Guides: Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering: New Books 2024-25

New Books

The Ethics of Water by Cameron Fioret
Call Number: HD 1691 .F55 2023

Draws on research in democratic political theory and environmental philosophy to consider what right people have to water, putative harms of privatizing and commodifying water, common ownership, and legal protections, alongside local and transnational political activism.
Ethics Within Engineering by Wade L. Robison
Call Number: TA 157 .R63 2024

Using real life examples that bring the theory to life, this student-led textbook encourages students to present, challenge, and work through different engineering ethics problems and solutions with confidence and a strong evidence-based approach.
Latin* Students in Engineering by Lara Perez-Felkner
Call Number: T 73 .L35 2024

Examines the state of Latin* engineering education at present as well as considerations for policy and practice regarding engineering education aimed at enhancing opportunity and better serving Latin* students.
Our Plastic Problem and How to Solve It by Sarah J. Morath
Call Number: TD 798 .M67 2022

Using specific examples and case studies, the book describes the history and chemistry of plastic, illustrates its harms to the environment, and points toward specific legislation and policies to offer concrete solutions
Pavement Analysis and Design by Yang Huang
Call Number: TE 251 .H77 2004

For one/two-semester, undergraduate/graduate courses in Pavement Design. This text covers both theoretical and practical aspects of pavement analysis and design. It includes some of the latest developments in the field, and some very useful computer software--developed by the author--with detailed instructions.
Principles of Structural Design by Ram S. Gupta
Call Number: TA 633 .G87 2020

the elemental designs of individual components of each timber, steel, and concrete are presented, together with theory of structures essential for design using each.
Urban Drainage and Storage Practices by James C. Y. Guo
Call Number: TD 665 .G865 2023

Focuses on the latest developments in urban stormwater design methods using drainage and storage approaches for both water quality and quantity control. Covers both conventional and low-impact methods for stormwater quality enhancement.
2023 ASHRAE Handbook. Heating, ventilating, and air-conditioning applications by American Society of Heating Refrigeratng and Air Conditioning (ASHRAE)
Call Number: Reference TH 7005 .A823 2023

This handbook includes over 60 chapters covering a broad range of facilities and topics, and is written to help engineers design and use equipment and systems described in other Handbook volumes. Each chapter includes current requirements, technology, and design practice.

More New Books Related to Engineering 2024-25

New Civil, Architectural &Environmental Engineering eBooks

Bridge Demolition Engineering by Bridge Demolition Subcommittee
Provides consistent industry standards for what should be included in a safe and effective demolition plan. Includes manuals and specifications, equipment and tools for bridge, loads, demolition with explosives, and suggested checklist of bridge demolition plans.
Concrete Century by Michael G. Smith
Drawing upon Kahn's personal correspondence, architectural drawings, company records, and articles, Smith reveals how Kahn escaped antisemitism in Germany and invented the method of reinforcing concrete with steel bars, which made it possible to construct strong, fireproof buildings.
Design of High-Performance Pre-engineered Steel Concrete Composite Beams for Sustainable Construction by Ming-Shan Zhao
Details the properties and advantages of high-performance pre-engineered steel-concrete composite beams (HPCBs) and explains the analysis methods for testing HPCB systems.
The Great Civil Engineering Overhaul by Bill Wallace
A resource for all civil engineers interested in sustainability, regardless of subdiscipline, providing a sound understanding, new ideas, and a path forward to designing and delivering projects that can operate reliably, safely, and effectively under changing climate conditions.
Indigenous Science and Technology by Kelly S. McDonough
Explores how Nahuas--native⁠ speakers of Nahuatl, the common language of the Aztec Empire and of more than 2.5 million Indigenous people today—have created, built upon, and shared knowledge, practices, tools and objects to help understand and preserve nature and the environment.
Introduction to Strain-Based Structural Health Monitoring of Civil Structures by Branko Glisic
Focuses on the SHM of civil structures and infrastructure and develops the relevant topics of measurement and data analysis. Includes strain monitoring, error analysis, sources of strain, methods for monitoring various structures, and model-based methods for data analysis.
Project Design for Geomatics Engineers and Surveyors, Second Edition by Clement Ogaja
Explores key components and aspects of project design for geomatics and land surveying projects, including new developments in the rapidly emerging use of remote sensing and GIS in aerial surveys, mapping, and imaging for small-to-medium scale projects
Slow Wood by Brian Donahue
A radical proposal for healing the relationship between humans and forests through responsible, sustainable use of local and regional wood in home building Provides a plan for how to live more responsibly with the woods, offering a sustainable approach to both forestry and building centered on tightly connected ecological and social values.
Transformative Science Teaching by Daniel Morales-Doyle
Offers lesson plans and instructional materials to help STEM educators center social justice science issues (SJSIs) within the context of Next Generation Science Standards and bring forward urgent topics, such as racial and environmental justice, that are relevant to students' lives.
Killed by a Traffic Engineer by Wes Marshall
Shows how traffic engineering "research" is outdated and unexamined and often steered by an industry and culture considering only how to get from point A to B the fastest way possible and a focus on capacity,, to the detriment of safety, quality of life, equality, and planetary health.

Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering: New Books 2024-25

New Books and eBooks

New Books

More New Books Related to Engineering 2024-25

New Civil, Architectural &Environmental Engineering eBooks