Guides: Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering: Architectural Engineering

Where to Find Articles

Find Articles

Engineering Village
Engineering Village is an integrated interface for finding engineering information. Its main feature is Compendex: the most comprehensive database of scientific and engineering research available, covering 120 years of core engineering literature.
AVAILABLE ON CAMPUS ONLY
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection
Hundreds of Elsevier journals in physical sciences & engineering, health sciences, life sciences and social sciences & humanities
ASCE Library [American Society of Civil Engineers]
The following journals are available in full text:
- Journal of Geotechnical & Geoenvironmental Engineering
- Journal of Hydraulic Engineering
-Journal of Materials in Civil Engineering
-Journal of Architectural Engineering
-Journal of Infrastructure Systems
- Journal of Environmental Engineering
Art & Architecture Source
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals
Indexes more than 2,500 U.S. and foreign journals, including international, scholarly, and popular publications.
GreenFILE
Offers scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
The premier database for research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore includes access to over 4.5 million full-text documents, including IEEE journals, magazines, conferences, and standards.

University of Detroit Mercy Theses and Dissertations

During the past decade, most theses and dissertations have been exclusively digital, and the library has only digital copies. Many older theses and dissertations have been digitized, but the library was unable to contact some authors for permission to digitize their work, so some older items are in storage and must be requested in advance: https://libraries.udmercy.edu/contact/

Digital Architecture Thesis Collection
Digital Engineering & Science Thesis Collection
Digital Engineering Dissertation Collection
Print Theses and Dissertations
These items are in storage and must be requested in advance: https://libraries.udmercy.edu/contact/

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine eBooks

National Academies eBooks

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, chartered by Congress, is the collective scientific national academy of the United States. They publish over 200 free, peer-reviewed reports each year, as both physical books and ebooks.

Websites

Websites

American Institute of Steel Construction Publications website includes free specifications, codes, and seismic resources

Science.gov: a gateway to government science agencies, including technical reports, data sets, conference papers, and open access journal articles.

Library of Congress Architecture, Design and Engineering Drawings were drawn by American architects between 1600 and 1989, including residetial, commercial, and government buildings.

UpCodes includes free access to many state and international building codes, including fire codes and ADA standards.

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Publications Includes engineering manuals and regulations

Cost Data Handbooks (RSMeans)

Electrical Costs with Rsmeans Data by Rsmeans (Editor)
Call Number: TH 435 .M42 2021
ISBN: 9781955341042
Publication Date: 45th ed., 2021
A comprehensive collection of costs designed for everything from detailing large scopes of work to conceptually estimating smaller ones.
Concrete & Masonry Costs with Rsmeans Data by Rsmeans (Editor)
Call Number: Reference TA 682.26 .C66 2021
ISBN: 9781955341035
Publication Date: 40th ed., 2021
Includes current data on concrete and masonry construction equipment costs, city and location factors, square foot costs, and unit prices.
Heavy Construction Costs with RSMeans Data by Rsmeans
Call Number: TH 435 .M429
ISBN: 9781946872098
Publication Date: 2018
Offers costs for all types of heavy constructionfrom highways, bridges, utilities,
Square Foot Costs with Rsmeans Data by Rsmeans (Editor)
Call Number: TH 435 .M44 2017
ISBN: 1943215669
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
This easy-to-use guide gives the building components required to develop accurate assemblies-level cost estimates, evaluate trade-off costs and verify unit price estimates.
Building Construction Cost with RSmeans Data by Rsmeans (Editor)
Call Number: TH 435 .B84 2017
ISBN: 9781943215485
Publication Date: 2016
The 75th edition of this bestselling cost guide has been updated and expanded to provide you with the information you need to estimate projects and reduce risks
RSMeans Interior Cost Data 2015
Call Number: Reference TH 435 .I576 2015
ISBN: 9781940238593
Publication Date: 32nd ed., 2015
Includes data and indexes on material, labor, equipment and overhead costs as well as factors that might affect costs and profits in commercial interior construction,
RSMeans Green Building Cost Data 2014
Call Number: Reference TH 880 .R75 2013
ISBN: 9781940238081
Publication Date: 4th edl, 2013
Includes green models for industrial and institutional buildings such as banks, fire stations, offices, and college classrooms.
RSMeans Electrical Cost Data 2013 by Charest, Adrian C. (editor)
Call Number: Reference TK 435 .M42 2013
ISBN: 9781936335589
Publication Date: 36th ed., 2012
Want to simplify the process of estimating electrical construction projects? This versatile reference guide gives you the most up-to-date cost information available, including, resources for designers, engineers, and contractors. It includes cost-saving tips and recommendations and comprehensive costs from high voltage transmission lines to residential wiring.
RSMeans Mechanical Cost Data 2013 by Mossman, Melville J. (ed.).
Call Number: Reference TH 435 .M435 2013
ISBN: 9781936335688
Publication Date: 2013
This guide provides up-to-date materials, equipment and labor costs needed to estimate mechanical construction project costs and to compare different types of components or systems. It includes unit price information on construction equipment rental costs, historical cost indexes to compare prices over time and city cost indexes to estimate prices in over 700 different cities throughout the U.S. and Canada.
RSMeans Plumbing Cost Data 2013
Call Number: Reference TH 6235 .M435 2013
ISBN: 1936335700
Publication Date: 36th ed., 2013
This powerful construction tool allows you to quickly provide accurate plumbing estimates and work schedules based on labor, material and equipment costs.