Guides: Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering: New Books 2022-23

New eBooks

Advancing the Framework for Assessing Causality of Health and Welfare Effects to Inform National Ambient Air Quality Standard Reviews by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
Examines the EPAs frameworks for inferring causality of health or welfare effects from air pollutants and the characteristics of evidence useful for forming a causal determination.
Black, Brown, Bruised by Ebony Omotola McGee; David Omotoso Stovall
Reveals the challenges that Black, Latinx, and Indigenous individuals face in academic and professional STEM realms and offers policies and practices to make STEM education and employment more inclusive.
Considerations to Reduce Failures Steel Structures Due to Instability by Peter J. Maranian
Examines the various forms of instability associated with compressive forces, bending, shear, and torsion, including global and local buckling and provides a detailed overview of the issues associated with the instability of steel structures.
Design of Steel-Concrete Composite Structures Using High-Strength Materials by J. Y. Richard Liew
Provides guidance derived from a database of over 2,500 test results on the design of composite steel-concrete structures using combined high-strength concretes and steels.
Disruptive Emerging Transportation Technologies by Jonathan Corey
Explores 4IR technologies such as artificial intelligence, machine learning, edge computing, fog computing, cloud computing, fifth generation innovative communications technology, virtual reality, and the Internet of Things (IoT) and their potential impacts on the future disruptive emerging transportation.
Experiment Design for Civil Engineering by Francis J. Hopcroft
Provides a standardized approach to experiment design that shows how to organize experimental data and opitiize usefulness for technical and non-technical audiences.
Finite Element Analysis for Design Engineers by Paul M. Kurowski
Provides simple and informative exercisesw following proven methods for t design engineers to analyze CAD models and improve the process to deliver quick turnaround times and prompt implementation..
Flooding and Management of Large Fluvial Lowlands by Paul F. Hudson
Pressure on large fluvial lowlands has increased tremendously during the past twenty years because of flood control, urbanization, and increased dependence upon floodplains and deltas for food production. This book examines human impacts on lowland rivers, and discusses how these changes affect different types of riverine environments and flood processes
Forensic Engineering by Stephen E. Petty
Describes methodologies for performing insurance-related investigations, including the causation and origin of damage to residential and commercial structures and/or unhealthy interior environments and adverse effects on the occupants of these structures
Geotechnical Testing, Observation, and Documentation by Tim Davis
ISBN: 9780784484074

Publication Date: 2022-07-15

An in-depth field manual for use during the investigation, grading, and construction phases of geotechnical projects. Includes common laboratory and field tests, sampling methods, field soil classification, jobsite soil construction, geologic considerations, LID features, and standard to innovative foundations.
Impacts of Future Weather and Climate Extremes on United States Infrastructure by American Society of Civil Engineers,
Summarizes likely changes in extreme meteorological and hydrological events and assesses the vulnerabilities of infrastructure within critical sectors. Also includes frameworks for decision makers to prioritize limited budgetary resources for adaptation efforts.
Integrated Environmental Modelling Framework for Cumulative Effects Assessment by Anil Gupta; Babak Farjad; George Wang; Hyung Eum; Monique Dubé
Explores how interactions between environmental components are understood,and proposes an integrated modelling framework for future research in cumulative effects assessment.
The Leak by Robert P. Crease
How the 1997 discovery of a harmless leak of radiation sparked a media firestorm, political grandstanding, and fearmongering that closed a vital scientific facility. This compelling expose reveals the gaps between scientists, politicians, media, and the public that have only gotten more dangerous since 1997.
Reckoning with the U. S. Role in Global Ocean Plastic Waste by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
Calls for a national monitoring system and a national strategy to reduce the nation's contribution to global ocean plastic waste at every step - from production to its entry into the environment - including by substantially reducing U.S. solid waste generation.
Research Strategy for Ocean-Based Carbon Dioxide Removal and Sequestration
Assesses what is currently known about the benefits, risks, and potential for responsible scale-up of six specific ocean-based CDR strategies and describes research needed to make informed decisions on next steps.
Roadways for People by Lynn Peterson
Introduces transportation planning and engineering approaches that are rooted in racial equity, guided by a process of community engagement, and include collaboration with other professionals.
Site-Specific Seismic Ground Motions for the Design of Buildings and Other Structures by Praveen K. Malhotra
"provides a step-by-step approach to properly conduct site-specific GMHA and SRA, and informs readers of various resources that are available to perform GMHA and SRA"
Surveying and Geomatic Engineering by Daniel T. Gillins
A comprehensive yet general overview to help support education and inform practicing engineers on the most up-to-date surveying and geomatics engineering and the important role of the surveying engineer.
Accelerating Decarbonization of the U. S. Energy System
Report from a committee of identifying key technological and socio-economic goals for the its transportation, electricity, buildings, and industrial sectors that must be achieved for the U.S. to reach net-zero carbon emissions by 2050.
Plasticity, Damage and Fracture in Advanced Materials
This book presents studies on the plasticity, failure, and damage behavior of materials and structures under monotonic and cyclic loads. It focuses on the description of new effects observed in experiments and proposes various simulation models based on different approaches.
Autonomous Vehicle Ethics
Moves beyond the trolley problem to examine the broader ethical, legal, and social implications that autonomous vehicles present from a range of global perspectives.
Guide to Automotive Connectivity and Cybersecurity
Presents an in-depth review of state of the art automotive connectivity and cybersecurity including trends, technologies, innovations, and applications. Examines the automotive market, research, technology, autonomous vehicles, and methodological approaches to cybersecurity to avoid attacks against vehicles
Annual Report on the Big Data of New Energy Vehicle In China
Using the real-time big data collected by China's National Monitoring and Management Platform for New-Energy Vehicles (NEVs), this book explores the annual technological progress of NEVs, the vehicle operating characteristics, and NEV trends.
Computer Aided Engineering of Batteries
Explores how, over the last ten years, several world-class academics, automotive original equipment manufacturers (OEMs), battery cell manufacturers and software developers worked together under an effort initiated by the U.S. Department of Energy to develop mature, validated modeling tools to simulate design, performance, safety and life of automotive batteries.

More New Engineering Books 2022-23

More Engineering Books and eBooks:

There is No Planet B

Call Number: TJ 163.2 .B4745 2021

Feeding the world, climate change, biodiversity, antibiotics, plastics, pandemics - the list of concerns seems endless. But what is most pressing, and what should we do first? Mike Berners-Lee has crunched the numbers and plotted a course of action that is full of hope, practical, and enjoyable. This is the big-picture perspective on the environmental and economic challenges of our day, laid out in one place, and traced through to the underlying roots - questions of how we live and think.

A Clouded Leopard in the Middle of the Road

Call Number: QH 545 .R62 J66 2022

A Clouded Leopard in the Middle of the Road is an eye-opening introduction to the ecological impacts of roads. Drawing on over ten years of active engagement in the field of road ecology, Darryl Jones sheds light on the challenges roads pose to wildlife and the solutions taken to address themJones surveys the myriad, innovative ways stakeholders across the world have sought to reduce animal-vehicle collisions and minimize road-crossing risks for wildlife, including efforts undertaken at the famed fauna overpasses of Banff National Park, the Singapore Eco-Link, "tunnels of love" in the Australian Alps, and others. Along the way, he acquaints readers with concepts and research in road ecology, describing the field's origins and future directions.

Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering: New Books 2022-23

New Books and eBooks in the McNichols Library 2022-23

New eBooks

More New Engineering Books 2022-23

There is No Planet B

A Clouded Leopard in the Middle of the Road