It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Architect's Studio Companion is the time-saving resource every architect needs. It's a robust, user-friendly resource that keeps important information at your fingertips throughout the design process. It includes guidelines for the design of structure, environmental systems, parking, accessibility, and more. The electronic version is limited to three simultaneous users.
The industry-standard guide to designing well-performing buildings Architectural Detailing systematically describes the principles by which good architectural details are designed. Principles are explained in brief, and backed by extensive illustrations.
The gold-standard design and documentation reference for students Architectural Graphic Standards, Student Edition condenses key information from the definitive industry reference to provide students with a powerful learning resource. Section 1: Design Principles & Construction. Section 2: Materials. Section 3: Building Elements.
Access is limited to 3 users at a time.
Fully updated throughout, it highlights all of the changes to the code for quick reference and easy navigation. It pulls out the portions of the building code that are most relevant for the architect and provides an easy-to-understand interpretation in both words and illustrations.
The classic visual guide to the basics of building construction has been updated and revised to include the latest knowledge on sustainability, incorporation of building systems, and use of new materials. Contains archetypal drawings that offer clear inspiration for designers and drafters. It also reflects the 2012 International Building Codes and 2012 LEED system.
This is available in print only.
Curious about how Alsop Architects managed to construct that flying, translucent rectangle at the Ontario College of Art and Design? Wonder about the sustainability of the Genzyme Building? The saying "the truth is in the details" reveals an essential quality of architectural design. How a staircase curves, a roof seemingly floats, or a concrete wall illuminates are critical questions for architects looking at or creating new work. You might forgive designers for closely guarding their signature techniques. Fortunately, editors Christine Killory and Rene Davids culled an amazing collection of the best trade secrets in Details in Contemporary Architecture. This is available for one user at a time.
Hospitals as a building type have undergone a substantial evolution in the past years. Changes in healthcare, the impact of evidence-based medicine and aspects of healthcare economics (such as the clustering of diagnostic procedures in specialized clinics) pose new and different challenges for the designer. Private healthcare facilities herald the paradigm change from the large functional building complex to a design-conscious health institution with luxury hotel features. Health centers more devoted to prevention rather than cure have been another important trend. This publication explains the principles and requirements for the planning of hospitals and other health facilities. An international case study section documents 40 best-practice projects in six categories: general hospitals, children's hospitals, specialized clinics, outpatient clinics and health centers as well as rehabilitation clinics.
The Green Studio Handbook remains an essential resource for design studios and professional practice. This extensive and user-friendly tool presents practical guidelines for the application of green strategies during the schematic design of buildings. Includes case studies and more than 500 sketches and full-color images illustrate how to successfully apply strategies. The electronic version is limited to 3 simultaneous users.
This publication focuses on the key documentation requirements of the landscape architectural design and construction documentation process. Understand the principles behind these documentation practices. Implement best practices specific to each documentation phase and drawing, from title block and cover sheet design to soil plans and plant protection.
This updated fourth edition includes digitized drawings, diagrams, and matrices throughout, and newly added supplemental photographs. The text reflects the latest developments in sustainable and universal design, including coverage of daylighting, benchmarking, LEED system standards, and green code issues.
The Detroit Public Libraryunites the interests of history buffs, art enthusiasts, library lovers, and Detroit-area locals with a tribute to one of the city's most impressive structures. This book will appeal to those looking to learn about the builders, the history, and the stories that brought the Detroit Public Library to fruition.
Students learn best where learning is interesting and fun - so the standards required for school construction are equally high. The continual development of educational concepts and new didactic approaches are changing everyday life in schools and, with it, the functional and aesthetic qualities of this building task. Classrooms and public areas both inside and outside are becoming increasingly flexible and multifunctional. They offer opportunities to retreat for individualized learning and zones of concentrated work, as well as open space landscapes for inter-year mingling and self-organized group activities. The school projects presented in this volume show how contemporary pedagogical concepts are translated into compelling and very diverse architectural
he centennial projects : building the new / Marco Polo and Colin Ripley -- The architecture of public institutions / George Thomas Kapelos -- Campus architecture : the radical medium of learning / Lisa Landrum -- First nations architecture : a long journey forward / Odile Hénault -- Megastructures and high-tech / George Baird -- Postmodernism : reconnecting with history, memory, and place / Larry Wayne Richards -- Urban revitalization / Ian Chodikoff -- Environmental architecture / Steven Mannell -- West Coast land claims / Sherry McKay -- Prairie formations / Graham Livesey -- Eastern edge / Brian Carter -- Arctic architecture : standards, experiments, and consensus / Lola Sheppard and Mason White -- The architecture of Quebec : competition, culture, and conservation / David Theodore -- Toronto architecture : form and reform / Elsa Lam -- The new West Coast / Adele Weder.
"KieranTimberlake: Fullness demonstrates how the firm's formative values have combined with innovative design methodologies, a commitment to full-scale, in-house prototyping, and a collaborative ethos to create and realize works of ambitious scope and complexity. Organized in two volumes, this book illustrated the comprehensive range of architectural beauty present in KieranTimberlake's buildings and the evidence for their mastery of design at all scales and orientations. The first volume presents photographs of each project, depicting the visual whole of the architecture as a fully resolved work. The companion volume reveals the sum of its parts--the pivotal junctures that give rise to final form, including both the moments of discovery and the pragmatic tools of analysis and prototyping that the firm uses. Narratives, drawings, diagrams, details, and anecdotes capture the design process and reveal the varied approaches that give form to the art and science of KieranTimberlake's architecture. Projects in this book include a house made from prefabricated modules in rural California that minimally disturbed its picturesque site; a major renovation of Philadelphia's Dilworth Park in front of City Hall; Cellophane House (TM), a fully recyclable, energy-gathering dwelling; and the new US Embassy in London, designed to signify democratic ideals and exceptional environmental leadership with systems to reduce energy consumption."
Taking readers behind architecture's facades and finishes, this charmingly illustrated book explores how some of the most important buildings in the world were constructed. Specially commissioned isometric drawings present the essential structural elements of the world's masterpiece buildings that are not visible to the naked eye. These illustrations are displayed alongside plans, details, and photographs, all of which are clear and accessible, yet accurate and elegant enough to satisfy the most discerning eye.
The architects. Di Shaohua -- Ding Wowo -- Dong Mei -- Du Juan -- Fan Beilei -- Rossana Hu -- Jiang Ying -- Doreen Heng Liu -- Lu Wenyu -- Peng Lele -- Qi Shanshan -- Tang Yu'en -- Wang Luming -- Wang Wei -- Wang Youfen -- Wei Na -- Ye Min -- Zhang Di -- Zhang Jinqiu -- Zhao Zhao.
This celebration of 20 of China's latest generation features detailed profiles of each architect, exploring their routes to success, their inspirations and the challenges posed for those working and designing in this richly diverse and rapidly evolving region. Each profile is followed by a selection of recent works, including everything from small-scale conceptual plans to country houses, schools, offices and large-scale city development projects. From exploring new ways to build with radical, sustainable materials to sensitively honouring the vernacular traditions of the country's complex history, each architect brings their unique vision to the question of what architecture means in China today.
"InThe Power of Existing Buildings, academic sustainability expert Robert Sroufe, and construction and building experts Craig Stevenson and Beth Eckenrode, explain how to realize the potential of existing buildings and make them perform like new. This step-by-step guide will help readers to: understand where to start a project; develop financial models and realize costs savings; assemble an expert team; and align goals with numerous sustainability programs.The Power of Existing Buildingswill challenge you to rethink spaces where people work and play, while determining how existing buildings can save the world."