Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Social Justice Topics
Welcome to the Topics in Social Justice LibGuide. Here you will find a selection of Social Justice-related bibliographic resources formerly found in the Library's (legacy) Subject Guides (same information, new look here).
Take a moment to scroll through the page to see what is here.
- General works and philosophy
- Activism, Political Participation and Social Movements
- Church and Social Problems
- Civil and Human Rights
- Economic Justice and Social Responsibility of Business
- Racism and Discrimination
General Social Justice Works and Philosophy
Becoming Free by
Publication Date: 2001-03-08
Reexamines the liberal tradition to reconcile its core commitments to autonomy and diversity--values that in theory are complementary but in practice are often at odds--and to show that the interaction of these values determines how we as individuals become free. Argues that true freedom is enhanced through the promotion of diversity and the encouragement of rational reflection on the options it allows--and that limited choice or ignorance diminishes such freedom.
Frontiers of Justice by
Publication Date: 2006-01-31
Seeks to extend the idea of the social contract--a contract for mutual advantage among approximate equals--to address questions of social justice posed by unequal partners such as those with physical and mental disabilities, all citizens of the world, and nonhuman animals. Exploring the limitations of the social contract in these three areas, Nussbaum devises an alternate theory based on the ida of "capabiities".
Living Justice by
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
Based on the broad tradition of Catholic social teaching and rooted in scripture, tradition, and lving examples of holiness, LIving Justice looks at contemporary issues and our responses to them.
New Egalitarianism by
Publication Date: 2005-08-05
This book offers an account of the dynamic and multi-faceted nature of contemporary inequality, and lays out how these inequalities can be countered. It proposes a fresh agenda for social change through a 'new egalitarianism'--an approach to equality consistent with the demands of a post-modern economy and society.
Progressive Politics in the Global Age by
Publication Date: 2001-12-21
What are the principles which should shape the progressive reform agenda of the 21st century? Social and political theorists discuss the growth of corporate power, the alienation of citizens from political discourse, the key progressive ideals needed to guide effective reforms and possible policy options. They argue that globalization is creating new forms of instability and injustice which can only be rectified by action across national boundaries. Together they set out how progressive politics should respond to the social, economic and environmental challenges of the global age
Respecting Persons in Theory and Practice by
Publication Date: 2002-02-18
The essays in this collection share a consistent theme running through much of Narveson's moral and political philosophy, namely that politics and morals stem from the interests of individual people, and have no antecedent authority over us. The essays in this collection, in various ways and as applied to various aspects of the scene, argue that the ultimate and true point of politics and morals is to enable us to make our lives better, according to our varied senses of what that might mean.
Why Social Justice Matters by
Publication Date: 2005-03-04
Argues that really putting into practice ideas such as "equal opportunity" and "personal responsibility" requires a fundamental transformation of almost all existing institutions. Proposes a number of policies to achieve a more equal society and argues that they are economically feasible. Radical changes in our way of life are unavoidable; whether these changes are for better or for worse depends partly on the availability of a coherent set of principles and a program flowing from them that is capable of mobilizing the growing discontent with "business as usual".
Activism, Political Participation and Social Movements
The Art of Protest by
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Reveals the importance of social movements to American culture and the power of activism as it continues to remake our world.
Publication Date: 2005-11-15
Jane Addams was the first American woman to receive the Nobel Peace Prize. This covers her early years from 1860-1899, revealing her early development as a political activist and social philosopher. In Citizen, we observe the powerful mind of a woman encountering the radical ideas of her age, most notably the ever-changing meanings of democracy.
Collaborations for Social Justice by
Publication Date: 2007-06-15
The importance of community empowerment in advancing public policy cannot be underestimated. Collaborations for Social Justice provides powerful examples of how professionals have successfully mobilized the public. Written primarily for students, academics, and lawyers, this book bridges the widely publicized gap between professional advocates and grassroots organizations. The authors demonstrate that participation on the part of professionals in the process of empowerment of low-income communities is transformative and enriching for everyone affected.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by
Publication Date: 2004-08-31
This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice. (Available online)
Feminism and Antiracism by
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
This anthology bridges the gaps between feminist and anti-racist theories and practices. The essays deal with racial and gender inequality around the globe, tackling such issues as political and environmental racism, imprisonment, sexual exploitation and economic inequality.
