Guides: Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering: Job Hunting

Resume Builder and Sample Letters

Create a free account in the LearningExpress (https://udmercy.libguides.com/LearningExpress) database and you will have access to a resume builder, a step-by-step cover letter builder, interview tips, and sample cover letters and interview follow-up letters. There is also a job posting search engine.

Resumes, Cover Letters and Interviewing Tips

Welcome to the Real World by John Henry Weiss
Call Number: Career Shelf HF 5382.75.U6 W455 2014
ISBN: 9781628736861
In Welcome to the Real World, Weiss provides much-needed guidance to recent college graduates seeking their first jobs in the real world of work.
Careers in Green Energy by Laura Mars
ISBN: 9781682179222
Provides students planning potential careers in Green Energy with insight into opportunities,and on what job seekers can expect in terms of training, advancement, earnings, job prospects, working conditions, relevant associations, and more.
Resumes, Cover Letters, Networking, and Interviewing by Clifford W. Eischen
Call Number: HF 5383 .E424 2013
Maximize your degree and land the job you want with RESUMES, COVER LETTERS, NETWORKING, AND INTERVIEWING. Build the resume that best suits your career goals using today's business technologies, including electronic resume formatting. You'll also learn a simple approach to the entire employment process through coverage of the interview process, cover letters, networking, and job applications.

Looking for a Job?

Check out these websites for job postings and potential employers. Some also allow you to post your resume or apply online.

ASCE Career Connections
This website offers a free, searchable jobs database that includes hundreds of current job openings.
SME Jobs Connection
This website allows you to search and apply for manufacturing jobs, post your resume for potential employers, and set up an email job alert.
AtoZdatabases.com
This database now allows you to search for jobs in any region of the country. You can also generate a list of all engineering companies and their contact information in any region of the U.S..
JibberJobber
This free website helps you organize your job search. It will keep track of businesses you've contacted, which resume and/or cover letter you sent to each and the status of each. You can also keep track of the people you meet and add to your network.
MLive's Local Engineering Jobs in Michigan
This website allows you to search job postings, upload and manage cover letters and resumes, and browse through an employer directory that includes company information, job openings and contact info.

Exploring Careers

Take an interest assessment, look at career profiles, research industries, and compare career different careers at this website that is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.

A comprehensive handbook including median salaries, projected growth rates, and the education and training needed for hundreds of careers.