Guides: Counseling: New Books 2024-25

New Books

An Ounce of Prevention by Sally M. Hage (Editor)
Call Number: RA 790 .H27 2024

Provides a broad introduction to prevention in psychology and the tools, resources, and knowledge to develop and implement evidence-based prevention programs. Includes culturally-informed examples from across the lifespan.
The School Counselor's Guide to Surviving the First Year by Heather M. Couch
Call Number: LB 1027.5 .C64 2020

Drawing from personal experiences, journal articles, textbooks, and excerpts by numerous professional school counselors, this practical guide is a valuable toolkit for professional development.
Sorting It Out by Robin Gregory
Call Number: BF 724.3 .D47 G74 2024

Guide to supporting young people in treating decision making as an essential and learnable skill. Includes practical tips on when and how to talk to teenagers to show how decisions can transform problems into opportunities.
Understanding and Reducing Anxiety in the Primary School by Shirley Clarke
Call Number: LB 3430 .C56 2024

Looks at the psychology behind student anxiety and includes strategies and techniques (including formative assessment) to reduce the anxiety of the children they work with and to support the wellbeing of the wider educational community.
Empowering Play in Primary Education by Aimee Durning (Editor)
Call Number: LB 1139.35 .P55 E66 2025

Packed with imaginative ideas and practical suggestions, this essential book combines theory with tried and tested practice to inspire teachers to use the pedagogy of play and enhance children's learning experience.
Culturally Responsive Substance Use Treatment by Gabrielle Jones
Call Number: RC 564.65 .J66 2024

Offers a comprehensive guide to the importance of integrating cultural understanding and sensitivity into every aspect of substance use treatment,
Group Psychotherapy with Addicted Populations by Philip J. Flores
Call Number: RC 565 .F568 2023

A notable expert with over 30years' of experience in the areas of addictive disorders and group psychotherapy provides an effective integration the 12-step approach to addiction treatment.
Long-Term Recovery from Substance Use by Sarah Galvani (Editor)
Call Number: HV 5000 .E85 L66 2022

International experts explore the complex and continuing needs of people in long-term recovery and put forward clear recommendations for improving research, policy and practice.
Pain, the Opioid Epidemic, & Depression by Jeffrey F. Scherrer (Editor)
Call Number: RC 568 .O45 P358 2024

Takes a comprehensive approach, from neurophysiology to epidemiology to clinical practice, and explains the processes driving maintenance of chronic pain, persistent depression, and long-term prescription opioid use, as well as taper and buprenorphine treatment for opioid use disorder

New eBooks

Counseling with Immigrants, Refugees, and Their Families from Social Justice Perspectives by Patricia Arredondo
Explores research addressing post-migration mental health symptoms, family disharmony because of different rates of acculturation between parents and children, and academic success. Includes affirmative counseling approaches and how to practice in culturally responsive ways.
Communication Issues in Autism and Asperger Syndrome by Olga Bogdashina
Theoretical foundation for communication and language impairments specific to autism and differences among individuals. Includes assessment and intervention recommendations.
Cultivating Systemic Resilience in Therapy by Christie Eppler (Editor)
This edited collection aims to help therapists understand and apply concepts of systemic resilience in clinical practice, supporting them in conceptualizing cases, treatment planning, and developing supportive therapeutic relationships.
Cultural Awareness in Therapy with Trans and Gender Non-Conforming Adults and Older People by Tavi Hawn
Includes practical tips, exercises, case studies and self-assessment checklists on how to acknowledge trauma, cultural and spiritual aspects of transition, and specific advise on supporting older trans people.
Digital Media Use in Early Childhood by Lelia Green
Draws on a three-year research project examining effects of digital technologies on under six-year-olds' experiences in the UK and Australia. Includes family interviews and ethnographic data from observation and exchanges with the children.
How Technology, Social Media, and Current Events Profoundly Affect Adolescents by Mark A. Goldstein
Examines eighteen contemporary issues and their impact on the biological, psychological, and social domains in adolescents.
Introduction to Multicultural Counseling for Helping Professionals by Wanda M. L. Lee
Provides a broad survey of counseling concepts and techniques for different marginalized ethnic and cultural groups, it is at once practical and easily understood.
Suicide and Self-Injury in Schools by Darcy Haag Granello
Provides a research-informed, practical strategy for how schools can develop and implement a systemic and realistic school-wide approach.
Supporting the Development of Speech, Language and Communication in the Early Years by Diana McQueen; Jo Williams
Written by speech and language therapists and designed exclusively for Early Years practitioners, this book provides a complete overview of how children acquire language and what language impairments look like at this age.
You Better Go See Geri by Frances "Geri" Roossien
Tells the story of Frances "Geri" Roossie, who was born into an Odawa family in Michigan and developed tribally centered programs for addiction and family health, including the first Native American Recovery Group.
Treating Traumatic Stress and Substance Misuse by Denise Hien; Lisa Caren Litt
Reviews evidence-based treatments for PTSD and other trauma-related problems, and substance misuse, and presents an integrative, culturally responsive framework for assessment and treatment planning.

Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Anxious Children (Coping Cat_

Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Anxious Children by Philip C. Kendall; Kristina A. Hedtke
Call Number: Reserve RJ 505 .C63 K46 2006

This therapist manual provides an overview of the general strategies used in the treatment of anxiety in children. The treatment manual is coordinated with the revised Coping Cat Workbook. There is a chapter devoted to each of the sixteen therapy sessions that appear in the Coping Cat Workbook;, with explanations of and a rationale for the activities.
Coping Cat Workbook by Philip C. Kendall; Kristina A. Hedtke
Call Number: Reserve RJ 505 .C63 K456 2006

ISBN: 9781888805215

Empirically-supported CBT to reduce anxious distress in youth. This newest edition is a revision of the original Coping Cat Workbook by Philip Kendall that has been in use since 1992. Sixteen therapy sessions promote coping skills for dealing with anxiety. The program can be adapted for use with individual youth or with groups. Appendices include "situation cards" with three levels of difficulty, a "feelings barometer," as well as other cut-outs and a certificate of achievement
Brief Coping Cat: Therapist Manual for the 8-Session Workbook by Kendall, Philip C.; Crawley, Sarah A.
Call Number: Reserve RJ 505 .C63 K452 2013

The treatment manual is coordinated with the Brief Coping Cat: The 8-Session Coping Cat Workbook. There is a chapter devoted to each of the sessions that appear in the accompanying workbook, and each chapter provides stated goals and explains the rationale for the treatment activities.
Brief Coping Cat: The 80Session Coping Cat Workbook by Kendall, Philip C.; Crawley, Sarah A.
Call Number: Reserve RJ 505 .C63 K453 2013

CBT is an empirically-supported approach to reduce anxious distress in youth. This newest version of CBT reduces the Coping Cat program to 8 sessions. Sessions teach about anxiety and its management promote coping skills for dealing with anxiety and introduce exposure tasks..

Counseling: New Books 2024-25

New Books at eBooks at the Detroit Mercy Library

New Books

New eBooks

Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Anxious Children (Coping Cat_

More New Books