Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this link to search for electronic journals within the library databases.
Format a citation in the APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian styles.
OWL - Learn more about APA and MLA styles at Purdue's Online Writing Lab.
Save all your citations in one place. Create an account and use group code RWUDetroitMer (case sensitive)
Interlibrary Loan Form
Request books and journal articles from other libraries. Turn around varies from 7-14 business days.
Subject Specific Databases
Use these databases to search for articles on your topic. Many contain scholarly, peer reviewed articles which can be narrowed to full text. If your article is not full text, use the eJournal Finder on the left to search for it in other databases. For off campus access, use your Blackboard username and password.
Robust and highly-detailed demographic data. Ideal for gaining consumer and market insight as you consider opening a business, finding an untapped audience for your products, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and more. Reporting capability allows you to rapidly produce a variety of compiled reports to help you make informed and accurate decisions.
Environment Complete [Ebsco]
Full text database in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy & related fields of study. Includes the full text of the Journal of the American Planning Association from 1990 with a six month embargo. Also the journal Planning (Chicago) from 1993.
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including scholarly, government and general interest titles.
Multidisciplinary resource that searches 47 different ProQuest databases at the same time.
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection
A collection of 8 databases in the social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, and education. Provides thousands of full text, scholarly, peer reviewed articles on community development topics.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets), both searchable and browsable
SAGE Premier 2021
Includes full text, scholarly articles to 12 of the leading SAGE journals in urban planning pedagogy, practice, and theory. Look for the open green padlock for full text access.
Wiley Online Library
Provides access to more than 10 planning & development, scholarly, peer-viewed journals. Look for the open green or blue padlock symbol.
Academic Search Complete [Ebsco]
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Also includes monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Provides documentaries on all types of subject matters such as, urban planning and diversity studies. It also includes segments from PBS, BBC, 60 Minutes, National Geographic, A+E Networks" HISTORY.
Business Collection [ProQuest]
Searches 10 ProQuest business databases simultaneously. Including ABI/Inform; Accounting, Tax, & Banking; Asian & European Business; Business Market Research; Canadian Business & Current Affairs; Career & Technical Education; EconLit; India Database; International Bibliography of the Social Sciences; Research Library: Business.
Newsbank : America's News
Full text newspapers and news magazines from all over the state and country. Coverage goes back to 1980's to 1990's, depending on source. Includes access to the Detroit News, DBusiness and 162 Michigan newspapers.
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson)
Full-text articles from more than 3,400 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. Subjects including art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology. It also includes graphical content, podcasts, foreign language article translations and article read-alouds.
Sanborn Insurance Maps
Provides fire insurance maps with detailed property and land-use records from the early 1900s. From the Library of Congress.