Race, Inclusion & Society

Examines the history, operation, and legacy of the federal Indian Boarding School system.

Listen to audio recordings of prominent Hispanic writers including Nobel Laureates reading from their works at the Library of Congress. The archive dates back to 1943 and contains nearly 700 recordings of poets and prose writers. To date, writers from 32 countries are represented in this collection which includes readings in Spanish, Portuguese, Catalan, French, Náhuatl, Zapotec, Aymara, English and Dutch.

MLK's famous speech on YouTube video.

The powerful, prophetic speech he made to a packed church in Memphis, Tennessee, on 3 April 1968, just a day before he was assassinated.

Library of Congress audio collection that consists of "stock" arrangements for bands or small orchestras of popular songs written by African Americans. Some of the music of this period, including that composed by African-Americans, features words, phrases, and "dialect" portrayals that can be considered offensive and demeaning.

The collection consists of approximately 344 sound recordings, 14,141 photographs, 269 folders of manuscript materials, 2 video-recordings, publications, ephemera, administrative files, and field notes produced and collected during the 1977 Chicago Ethnic Arts Project field survey from 1976-1981. The Library of Congress collection was sponsored by American Folklife Center and the Illinois Arts Council.

An online presentation of an ethnographic field collection documenting religious and secular music of Spanish-speaking residents of rural Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado. Documents alabados (hymns), folk drama, wedding songs, and dance tunes along with manuscript materials and publications authored by Rael which provide insight into the rich musical heritage and cultural traditions of this region.

The sound recordings include 44 wax cylinder recordings made in the 1890s along with songs, spoken word segments made during visits to the annual Omaha pow-wow.

The Paris Exposition of 1900 devoted a building to matters of "social economy." The United States section of the building featured an exhibit that, according to W. E. B. Du Bois, attempted to show "(a) The history of the American Negro. (b) His present condition. (c) His education. (d) His literature."

Provides almost 350 images showing African Americans and related military and social history. The Civil War era is the primary time period covered, with scattered examples through 1945. Subjects of special note include Sojourner Truth, Buffalo Soldiers, fugitive slaves, former slave children from New Orleans, and freed slaves at Seabrook Plantation in South Carolina.

Photographic images capture the forces of western settlement in South Dakota and Wyoming and document its effects on the area's indigenous communities. The collection includes a visual record of railroad development, coaches and wagons, mining, smeltering, and milling, freighting, emerging cities and towns, parades, cattle roundups and branding, sheepherding, prospecting, hunting, and Chinese immigrants, as well as landscapes. A number of the images portray the Lakota Sioux living on or near the Cheyenne River and the Pine Ridge reservations and their contact with U.S. military and government agents, and with William "Buffalo Bill" Cody. Some of the photographs were taken only days after the 1890 massacre at Wounded Knee near Pine Ridge.

Recorded by a team of journalists fascinated by the overlapping themes of race, ethnicity and culture, how they play out in our lives and communities, and how all of this is shifting.

Using science and storytelling, Hidden Brain reveals the unconscious patterns that drive human behavior, and the biases that shape our choices.

Features new stories and perspectives about race, gender and Muslim life in America.

Conversations about everything from pop culture to art and identity politics.

Although no longer actively recording episodes, the show's catalog remains available for listening. Represent is a space for discussion, highlighting movies, TV, and online shows created by and/or about women, people of color, people with disabilities, and those in the LGBTQ community.

Covers everything that American Muslims are talking about right now — misrepresentation in the media, equality in the mosque, Asahd memes, and much more.

Challenges the narratives about where we’re from, where we belong, and where we’re going — by telling Asian America’s stories.

Intimate, funny conversations with all kinds of artists who (mostly) aren’t white dudes.

Musings on politics, pop culture, and black gay life.