Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics and Demographics
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. It collects, analyzes, and disseminates essential economic information to support public and private decision making.
U.S. government's open data project where you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
Robust and highly-detailed demographic data. Ideal for gaining consumer and market insight as you consider opening a business, finding an untapped audience for your products, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and more. Reporting capability allows you to rapidly produce a variety of compiled reports to help you make informed and accurate decisions.
Trade Journals, Magazines, Newspapers
Newsbank : America's News This link opens in a new window
Full text newspapers and news magazines from all over the state and country. Coverage goes back to 1980's to 1990's, depending on source.
Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 250 online directories that can be searched individually or jointly
Bureaus of Labor Statistics
Find labor statistics, such as career information, wages by area and occupation, earnings by industry and demographics, employment costs, and more.
Economic & Statistics Administration, US Department of Commerce
From the website: "The Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) plays three key roles within the Department of Commerce (DOC). ESA provides timely economic analysis, disseminates national economic indicators, and oversees the U.S. Census Bureau (Census) and the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA). E
SA’s expert economists and analysts produce in-depth reports, fact sheets, and briefings on policy issues and current economic events."
Economic Research Service
ERS collects data regarding agriculture and related fields including food safety and prices, commodity markets, rural economy and agricultural income.
IMF International Monetary Fund
From the website: "The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
Created in 1945, the IMF is governed by and accountable to the 188 countries that make up its near-global membership."
Includes the Handbook on Securities Statistics 2015 in pdf format.
International Monetary Fund - IMF Data
From the website: "The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available."
National Agriculture Statistical Service
The NASS provides information on every aspect of agriculture.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
The BEA collects information on national and international trade, accounts, history, and economic indicators. Information is available by state, municipality and internationally.
U.S. Census Bureau Economic Indicators
Find economics indicators for new residential construction, retail trade, manufacturing and trade inventories and sales, advance monthly sales for retail and food services, monthly wholesale trade, US international trade in goods and services, rental vacancy rate, homeownership rate, and more.
World Bank Data
"World Bank Open Data: free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe."
Topics include education, energy & mining, poverty, economy & growth, trade, urban development and more.l