McNichols Campus Library Building Access
The McNichols Campus Library is open to current University of Detroit Mercy students, faculty, and staff.
Library users must swipe their University of Detroit Mercy ID to enter the Library building.
For the most up-to-date hours, visit the library calendar.
Library Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Sunday: Noon - 7 p.m.
Check the Library's Twitter feed or call 313-993-1795 for updates.
Monday - Friday: 10 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday: Noon - 6 p.m.
Call 313-494-6900 for Dental Library updates.
Law Library: Call Circulation at 313-596-0241, Reference at 313-596-0244, or email lawlibrary@udmercy.edu.
How to get help from a Librarian
In person at the Reference Desk and by phone at 313-993-1071 when the Library building is open.
Email: edesk@udmercy or refdesk@udmercy.edu
Chat Ask-a-Librarian available 24/7
Schedule an appointment: Please note that scheduled appointments may take place via email or video.
Schedule instruction: Faculty may schedule classroom instruction or demonstrations with a librarian. Please request sessions at least two weeks notice.
Library Directory: Contact the Librarian for your subject area. Please note Librarians may not be available by phone. Email the subject Librarian while the Library is closed.
Research Guides: Librarians have put together more than 50 research guides on subjects related to the study and interests of the University community. Many of the resources are accessible online.
Library Resources and Services
Databases: The Library's online databases are available 24/7. Most of the databases will require University (Outlook, Blackboard, etc.) username and password log in. Click HERE to access list of databases and corresponding links.
eBooks: Thousands of eBooks are available through the library catalog or try one of these eBook databases: Ebsco Ebooks (searches 6 collections at once) or Ebook Central (Proquest). Log in credentials for current University of Detroit Mercy students, faculty, and staff are the same as for Blackboard. Uncertain how to access an eBook through these collections? Check out the tutorials on downloading or viewing eBooks here.
Inter-library loans: Inter-library loan of books and articles is available. Use this request form or email millerk1@udmercy.edu.
Open Educational Resources Research Guide
Digitized Special Collections and University History materials from the Archives
Library Tutorials: Tutorials on academic integrity, IEEE video tutorials, evaluating resources, nursing and medical tutorials, psychology databases, RefWorks, JSTOR, and Newspapers.
Research Help: See How to get help from a Librarian (above).
Streaming Videos: Academic Video Online offers access to thousands of "documentaries, interviews, documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more" on a range of subjects. Log in with your Blackboard username and password. Check the Library's A-Z Database List or the relevant research guide to find other databases that offer video.
Modified services
Checking out books and DVDs: Print books and DVDs are available for check out by current students, faculty, and staff.
Returning books: Books and DVDs may be returned to the library. Books are available for check out for 28 days. DVDs may be checked out for seven days. For questions or concerns email circulation@udmercy.edu.
Hold pick-ups: Items placed on hold will be available for pick up at the circulation desk.
Course reserves: For questions regarding the Reserve Policy and Procedures, please call 313 993-1795 in the McNichols Campus Library and 313-494-6901 in the Dental Library, or e-mail circulation@udmercy.edu.
Computer Lab: A limited number of computers are available to current students in the library. The library encourages students to utilize campus computer labs. For more information on campus computer labs, click here.
Printing: Printing is available to current students through the Library's WEPA print service when the Library is open. For more information, visit our WEPA wireless printing information page here, contact circulation@udmercy.edu. or call 313-993-1795.
Study rooms: A number of study rooms are available for student use -- by reservation only -- when the library building is open. Click here to book your two hour reservation. Be sure to use your Detroit Mercy email address when registering.