Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Articles Using Library Resources
E-Journals Available through the Library
The Library provides electronic access to a number of Social Justice oriented journals. To access these journals, use the Library's E-Journal Search. Search by title, ISSN, or keyword.
Alternatively, try searching the Catalog. After you have entered your search term and retrieved the results, be sure to limit to journals by checking the "journals" box under on the right side of the results page under "Material Type."
Note: If you are off campus and not already logged into the University of Detroit Mercy system, you will be prompted to log in to access the journal.
The University of Detroit Mercy Library provides access to articles from newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, and other resources through through subscriptions to more than 240 electronic databases. These resources are accessible to our students, faculty, and staff both on and off campus (off campus users will be asked to log in). Visitors to our Library may access many of these resources.
Scroll further down the page to find additional Social Justice-related databases.
Academic Search Complete [Ebsco]
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Also includes monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Alt-Press Watch™ showcases unique, independent voices from many respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. The database features over 670,000 articles from around 200 publications, offering a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news. All of these varied alternative and independent presses are presented in 100% full text, allowing researchers total access to both regional and metropolitan perspectives on local, national, and international issues. Providing an alternative to corporate controlled media, the Alt-Press Watch database presents big stories from small sources.
Criminal Justice Database [Proquest]
This collection of 700 titles is useful for legal, pare-legal and security studies, and for a career in Homeland Security.
Education Source [Ebsco]
Full text journals, books and conference papers for the educator
Abstract and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full text.
Supports the study and application of education across all levels including early childhood, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
Full text legal journals & case studies
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology, and population studies. It includes hundreds of full text scholarly journals as well as dissertations and other sources.
the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world. Includes coverage from The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, the Detroit Free Press, and the Detroit News.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis.
Black Thought and Culture
Contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African American authors. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
Environment Complete [Ebsco]
Full text database in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy & related fields of study
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impact a broad spectrum of subject areas. With archival material dating back to 1970 GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and changes in gender roles over the years.
Reference Latina [Ebsco]
Spanish language full text database including reference sources & general interest magazines