Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Civil Engineering Books 2020-21
New Civil Engineering Books in the McNichols Campus Library
Cyclescapes of the Unequal City by
Call Number: HT 165.5 .S764 2019
Speaks to a growing interest in bicycling as an urban economic and environmental strategy, its role in the politics of gentrification, and efforts to build more diverse coalitions of bicycle advocates. Grounding its analysis in regional political economy and neighborhood-based ethnography, this book uses the bicycle as a lens to view major shifts in today's American city.
A Dictionary of Civil, Water Resources and Environmental Engineering by
Call Number: TA 9 .F75 2013
The first ever comprehensive dictionary written exclusively for the Civil Professional Engineering (PE) exam, this book guides you through the journey of studying for the PE exam -providing the necessary edge of getting additional problems correct, increasing your chances of passing the Civil PE exam and maximizing your potential as a profession engineer.
Engineering Applications in Sustainable Design and Development by
Call Number: TA 170 .S77 2016
An invaluable resource for today's engineering student. Focusing on pressing contemporary issues, the text puts product design in the context of models of sustainability. Relevant case studies from across the globe will be of interest to engineers in training, and active learning exercises in each chapter help students learn to apply theory to real world situations.
Call Number: GE 70 .R38 2017
Helps students understand the connection between the core concepts of environmental science and their daily lives. The 10th edition enhanced e-text features a rich, interactive collection of current case studies and in-text examples, which provides students with the tools to understand, apply, and think critically about environmental science.
Environmental Consulting Fundamentals by
Call Number: TD 194.6 .A47 2020
Combining theory and practice advice into a concise, readable format, the book is an accessible introduction to the types of projects you will encounter as an environmental consultant and lays the groundwork for what you'll need to know in this challenging and rewarding profession.
Environmental Justice in a Moment of Danger by
Call Number: GE 220 .S94 2020
In the United States and in the world, environmental injustices have manifested across racial and class divides in devastatingly disproportionate ways. Exploring dispossession, deregulation, privatization, and inequality, this book is the essential primer on environmental justice, packed with cautiously hopeful stories for the future.
A Guide to the Scientific Career (eBook) by
A concise, easy-to-read source of essential tips and skills for scientific careers, this book emphasizes good communication skills, sound judgment, knowledge of research methodology, and good writing skills . Includes selected personal stories by great researchers, fascinating writers, inspiring mentors, and extraordinary scientists.
The New Map (eBook) by
Although not without controversy, the 'shale revolution' in oil and gas made possible by fracking technology has transformed the American economy, giving the United States unprecedented leverage in the world while putting an end to the 'era of shortage'. Yergin brilliantly reveals and explains the 'new map' to show the great energy and geopolitical transformations looming for Americans and the world.
PE Environmental Practice - Comprehensive Practice for the PE Environmental Exam by
Call Number: https://dalnet-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/f/d9s986/01DAL_UDM_ALMA21111929990003254
Offers the most comprehensive, up to date practice for the NCEES Environmental PE CBT exam to build exam confidence and strengthen time management skills. Key features 500+ exam-like problems in both multiple-choice and essay formats, along with detailed explanations covering exam-specific topics.
Policy on Geometric Design of HIghways and Streets by
Call Number: TE 175 .A55 2018
Highway engineers strive to meet the needs of highway users while maintaining the integrity of the environment. This guide provides guidance based on established practices that are supplemented by recent research. It also serves as a comprehensive reference manual to assist in administrative, planning, and educational efforts pertaining to design formulation.
Trip Generation Handbook
Call Number: HE 371 .A3 T758 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Trip generation basics -- Process for estimating trips -- Trip generation manual data -- Person trips -- Trip generation for mixed-use development -- Trip generation for urban infill/redevelopment -- Trip generation for a transit-friendly development -- Use of local data to estimate trip generation -- Primary, pass-by, and diverted trips -- Truck trip generation -- Data collection
The War on the EPA (eBook) by
Examines the daunting hurdles facing the EPA in its critical roles in drinking water, air and water pollution, climate change, and toxic chemicals. The book illustrates the challenges of regulation, how today's war on science is undermining the scientific foundation upon which the agency's legitimacy rests, and why a strong U.S. Environmental Protection Agency is more important than ever before.
Water Ethics by
Call Number: TD 345 .D667 2019
Explores the common thread that follows from three current interrelated debates: the allocation of water resources, the human right to water, and the commodification and privatisation of water services. These questions create a plea for alternatives to the predominantly consequentialist approach to dealing with water issues.