Skip to main content
University of Detroit Mercy logo

Social Justice: Welcome

Start your Social Justice research here.

Welcome to the McNichols Campus Library

McNichols Campus Library
4001 W. McNichols Rd.
Detroit, MI 48221-3038

313-993-1795 (main)
313-993-1071 (research)
refdesk@udmercy.edu

University Archives and Digital Special Collections

The University Archives and Digital Special Collections hasdigitized resources that may be of interest to students and scholars of Social Justice. If you have any questions about the Archives and Special Collections, please contact Pat Higo at higopa@udmercy.edu.

Social Justice Overview

 

Welcome to the Social Justice research guide. Here you will find resources to help you begin and further your social justice research, including books, eBooks, articles, websites and more.

Social justice is an umbrella term for a concept that seeks to end social injustice. It seeks to end discrimination against vulnerable populations, including discrimination based on identities such as race, gender, sexual orientation, age, religion, and disability, to name a few.

Social injustice against these populations may take the form of racism, sexism, homophobia, anti-semitism, ageism, and ableism, again, to name a few. Poverty, segregation, violence, homelessness, food insecurity, wage gaps, and poor health outcomes are just some of the potential outcomes of these injustices.

Economic and Environmental Justice overlap with Social Justice. You may find related resources here. If you do not find what you are looking for, please contact the Librarian listed on this page.


 

Don't Miss These New Resources

The Social Justice Guide is updated occasionally. To find out what is new in our collection and in local Social Justice-related efforts, be sure to check these pages. The Article Databases provide access to the latest news and information.

Librarian

Rebecca Tull's picture
Rebecca Tull
Contact:
McNichols Campus Library
4001 W. McNichols Rd.
Detroit, MI 48221-3038
tullrs@udmercy.edu
313-993-1077

Social Justice Related LibGuides at the Library

These LibGuides may also be of interest to students of Social Justice.