Guides: Health Operations Management: Find Articles (Databases)

Evidence-based Practice Databases

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubMed Filters

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A research tool for nursing and allied health professionals and students. Full text for more than 1200 journals and indexing for another 5000 journals.

Applying Limits in CINAHL

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains articles and abstracts/citations from the following evidence-based medicine databases:

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews) Includes Complete Reviews and Protocols. [FULL TEXT]
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
Cochrane Clinical Answers - provides short answers, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Review deemed most relevant
Health, Medicine, & Nursing Databases [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Searches the following ProQuest databases simultaneously: Consumer Health; Health & Medical Collection; Healthcare Administration; Nursing & Allied Health Premium; Public Health. Covers medical science, nursing, allied health, public health and pharmacology with full text scholarly journals, magazines, trade journals,books, reports, working papers, conference & proceedings, news and more.

Applying limits in ProQuest databases

Library and Database Help

Nursing / Medical Databases
A guide that links to database help, tutorials (includes RefWorks help), and handouts.

Business Databases

Business Databases:

Business Collection [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Searches 10 ProQuest business databases simultaneously. Including ABI/Inform; Accounting, Tax, & Banking; Asian & European Business; Business Market Research; Canadian Business & Current Affairs; Career & Technical Education; EconLit; India Database; International Bibliography of the Social Sciences; Research Library: Business.
DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
Robust and highly-detailed demographic data. Ideal for gaining consumer and market insight as you consider opening a business, finding an untapped audience for your products, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and more. Reporting capability allows you to rapidly produce a variety of compiled reports to help you make informed and accurate decisions.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source [Ebsco] This link opens in a new window
Full text business journals, magazines, reference books, case studies
Healthcare Administration Database [ProQuest ] This link opens in a new window
Healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including: Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business management, Personnel management, Ethics, Health economics, Public health administration. Coverage for around 800 key journals with over 4,500 Doctoral Dissertations and Theses.
Regional Business News [Ebsco] This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage for regional business publications; incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metro & rural areas of the US
Small Business Reference Source[Ebsco] This link opens in a new window
Help in creating a small busness, including videos as well as reference materials

Company Profiles

Business Market Research Collection [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
provides company, industry, and geopolitical macroeconomic market research from three sources:

Hoover's Company Profiles, which offers information on 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, summary financials, competitors, officers, and more
OxResearch, which features succinct articles covering significant economic and political developments of major significance from a network of over 1,000 faculty at Oxford and beyond
Snapshots Series, which includes market research overviews on over 40 industries and 40 countries to 2008
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Individual account registration required with your @udmercy.edu email.

Provides detailed company financial information for US and international public and private companies and investments firms.
S&P Global Market Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Individual account registration required with your @udmercy.edu email.

Provides company research & investing information. Find executives and the latest company news.

Health Sciences Databases - Complete List

Alphabetical list of the medical / nursing / health sciences databases. These are NOT all literature databases - check the descriptions for database content.

5 Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Point of care information. Contains drug info, diseases and conditions, procedure info, labs, diagnosis and treatment algorithms, and much more.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
More than 67,000 videos spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window
AccessAnesthesiology provides access to various titles from the best minds in anesthesia, updated content, images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic tools.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to various ebook titles, images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic tools.

Alexander Street - Nursing Specific Content (videos)
Collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS. Contains Symptom Media content.

