Race, Inclusion & Society

Open access magazine that provides information about the governance, policies, and practices in colleges and universities. JBHE also publishes articles which address the broader intellectual issues, policies, and strategies that affect the progress of blacks in institutions of higher education.

A trans-disciplinary on-line peer reviewed scholarly journal devoted to the intellectual synthesis of research, scholarship and critical thought on the African experience around the world.

The goal of Meridians is to make scholarship by and about women of color central to contemporary definitions of feminisms in the exploration of women's economic conditions, their political practices, the articulation of histories, geographies, cultures, and sexualities, as well as the focus and meanings of resistance and activist strategies.

Examines issues raised by the concept of race, the practices and mechanisms of racialization, and the persistence of various forms of racism across the world. Published by The Pennsylvania State University.

Provides a forum for communicating news and idea and reports the results of Poverty & Race Research Action Council-sponsored research.

A fully peer reviewed journal on racism, empire and globalisation containing contributions from scientists, artists, novelists, journalists, politicians and black and Third World activists and scholars.

Published by University of New Orleans, Department of Sociology,

An official journal of the American Sociological Association.

A scholarly, triple-blind, peer reviewed, open access electronic refereed journal that is published three times each year by the School of Education at Southern University - Baton Rouge.

Devoted to race equality in education, reporting good practice in education & equality, responding to the political shifts that affect children's educational opportunities

News magazine focusing on matters of access and opportunity for all in higher education. Source for critical news, information and insightful commentary on the full range of issues concerning diversity in American higher education.

Committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, to challenging racial and economic injustice, and to protecting basic human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society.

A moderated and independent blog that aims to advance scholarly publishing and communication, and the professional development of its members through education, collaboration, and networking by bringing together differing opinions, commentary, and ideas, and presenting them openly.

Collection include sermons on racial pride and political activism; annual reports of charitable, educational, and political organizations; and college catalogs and graduation orations from the Hampton Institute, Morgan College, and Wilberforce University. Also included are biographies, slave narratives, speeches by members of Congress, legal documents, poetry, playbills, dramas, and librettos. Other materials focus on segregation, voting rights, violence against African Americans, the colonization of Africa by freed slaves, anti-slavery organizations and investigative reports. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Benjamin W. Arnett, Alexander Crummel, Emanuel Love, Lydia Maria Child, Kelly Miller, Charles Sumner, Mary Church Terrell, and Booker T. Washington, among others.

From the 1820s to the Civil War, African Americans assumed prominent roles in the transatlantic struggle to abolish slavery. In contrast to the popular belief that the abolitionist crusade was driven by wealthy whites, some 300 black abolitionists were regularly involved in the antislavery movement, heightening its credibility and broadening its agenda. The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement.

Library of Congress collection that contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) of the Works Progress Administration, later renamed Work Projects Administration (WPA).

Collection consists of 105 library books and manuscripts drawn principally from the Law Library and the Rare Book and Special Collections Division. The documents comprise an assortment of trials and cases, reports, arguments, accounts, examinations of cases and decisions, proceedings, journals, a letter, and other works of historical importance. Most of the items date from the nineteenth century and include materials associated with the Dred Scott case and the abolitionist activities of John Brown, John Quincy Adams, and William Lloyd Garrison.

Recordings of former slaves took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine states. Twenty-three interviewees discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom. Several individuals sing songs, many of which were learned during the time of their enslavement.

Spans the years 1773 to 1987 and consists of correspondence, pay vouchers, orders, muster rolls, enlistment and discharge papers, receipts, contracts, affidavits, tax records, miscellaneous military documents, and printed matter. Most items document African Americans in military service, especially the United States Corps d'Afrique and the United States Colored Troops, which were organized during the Civil War. Also included are many documents concerning slavery and various other Civil War documents that mention African Americans.

Collection includes interviews of activists from a wide range of occupations. The video recordings of their recollections cover a wide variety of topics within the civil rights movement, such as the influence of the labor movement, nonviolence and self-defense, religious faith, music, and the experiences of young activists. Actions and events discussed in the interviews include the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom (1963), the Albany Movement (1961), the Freedom Rides (1961), the Selma to Montgomery Rights March (1965), the Orangeburg Massacre (1968), sit-ins, voter registration drives in the South, and the murder of fourteen year old Emmett Till in 1955, a horrific event that galvanized many young people into joining the freedom movement.

Produced by the Japanese-Americans interned at assembly centers and relocation centers around the country during World War II, these newspapers provide a unique look into the daily lives of the people who were held in these camps.

The online collection includes the papers of the 19th century African American abolitionist who escaped from slavery and then risked his freedom by becoming an outspoken antislavery lecturer, writer, and publisher. Containing approximately 7,400 items (38,000 images), it spans the years 1841-1964, with the bulk of the material dating from 1862 to 1865. It is organized by series: diaries, family papers, general correspondence, subject interests, speech/article/books, financial papers, legal files, miscellany, and scrapbooks.

A cooperative venture of Stanford University, the King Center, and the King Estate, the Institute contains information on the King Papers and a link to King Resources, a database with the archival locations of King-related documents, a King Encyclopedia, ancillary Institute publications, and recommended readings.

The papers span the years 1866-2006, with the bulk of the material dating from 1955 to 2000. They document many aspects of Parks's private life and public activism on behalf of civil rights for African Americans.

Materials written by or pertaining to W.E.B. Du Bois, collected by James Aronson, who was executive editor of the "National Guardian" from 1948 to 1967. Includes correspondence, speeches by Du Bois in published form, articles by Du Bois, biographical sketches and tribute articles about Du Bois, photographs, and newspaper clippings.