Counseling: Ethics

For courses in Introduction to Counseling. A comprehensive overview of the major tenets of the counseling profession, precisely aligned with the 2016 CACREP standards. The title includes comprehensive coverage of the major tenets of the counseling profession including advocacy and multicultural counseling, licensure, professional associations, ethical/legal issues, crisis intervention, consultation, supervision, outcomes, research, and the counseling process, with diverse applications across the life span, settings, and specialties.

Available in print and electronically.
This text guides helping professionals in the use of ethical decision-making processes as the foundation for ethical approaches to counseling and psychotherapy. The book focuses on ethical and legal challenges and standards across multiple professions emphasizing counseling.

Available in print and electronically.
Useful for all counselors, clinicians and counselors-in-training, this edition provides a detailed examination of the ACA Code of Ethics. Find out what is new in the 2014 Code and which sections have undergone the most significant revision to ensure your understanding of and compliance with the most current ethical standards in the field.

Electronic book.
This highly practical and easily understood handbook provides counselors and students with the means to quickly apply the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics to practice and to professional roles and activities. It contains on-point recommendations for each standard of the Code, a decision-making model, and a listing of ethics resources.

Many counselors learn about ethics in graduate school by applying formal, step-by-step ethical decision-making models that require counselors to be aware of their values and refrain from imposing personal values that might harm clients. However, in the real world, counselors often make split-second ethical decisions based upon personal values. Values and Ethics in Counseling illustrates the ways in which ethical decisions are values--but more than that, it guides counselors through the process of examining their own values and analyzing how these values impact ethical decision making.

Available in print and electronically.
How can philosophy guide our understanding of and approach to counseling ethics and techniques? Moving beyond the standard review of ethical issues and basic problem solving, this text for counseling professionals features innovative, experiential activities and case studies that promote in-depth thinking about the ethical, moral, and legal issues often confronted by counseling professionals.

Ethics in Psychotherapy and Counseling: A Practical Guide provides guidance on the ethical dilemmas and responsibilities that confront psychotherapists, counselors, and other mental health professionals in their day-to-day practices.

Becoming an Ethical Helping Professional takes mental health professionals on a wide-ranging tour of ethics-covering both the theoretical as well as practical aspects of providing sound, ethical care. Book + DVD

Closer regulation of psychological counselling means that an awareness of the professional, legal and ethical considerations is vital. The Handbook of Professional and Ethical Practice brings together leading therapists and psychologists who have a wealth of knowledge and experience of their subjects. Each chapter places particular emphasis on the current codes of practice and ethical principles underpinning safe ethical practice and the implications for practitioners.

Contents: Subject pool policies in undergraduate-only departments: results from a nationwide survey / R. Eric Landum and Garvin Chastain -- What makes a subject pool (un)ethical? / Joan E. Sieber -- Research participation among general psychology students at a metropolitan comprehensive public university / Bradley M. Waite and Laura L. Bowman -- Evaluating students' research experiences via credit slips / Richard L. Moreland -- Why do students miss psychology experiments and what can be done about it? / Darrell L. Butler -- Case study of a departmental subject pool and review board / Gregory L. Murphy -- Why, what, how, and when of effective faculty use of institutional review boards / Janet F. Gillespie -- Interactions concerning risky research: investigators rate their IRBs (and vice versa) / James R. Council ... [et. al.] -- Sexuality research, institutional review boards and subject pools / Michael W. Wiederman.

Also available as an eBook. Ethics experts Barbara Herlihy and Gerald Corey, along with 40 guest contributors, share their thoughts on the ethical issues surrounding sexual dual relationships; multiculturalism and social justice; counselor education, supervision, and consultation; group counseling; couples and family counseling; and school counseling. In addition, coverage extends to specialty areas, such as disaster mental health, private practice, addictions and rehabilitation counseling, rural practice, counseling in the military and forensic counseling.

Also available as an ebook. Contents: Theories and Applications of Counseling and Psychotherapy provides students with the foundational knowledge needed to implement various therapeutic approaches in individual and family counseling. The dynamic author team presents theories through a multicultural and social justice-oriented lens, including evidence to support each theory. Students will embrace chapter concepts through vibrant illustrations and relevant examples from movies, TV shows, photographs, paintings, musical lyrics, news articles, and other sources presented throughout.

This authoritative resource, written by two counseling professors--one an attorney and the other an expert in ethics--explores the most difficult ethical, legal, and professional challenges in counseling. Includes numerous case studies and practical advice on how to manage ethical and legal issues such as using technology and social media, counseling minors and vulnerable adults, counseling clients who may be suicidal or violent, responding to subpoenas; setting boundaries with clients, students, and supervisees serving as gatekeepers for the counseling profession; developing a private practice, responding to complaints, and practicing in a diversity-sensitive manner.

This foundational text was one of the first books to integrate work from moral philosophy, developmental/moral psychology, applied psychology, political and social economy, and political science, as well as business scholarship. Provides readers with a practical model for ethical decision making and includes examples from I-O research and practice, as well as current business events. The book incorporates diverse perspectives into a "framework for taking moral action" and sections on moral psychology, economic justice, the "replicability crisis," and open science have been expanded and the "radical behavioral challenge" to ethical decision-making is critiqued. In fifteen clearly structured and theory-based chapters, the author also presents a variety of ethical incidents reported by practicing I-O psychologists.

Demystifies the forensic psychological assessment process and provides guidelines for participating effectively and ethically in legal proceedings. Presents clinical and legal concepts and evidence-based assessment procedures pertaining to criminal and civil competencies, the insanity defense and related doctrines, sentencing, civil commitment, personal injury claims, antidiscrimination laws, child custody, juvenile justice, and other justice-related areas. Includes sample reports illustrate how to conduct and write up thorough, legally admissible evaluations.