Alt Healthwatch [Ebsco] This link opens in a new window
Provides in depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracting back to 1994 and full text articles back to 1990
AnatomyTV This link opens in a new window
Anatomy TV is an online model of the human anatomy . It is an award-winning, internet-based solution interactive online learning tool used for patient, practitioner and student education. Derived from real human data, Anatomy.tv provides over 5,000 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations and much more. To supplement the core three-dimensional anatomy data, are clinical videos and text written by some of the world’s leading medical specialists.
Bates Visual Guide to Examination This link opens in a new window
Head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. A companion to the classic book, Bates Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking
BioMedCentral This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central publishes over 200 peer-reviewed open access journals in the health sciences. To search the entire database, users need to set up a FREE account that allows downloads, exporting results lists and articles to RefWorks, and storing searches for later update.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A research tool for nursing and allied health professionals and students. Full text for more than 1200 journals and indexing for another 5000 journals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains articles and abstracts/citations from the following evidence based medicine databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); and Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
Consumer Health Complete [Ebsco] This link opens in a new window
Supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics
Consumer Health Database [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
DailyMed This link opens in a new window
Contains 105, 355 drug listings as submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed) This link opens in a new window
Information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant
Education [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Abstract and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full text. Includes medical, nursing and health sciences education.
Haz-Map This link opens in a new window
An occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents. The main links in Haz-Map are between chemicals and occupational diseases. These links have been established using current scientific evidence.
Health, Medicine, & Nursing Databases [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Searches the following ProQuest databases simultaneously: Consumer Health; Health & Medical Collection; Healthcare Administration; Nursing & Allied Health Premium; Public Health. Covers medical science, nursing, allied health, public health and pharmacology with full text scholarly journals, magazines, trade journals,books, reports, working papers, conference & proceedings, news and more.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments [HaPI] This link opens in a new window
Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, this bibliographic database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health and psychosocial sciences. It provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial Organizational Behavior and Education.
Healthcare Administration Database [ProQuest ] This link opens in a new window
Healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including: Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business management, Personnel management, Ethics, Health economics, Public health administration. Coverage for around 800 key journals with over 4,500 Doctoral Dissertations and Theses.
Health Source : Consumer Edition [Ebsco] This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly 80 full text consumer health magazines
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition [Ebsco] This link opens in a new window
JAMA Evidence This link opens in a new window
Variety of resource tools for learning, teaching, and practicing evidence-based medicine.
JAMA Network This link opens in a new window
JAMA and 8 specialty journals from the American Medical Association
Learning Express Library [Ebsco] This link opens in a new window
Practice tests, complete answer explanations and prescriptive tutorials in unique instructional designs. Learning Express Library features resources for elementary through high school plus college and professional career preparation levels.
Individual account required; create one at the site
LWW Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection [Ovid] This link opens in a new window

MEDLINE/PubMed using PICO
Search PubMed using the PICO template. Formatted for handheld devices.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments
Nursing and Allied Health Premium [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly literature, clinical training videos (e.g. MedCom/Trainex), reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Proquest Psychology Collections This link opens in a new window
This links to and searches the following ProQuest databases: ProQuest Psychology Database; PsycARTICLES; PsycINFO
Research Library: Health & Medicine [ProQuest ] This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline Premium Package This link opens in a new window
Books and databases from the American Psychiatric Association [APA] including the DSM-V
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection [Ebsco] This link opens in a new window
Full text database in the behavioral sciences
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos for teaching, training, self-study and continuing education in psychotherapy, psychology and addictions.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 2000 full text journals in the health sciences, social sciences, humanities & engineering.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles.
Up to Date This link opens in a new window
This resource presents current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment. Includes evidence based physician-authored articles and patient education resources to aid in clinical decision-making. Users must register for an UTD account. You will be required to re-verify your account every 90 days. To re-verifyt, access UTD from here, then log into the UTD account you created. For now, this needs to be done from off campus.

Up To Date (UTD) Registration and Renewals

Get the Full Article

Use the Library catalog to get the full article once you have your article reference.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan Form
Request books and journal articles from other libraries. Turn around varies from 7-14 business days.

How to Determine Scholarly vs Popular Articles/Journals

Video

Scholarly vs Popular

Database Apps

Follow instructions in handout below for downloading and accessing the app that accompanies the Detroit Mercy subscription.

5 Minute Clinical Consult App Instructions

Use the link below for instructions on downloading the app that accompanies the Detroit Mercy subscription

AccessMedicine App Instructions

Access CINAHL Ultimate. At the bottom of the homepage is an "iphone and android apps" link. Click the link and enter your email address to receive download instructions, a link, and a download "key".

EBSCO Mobile App - Quick Start Guide

Up To Date. See the handout below for instructions on registering for and renewing an account.Once registered, users can sign into their Detroit Mercy accounts.

Up To Date (UTD) Registration and Renewals