Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering: Hot Topics

Building Information Modelling (BIM) is a design and construction software that manages not just graphics, but also information that enables the automatic generation of drawings and reports, design analysis, schedule simulation, facilities management, and cost analysis--ultimately enabling any building team to make better-informed decisions.

A scholarly peer-reviewed archival journal intended to act as a bridge between advances being made in computer technology and civil and infrastructure engineering.

Over the past century, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers has built a vast network of water management infrastructure that includes approximately 700 dams, 14,000 miles of levees, 12,000 miles of river navigation channels and control structures, harbors and ports, and other facilities. This book explores the status of operations, maintenance, and rehabilitation of Corps water resources infrastructure, and identifies options for the Corps and the nation in setting maintenance and rehabilitation priorities.

Includes technical and legal policies and guidance on pavements, construction, bridges, pavements, program administration, and transportation perfomance management

Handbook of seismic risk analysis and management of civil infrastructure systems reviews the state of the art in the seismic risk analysis and management of civil infrastructure systems.

Since available financial recourses are very limited, extending the life of existing bridges, buildings and other infrastructures has become a major challenge to the engineering profession world-wide. This book covers some of the most recent developments (theoretical, experimental, and application potentials) in structural health assessment areas.

Thoroughly revised to address sustainability and the latest codes and regulations, this book describes the full range of skills necessary to plan, implement, upgrade, and maintain infrastructure projects in the public sector.

A report card issued by a committee of expert engineers that grade the national and state infrastructure based on capacity, condition, maintenance, funding, public safety, resilience, and innovation.

This book walks readers through all phases of a civil project, from feasibility assessment to construction to operations, explaining how to evaluate tasks and challenges at each phase using a holistic approach. Unique coverage of ethics, legal issues, and management is also included.

This book summarizes work being done to provide concrete and on-going support to the Critical Infrastructure Protection (CIP) research communities, enhancing their preparedness for CI-related emergencies, while also providing expertise and technologies for other stakeholders.

Due to an ever-decreasing supply in raw materials and stringent constraints on conventional energy sources, demand for lightweight, efficient and low-cost structures has become crucially important. This book exammines the latest developments of metaheuristics and their applications in structural engineering, construction engineering and earthquake engineering.

Includes reports, guides, specifications as well as performance and funding information for Michigan's transportation infrastructure.

A handbook for advanced applications design and the integration of new and future technologies into smart grids for researchers and engineers in academia and industry, this book pulls together disparate technologies and applies them for greater gains.

Sponsored by the Pipelines Division of ASCE, this book provides a detailed resource on planning, design, and construction of trenchless rehabilitation technologies for pipelines carrying drinking water. Trenchless renewal, rather than open-cut pipe replacement, offers a variety of benefits, including lower risk of damage to surrounding area, fewer traffic disruptions, better public safety, and shorter completion times.

InThe Road Taken, acclaimed historian Henry Petroski explores our core infrastructure from historical and contemporary perspectives and explains how essential their maintenance is to America's economic health.

This book presents the results of the Interdisciplinary Research Group "Society - Water - Technology" of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. It describes interdisciplinary evaluation criteria for major water engineering projects;(MWEPs);and portrays an application to the Lower Jordan Valley (Middle East) and the Fergana Valley (Central Asia).

This revised, updated textbook presents a systems approach to the planning, management, and operation of water resources infrastructure in the environment.

Includes news and videos about bridge design, analysis, construction, technology, and failures.

Includes infomation on bridge hydraulics, inspection, management, and preservation. It also includes information on Accelerated Bridge Construction

A succinct, real-world approach to complete bridge system design and evaluation, including Load and Resistance Factor Design (LRFD) and Load and Resistance Factor Rating (LRFR) design and evaluation methods

Moving beyond the familiar accounts of politics and the achievements of celebrity engineers and designers, Building the Golden Gate Bridge primarily features the voices of the workers themselves.

Tells the story of the construction of the longest cable-stay bridge in America, a 500 foot, eight lane bridge connecting Charleston, South Carolina with Mount Pleasant.

Up-to-date coverage of bridge design and analysis-- revised to reflect the fifth edition of the AASHTO LRFD specifications

This website includes digitized images of over 30 historic bridge designs, construction manuals and books.

With 131 illustrations in text.

