Counseling: Handbooks. Encyclopedias, Dictionaries

The Dictionary of Existential Psychotherapy and Counselling is a comprehensive lexicon of existential terms, their meaning and application. With over 350 entries (cross-referenced throughout), the book is the ideal companion to studying the ideas of existential pioneers, such as Kierkegaard, Heidegger and Sartre. The Dictionary of Existential Psychotherapy and Counselling will be invaluable to all trainees and practitioners of the existential approach and to all counsellors and psychotherapists who recognise the centrality of philosophical concepts to their practice.

From atavisticto folie a deux, from engramto Weltschmerzand Seashore test, this edition of The Concise Dictionary of Psychologycontains more than 1,300 references to words, phrases and eminent pioneers in psychology.

The Counseling Dictionary is an excellent resource that will serve both experienced and novice counselors. Terms in the dictionary are cross-referenced and written in a concise and easy to understand way.

An invaluable and reliable source, the 'APA Concise Dictionary of Psychology' answers the needs of individuals from all walks of life who are interested in the ways that psychological science and knowledge cast light on the issues of everyday living.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology is the first and only dictionary that surveys the broad discipline of psychology from an international, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary focus.

This dictionary is the first to deal comprehensively with the history of counseling in the United States for the last 100 years and with the professional, ethical, and legal aspects of counseling. The introduction describes the development of counseling since 1900 in this country, defines the major theoretical approaches to counseling through the years, describes the counseling process and characterizes counseling approaches at different stages in a person's life, and talks about client and counselor relationships. The 279 entries that make up the main body of the book cover a broad range of terms, concepts, theories, approaches, strategies, key people and organizations, various types of groups and problems, and major issues. Internal cross-references between entries and a general index make this dictionary easily accessible for students, scholars, and practitioners in counseling in the fields of psychology and education. Short lists of important sources for further reading that accompany the different entries add to the usefulness of this research tool.

Native counselors and leading experts from 40 countries discuss the opportunities for growth and the challenges they face in their countries. Each chapter covers the history and current state of counseling in the country, theories and techniques that have been shown to work best in meeting the needs of the population, diversity issues specific to the region, counselor education and training, and possibilities for the future of counseling in the country.

"With its diversity throughout including almost 40 authors from different therapeutic modalities, continents and professional fields the book indeed is both an 'invitation and challenge' and a means 'to aid transcultural therapists in conducting their work in a sensitive and informed manner'. This book will be of immense value to a wide range of readers, including counselling and therapy practitioners, supervisors, trainees, agency managers and colleagues in other therapy-related services.

Online Counseling gives practical insight into how professionals can translate and extend their practice to the electronic online medium. The volume provides an overview of current research on the use and effectiveness of counseling online and data on the idiosyncrasies of online behavior and communication. The practical aspects of and skill sets required for counseling online are discussed at length, as are technological, ethical, legal and multicultural issues, treatment strategies, and testing and assessment.

The second edition of this ground-breaking book continues the mission of its predecessor: to provide a "best principles" and "best practices" overview of the counseling supervision process, one that is firmly rooted in the recent explosion of empirical research in this field. Sponsored by the Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (ACES), the presentation is targeted primarily at master's-level practitioners who want "how-to" applications of the research literature (with examples) rather than a comprehensive review of the supervision literature.

Also available in print.

Research is a vital and often daunting component of many counselling and psychotherapy courses. As well as completing their own research projects, trainees across modalities must understand the research in the field - what it tells them and how to do it. This book will navigate students through each stage of the research process, from choosing a research question, through the pros and cons of different methods, to data analysis and writing up their findings.

The Handbook of Group Counseling and Psychotherapy underscores the notion that group work is improved through increased collaboration between researchers and practitioners.

The Handbook of Motivational Counseling presents comprehensive coverage of the development and identification of motivational problems and the most effective treatment techniques.  Equips clinicians with specific instructions for enhancing clients' motivations for change.

Each individual belongs to and identifies with a number of identities, including race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, and other cultural dimensions. This book helps professional counselors to identify and develop the specific competencies necessary to work effectively with an increasingly diverse population, covering important topics such as immigration, size, social class, language, disability, and sexual orientation.

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy is a two-volume source that traces theory and examines the beginnings of counseling and psychotherapy all the way to current trends and movements. This is a quick, one-stop source that gives the reader the "who, what, where, how, and why" of contemporary counseling and psychotherapy theory.

'The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology' covers the entire spectrum of psychological terms, theories, personalities and experiments. The book is designed to be of use to both students and the general public.

With more questions and answers than any other edition, the Encyclopedia of Counseling, Fourth Edition,is still the only book you need to pass the NCE, CPCE,& and other counseling exams.

This counseling reference book is ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly and efficiently update or refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling. More than 400 entries span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs, making this a perfect text for introductory counseling classes or for use as a study guide when preparing for the National Counselor Exam.