Guides: Open Education Resources: Resources For Educators

This page is currently under revision

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 71 different sources and contains hundreds of thousands of resources. (OASIS is developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library).

Open Access Textbook Sources

B.C. Open Collection
A curated selection of open educational resources (OER) that can be accessed by educators in British Columbia and beyond to use in the classroom, in an institutional learning management system, or on other teaching and learning platforms. All materials are openly licensed. This means they are free to use, customize, and share. The collection includes courses and textbooks, and new resources are being added all the time.
LibreTexts Libraries
16 domain-specific libraries help organize the collection of 4000+ OER textbooks authored or curated by the LibreTexts community. Supported by the Department of Education Open Textbook Pilot Project and the California Education Learning Lab.
Lyryx
Publishes open textbooks and supplements with Creative Commons licenses with a variety of permissions to adapt the material. Subject focus: Business, Economics, and Mathematics and Statistics.
Merlot
MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is a portal of OER (Open Educational Resource) teaching and learning materials. Program of California State University: Long Beach. Textbooks can be found by selecting Materials link and filtering by Material Type.
MIT OpenCourseWare
A free and open collection of material from thousands of MIT courses, covering the entire MIT curriculum. No enrollment or registration. Freely browse and use OCW materials at your own pace. Modify, remix, and reuse (just remember to cite OCW as the source.)
OER Commons (Catalog)
Search for open textbooks by selecting textbook under Material Type.
OpenStax
Part of Rice University. Content includes peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks in a variety of subjects that are absolutely free online.
Open Textbook Library
This site, sponsored by the University of Minnesota and Perdue University, includes over 1,300 open access textbooks in many disciplines: business; computer science; education; engineering & technology; humanities; journalism,media studies & communications; law; mathematics; medicine; natural sciences; social sciences; student success
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks
Browse by subject and title.

Additional Open Educational Resources

OER include materials and resources other than textbooks: lesson plans, assignments, quizzes/tests, media, syllabi, simulations, and more.

LibreTexts Platform
Comprised of 4 interconnected platforms including Adaptive assessment and designing interactive media that provide an end-to-end solution for authoring and delivering instruction using open educational resources.
Merlot
To find specific open access materials (e.g., syllabi, tutorials, assignments etc.) select the Materials link.
A program of Cal State, Long Beach
The National Science Digital Library
High quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines. The collection contains structured descriptive information (metadata) about web-based educational resources held on other sites by their providers. These providers have contribute this metadata to NSDL for organized search and open access to educational resources via this website and its services. A hub of OER Commons.