Discusses the engineering challenges of the construction of the Golden Gate Bridge, now a popular tourist attraction as well as an important traffic artery for the San Francisco area. Discusses how the suspension bridge overcame the problems of the wide span of the bay, the unstable shore, the turbulent tides, and the need for high clearance for ships.

This How-To Guide for Bridge Engineers and Designers provides a detailed discussion of traditional structural design perspectives, and serves as a state-of-the-art resource on the latest design and analysis of highway bridge superstructures.

Hyde identifies Michigan's historically significant highway bridges within the broader contexts of American bridge design and construction in the 19th and 20th centuries.

The English translation of Tadaki Kawada s landmark book traces the modern suspension bridge from its earliest appearance in Western civilization only 200 years ago to the enormous Akashi Kaikyo and Storebælt bridges completed at the end of the twentieth century.

Tells the story of vover70 years of talking and dreaming about a bridge across the Straits of Mackinac, of discouraging attempts for legislative and congressional approval, of efforts to raise the funds, and finally of a three-year construction program necessary for the world's longest and costliest (to date) suspension bridge.

This website includes powerpoints from presentations from the annual two-day conference

Detailed information on historic bridges in Michigan on state roads. Details include structural details, construction history including contractors, materials and designs, repair and rehabilitation histories, and the current condition of each bridge.

Describes a new bridge being built across San Francisco-Oakland Bay designed to be earthquake resistant.

The book at hand provides an overview of current tendencies in pedestrian bridge construction, of fundamental structural and functional requirements, of the various load-bearing systems, of application areas of the various materials and of important economic aspects.

This website includes pictures and descriptions of bridges that are no longer used due to natural or manmade disasters, or simply neglect.

Ooffers an overview of nearly 20 years of research directed at bridging the gap in structural engineering between models and real structural systems.

As an in-depth guide to understanding wind effects on cable-supported bridges, this book uses analytical, numerical and experimental methods to give readers a fundamental and practical understanding of the subject matter

The source of the Canadian steel construction industry, includes information on education, conferences, scholarships, competitions, and industry research.

This website includes news, information about legislation, professional certifications and engineering FAQs about fabrication, welding, bolting, etc… The faculty and students section includes materials for faculty and students including powerpoint presentations, digital images and instructional videos and information on student design competitions.

A practical and in-depth guide to materials selection, welding techniques, and procedures, Applied Welding Engineering: Processes, Codes and Standards, provides expert advice for complying with international codes as well as working them into "day to day" design, construction and inspection activities.

From concept to assembly, this book provides civil and structural engineers with the concepts and procedures needed to build accurate numerical models without using expensive laboratory testing methods.

In May 1937, seventy thousand workers walked off their jobs at four large steel companies known collectively as "Little Steel." The strikers sought to make the companies retreat from decades of antiunion repression, abide by the newly enacted federal labor law, and recognize their union. More than any other strike, it laid bare the contradictions of the industrial labor movement, the resilience of corporate power, and the limits of New Deal liberalism at a crucial time in American history.

Provides a comprehensive description for machining technologies of stainless steels and super alloys with consideration to current industrial applications. P

Modeling Steel and Composite Structures explains the computational tools, methods and procedures used to design steel and composite structures.

This book describes the blast furnace process for operators.

(Available both online and in print) Modern Steel is written by structural engineers, fabricators, architects, contractors and product manufacturers. It offers practical advice and design tips, discusses innovative ideas and forward-thinking concepts and promotes useful products and technologies

This book includes technical documents and practical applications to case studies, regarding design of steel and composite steel/concrete buildings and innovative steel-based techniques for the retrofit of existing r.c. and masonry constructions.

This manual explains the design, installation, and maintenance of steel water pipe and fittings for potable water service.

Includes over one hundred interlinked articles written by industry experts and external consultants on topics as diverse as cost planning, life cycle assessment, fire engineering and the key issues involved in the design of schools and hospitals. These articles, which are all freely downloadable in PDF format, act a roadmap to further information through multiple links to detailed resources available from the partners as well as other external sources.

Steels: From Materials Science to Structural Engineering combines steels research and model development, including the application of modelling techniques in steels.

Covering common problems, likely failures and their remedies, this is an essential on-site guide to the behaviour of a building's structure.

Steel Construction publishes peerreviewed papers covering the entire field of steel construction research. In the interests of "construction without depletion", it skilfully combines steel with other forms of construction employing concrete, glass, cables and membranes to form integrated steelwork systems.