Fronteras No Mas by
Publication Date: 2003-05-02
Treats the U.S.-Mexico border as an opportune space in which residents address their common interests in a clean environment, better wages and trade, and respect for human rights. Offers a civic blueprint on ways to enhance cooperation, given the continuing interdependence of this North American space at the border.
How to Change the World by
Publication Date: 2004-02-05
Profiles nine champions of social change who developed innovative ways to address needs they saw around them. Presents unifying summaries of "four practices of innovative organizations" and "six qualities of successful social entrepreneurs."
Journeys That Opened up the World by
Publication Date: 2003-09-10
Contains memoirs from sixteen women active in the civil rights movement, anti-war campaigns, and the rise of feminism in the Cold War era. It places religious activism at the center of social movements previously thought of as largely secular.
The Moral Vision of Cesar Chavez by
Publication Date: 2003-02-01
Explores the life and works of the prophetic leader of California's United Farm Workers as the embodiment of an integrated Catholic social vision.
A Promise and a Way of Life by
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
Looks at white Americans who have struggled against racism, offering examples of both successes and failures, inspirations, practical philosophies, and a way ahead.
Representing Resistance by
Publication Date: 2003-09-30
Suggests that globalization is supplanting Cold War ideology, and they critiques mainstream news media coverage of civil disobedience. Explores the "new activism" of social movement groups who use performance and media to appeal directly to the people in promoting their causes, fundraising, and recruitment.
Stick Your Neck Out by
Publication Date: 2005-05-15
A guide to the skills, qualities, and strategies needed to make a difference, covering every aspect of working for change--from choosing an issue to mapping out a plan, creating a vision of success, organizing a team, building trust, resolving conflcts, working with the media, moving through bureaucracies, setting legal strategies, and more.
The Troublemaker's Teaparty by
Publication Date: 2003-06-01
A complete how-to guide for people who want to make a difference beyond their personal lives. Written for individuals and small groups with few resources, it answers everything from the basic questions of organizing to the latest techniques for winning public interest campaigns.
Whites Confront Racism by
Publication Date: 2001-08-21
Asserts the distinctive place that whites can take in the fight for racial justice, bringing together interviews with white antiracist activists from across North America.
Church and Social Problems
Beyond Violence by
Publication Date: 2004-06-22
The fruit of a historic conference of Jewish, Christian, and Muslim scholars and community leaders, the essays address a fundamental question: how the three monotheistic traditions can provide the resources needed in the work of justice and reconciliation.
Catholic Social Teaching, 1891-Present by
Publication Date: 2002-03-30
Charles E. Curran offers the first comprehensive analysis and criticism of the development of modern Catholic social teaching from the perspective of theology, ethics, and church history.
Christianity, Social Change, and Globalization in the Americas by
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
Contributors from the fields of religion, anthropology, political science, and sociology draw on fieldwork in Peru, El Salvador, and the United States to show the interplay of economic globalization, migration, and growing religious pluralism in Latin America.
Christians in Society by
Publication Date: 2001-07-28
Studies how Luther's principles of biblical interpretation fueled his understanding of the churchs life and mission. Challenges contemporary Christians to affirm common biblical ground for theological ethics and to facilitate more public social witness.
Dictionary of Ethics, Theology and Society by
Publication Date: 1995-12-18
Illustrates "aspects of what might be called the `Western mind'" through an interdisciplinary focus. Essays detail the history of the topic and its relevance to modern thought and practice.
Doing Faithjustice by
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
A fresh perspective on the action necessary to implement Catholic social teaching.
Failing America's Faithful by
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
ducator and philanthropist Kennedy Townsend documents how America's churches have been in the forefront of the fight for social progress: from the struggle for independence, to the abolitionist movement, to the support of women's suffrage, better working conditions, and civil rights. And she shows how today's churches, allied with the political right, have become obsessed with fighting legal and legislative battles about personal and private issues, while the neediest are forgotten.
