Intelligence Analysis: New Books 2023-24

From the complex interactions of First Nations to modern international relations with significant partners and allies, it examines the forces that have influenced the place now called Australia.

Leading authorities analyze reasons for the growing tensions in US-China relations and the implications for world politics

From personal interviews with top officials and declassified American and British documents, Leffler provides analyzes how contingency, agency, rationality, and emotion affected George W. Bush’s decision to invade Iraq in 2003.

Analyzes data from six empirical studies to make sense of how and why some individuals respond to a threat by creating or believing in conspiracy beliefs.

xamines the concept of reframing cyber competition as an intelligence concept across several areas of cyber security policy and in different national contexts.

Analyzes how the differing disputes behind the fracture of armed terrorist and insurgent groups affect the behavior and survivability of emerging splinter groups.

This political analysis argues that US interests are best served when policymakers resist the temptation to use nuclear weapons first or to brandish nuclear weapons for coercive effect.

Analyzes why the US approach to cybersecurity is ineffective and shows how it could transformed using a cybersecurity "social contract" between government and business to counter the risks to the nation.

Addresses cybersecurity through the lens of a war-time set of varying battlefields and analyzes how they are related to Zero Trust.

A major contribution to international relations theory, this book promises to reshape our understanding of the forces driving change in world politics.

Provides practical lessons on the epistemological, ethical, and emotional challenges faced by researchers when they work with perpetrators of mass violence and their victims.

Public Corruption in the United States provides a comprehensive view of public corruption, including discussion on its types, methods, trends, challenges, and overall impacts

While modern opposition movements rely on digital communication for protest, Gohdes makes the case that government security forces also use digital infrastructure to support violent state repression.

Features detailed analyses of groups such as al-Shabaab, Egyptian Islamic Jihad, and al-Qaeda in Iraq / the Islamic State in Iraq, and the KKK to show how religious terrorist groups manage and adapt to major shifts in leadership.

Available both in print and online, provides a comprehensive examination of the post-9/11 efforts to counter financial support for terrorist actors, including the more recent challenges of non-cash payment.

New York Times reporter Nicole Perlroths uncovers the story of the cyberweapons market--the most secretive, government-backed market on earth--and a terrifying first look at a new kind of global warfare.

Rather than seeking to debunk conspiracy theories as the work of fringe groups and cranks, Donatella Di Cesare develops an original account that portrays conspiracy as a pollitical problem

Provides a comprehensive guide to the history and current shape of conspiracy theories in American life, including the findings of research seeking to understand their origins, type, function, and widespread appeal.

Provides a comprehensive, balanced, and nuanced examination of critical issues at the intersection of cyberspace, cyberterrorism, and national and international security.

The story of al-Qaeda leader Ayman al-Zawahiri, who ordered assassinations, sought to develop chemical and biological weapons, recruited double agents, and used new media technology to convey al-Qaeda's zealotry

Explores the US's evolving foreign policies from the Founding era to the present. Rings the alarm on the US's increasing reliance on "kinetic" global diplomacy, which could destroy the US’s credibility and influence.

Challenges the understanding of Nigeria's past as merely a product of colonial interference, revealing an incredibly complicated portrait of a nation with a tangled history and self-determination.

Traces the historical trajectory and assess the present-day dangers of the violent far-right extremist movement in the US, along with the harm it poses to U.S. national security and ways to counter it.

A groundbreaking examination of a central question in international relations: Do states act rationally? This novel and comprehensive analysis shows how leaders think and leads to policies for dealing successfully with other states.

Provides a clear and accurate understanding of human trafficking and related issues related to socioeconomic inequality, human rights, and international law.

Provides a unique perspective on how jihadi groups make and implement new strategic decisions in changing environments, as well as the evolution of their approaches to violence and non-violence.

Offers new insights into how ISIS uses its media production to disseminate its extremist ideology by focusing on video games, educational apps, Dark Web sites, and offline billboards

"evaluates the ethics framework jus ad vim (the just use of force-short-of-war) as a pillar of just war theory and as a practical matter of deciding when military interventions below the level of war can and cannot be justified"

Explores how American intelligence agencies have used technology to launch nonhuman spies in the sky, implanted spies in the ether, burrowed spies underground, sunk spies in the ocean and expanded their reach around the globe.

Since the fall of Kabul in 2021, the Taliban have effective control of Afghanistan. Abbas examines the resurgent Taliban as ruptures between moderates and the hardliners in power continue to widen.

Subversion examines how malicious state and nonstate actors take advantage of the information space to sow political chaos along with recommendations on how vulnerable communities can become more resilient.

Features discussions between Jewish and Christian philosophers that underscore the most urgent threats to democracy in the United States and show how to resist them.