Guides: Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering: New Books 2021-22

New eBooks

The Car That Knew Too Much by Jean-Francois Bonnefon
Publication Date: 2021

Reports on a groundbreaking moral psychology experiment, an interactive website that allowed people to make choices with detailed accident scenarios to capture what people think driverless cars should do in situations where not everyone can be saved.
A Climate Policy Revolution by Roland Kupers
Publication Date: 2020

Explains how to apply complex systems science to climage change issues such as transit issues, plastics consumption, and the environmental impact of middle-class diets.
The Creeks Will Rise by William S. Becker; Bill McKibben (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2021

Climate change is causing larger and more frequent flooding, and experts predict damages will double by 2051. Becker argues that we should help flood-prone communities relocate and restore the wetlands, coastal marshes and other ecosystems that provide natural flood protection.
Engineering Statics by M. Rashad Islam; M. Abdullah Al Faruque; Bahar Zoghi; Sylvester Kalevela
Publication Date: 2020

Focuses on practical applications knowledge, with numerous real-world examples, practice problems, and case studies throughout. Also Covers topics required for the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam.
Extracting Accountability by Jessica Smith
Publication Date: 2021

Drawing on extensive interviews, archival research, and fieldwork, Smith explores how engineers in the mining and oil industries reconcile competing domains of accountability, including formal guidelines, standards, and policies; to professional ideals; to the public; and to themselves.
The Global Rise of the Modern Plug-In Electric Vehicle by John D. Graham
Publication Date: 2021

Examines the transition from internal combustion engines to gas-powered cars, including major societal concerns, economic rationales, governmental policies and corporate strategies in various countries.
Hazardous Waste Site Investigation and Remediation by Cristiane Surbeck; Michael Shiang; Jeff Kuo
Publication Date: 2021

Practical, project-oriented knowledge of how to investigate and clean up a site contaminated with hazardous waste. Includes field investigative techniques and practical calculations and skills needed to design and operate waste remediation systems.
Highway Planning, Survey, and Design by Ghazi Gaseem Al-Khateeb
Publication Date: 2020

Presents coverage of major areas in transportation engineering: urban transportation planning, highway surveying, and geometric design of highways. Provides solutions to numerous practical problems in transportation engineering.
Traffic and Pavement Engineering by Ghazi Gaseem Al-Khateeb
Publication Date: 2020

Presents the latest engineering concepts, practices, and models used to design and evaluate traffic systems, road pavement structures, to ultimately achieve greater safety, sustainability, and cost-effectiveness.
Lithium-Related Batteries: Advances and Challenges by Ngoc Thanh Thuy Tran
Publication Date: 2022

A comprehensive treatment of the advanced microscopic properties of lithium- and sodium-based batteries. Focuses on the development of the quasiparticle framework and the successful syntheses of cathode/electrolyte/anode materials in these batteries.
LRFD Bridge Design by Tim Huff
Publication Date: 2022

Examines and explains material from the 9th ed. of the AASHTO LRFD Bridge Design Specifications, including deck and parapet design, load calculations, limit states and load combinations, concrete and steel I-girder design, and bearing design.
Transdisciplinary Engineering Design Process by Atila Ertas
ISBN: 9781119474753

Publication Date: 2018

Takes a holistic approach to solving complex engineering design challenges by outlining a collaborative approach to the engineering design process, producing more innovative and improved results.
Vacant to Vibrant by Sandra Albro
Publication Date: 2019

Explains how vacant lots, so often seen as neighborhood blight, have the potential to be a key element of community revitalization, reducing stormwater runoff and pollution, and providing green space.
Valuing Clean Air by Charles Halvorson
Publication Date: 2021

Examines how the environmental concern that propelled the Clean Air Act and the EPA coincided with economic concerns and environmental protection came to serve as a central battleground in larger debates over markets, government, and public welfare.

New Books

PPI PE Environmental Practice Exams - Mock Practice Exams for the PE Environmental Exam by R. Wane Schneiter
Call Number: TD 157.S36 2021

Includes two practice exams covering the six primary topics on the exam and matching the level of difficulty, length, and question format with fully explained solutions. Also includes exam tips, approaches, and insights to improve your chances of passing
Science Fictions by Stuart Ritchie
Call Number: Q 172.5 .E77 R58 2020

Reveals the human biases, misunderstandings, and deceptions that undermine published scientific results, including failures in peer review, exaggerated results and mistakes in statistics. Suggest reforms that could make science more trustworthy.
2019 ASHRAE Handbook. Heating, ventilating, and air-conditioning applications by American Society of Heating Refrigeratng and Air Conditioning (ASHRAE)
Call Number: TH 7005 .A823 2019

ISBN: 9781936504077

Publication Date: 2019

This handbook includes over 60 chapters covering a broad range of facilities and topics, and is written to help engineers design and use equipment and systems described in other Handbook volumes. Each chapter includes current requirements, technology, and design practice.
Concrete & Masonry Costs with Rsmeans Data by Rsmeans (Editor)
Call Number: Reference TA 682.26 .C66 2021

ISBN: 9781955341035

Publication Date: 40th ed., 2021

Includes current data on concrete and masonry construction equipment costs, city and location factors, square foot costs, and unit prices.
Electrical Costs with Rsmeans Data by Rsmeans (Editor)
Call Number: TH 435 .M42 2021

ISBN: 9781955341042

Publication Date: 45th ed., 2021

A comprehensive collection of costs designed for everything from detailing large scopes of work to conceptually estimating smaller ones.

Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering: New Books 2021-22

New Books and eBooks

New eBooks

New Books