier journals in physical sciences & engineering, health sciences, life sciences and social sciences & humanities
Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
The flagship publication from AAAS : American Academy for the Advancement of Science
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
SciFinder ScholarTM is a research discovery tool
Includes references from nearly 9,500 currently published journals and patents from more than 50 active patent issuing authorities. One time registration is required
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Patents

United States Patent and Trademark Office
One can search for issued patents and applications. Patents are full text since 1976, full page images back to 1790. Patents from 1790-1975 are searchable by patent number and current US classification.