Handbook of U. S. Theologies of Liberation by
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
Thematic Essays that provide a general overview of a specific theological theme from the perspectives of different marginalized groups; and Contextual Essays that focus on the specific contributions of scholars from various racial, ethnic, and gender backgrounds.
Just Peacemakers by
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Describes societal problems, and gives methods and means toward resolution. Each chapter is designed for personal study and also for use by groups. This is a useful guide for those involved or interested in social justice and the Christian call to discipleship.
Rediscovering Abundance by
Publication Date: 2005-11-30
,,, useful in business ethics courses, as well as to ethicists, pastors, practitioners in the business community, and anyone interested in the question of how a capitalist economy can create and distribute wealth in a way that benefits the common good.
Regulating Religion by
Publication Date: 2003-12-31
Presents a global examination of how a number of contemporary societies are regulating religious groups. It focuses on legal efforts to exert social control over such groups, especially through court cases, but also with selected major legislative attempts to regulate them. Includes Western and Eastern Europe, Asia, Oceania, and the Americas.
Vital Christianity by
Publication Date: 2005-08-23
This volume provides both a critique of the persistent division between spirit and body in the contemporary church and constructive, theologically responsible suggestions for overcoming that bifurcation. While a number of fine books rooted in the Roman Catholic tradition have addressed this issue, to our knowledge no companion work exists that is written largely from a Protestant perspective. Employing sensitivity to the sources of the Christian tradition as well as the practice of discipleship in the real world, the contributors to this volume seek solid ground on which to build bridges between spirituality and social justice.
Civil and Human Rights
Backlash Against the ADA by
Publication Date: 2003-03-26
In this book, a distinguished group of disability activists, disability rights lawyers, social scientists and humanities scholars grapple with these questions. Taken together, these essays construct and illustrate a new and powerful theoretical model of socio-legal change and retrenchment that can inform both the conceptual and theoretical work of scholars and the day-to-day practice of social justice activists.
Children's Human Rights by
Publication Date: 2005-06-22
Original essays from a variety of academic and practitioner perspectives on human rights and the status of children.
Explorations in Privilege, Oppression and Diversity by
Publication Date: 2004-06-28
Become a more effective practitioner with EXPLORATION IN PRIVILEGE, OPPRESSION AND DIVERSITY! Featuring mental health practitioners' and faculty members' personal stories, this counseling text will help you learn how to recognize, struggle with, and accept your own privilege. Each reading provides practice implications that show you the direct application of the issue raised while discussion questions give you the opportunity to process the issues on a personal level. By studying the true stories that reveal these professionals' insights and understanding, you will in turn become a stronger and more successful practitioner.
Fight Against Fear by
Publication Date: 2001-04-23
Focuses on the relationship between Jews and African Americans during the stuggle for civil rights in the Southern United States.
Globalizing Democracy and Human Rights by
Publication Date: 2004-08-02
Carol Gould addresses the fundamental issue of democratizing globalization, or finding ways to open transnational institutions and communities to democratic participation by those widely affected by their decisions. Gould develops a framework for expanding participation in cross-border decisions, arguing for a broader understanding of human rights. In addition, she introduces a new role for the ideas of care and solidarity at a distance.
Health and Social Justice by
Publication Date: 2003-11-10
Draws on the growing body of recent literature to offer a comprehensive collection of articles written by a panel of expert contributors who represent a broad range of fields sociology, epidemiology, public health, ecology, politics, organizing, and advocacy. Each article explores a particular aspect of health inequalities and demonstrates how the sources of health inequalities are rooted in injustices associated with racism, social class, and sex discrimination.
The Jewish Tradition by
Publication Date: 2005-06-30
Covering a wide span of history, this set includes volumes on Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, and Buddhism.
Human Rights in Japan, South Korea and Taiwan by
Publication Date: 2002-03-29
Ian Neary looks in detail at the history of the introduction of human rights ideas into Japan, South Korea and Taiwan and examines how, and to what effect, state and society have incorporated the specific international standards on childrens' and patients' rights into legal systems and social practice. This comprehensively researched, accessibly written book will be a valuable resource for students and scholars of Asian studies, human rights, sociology and politics.
Human Rights Violations by
Publication Date: 2002-12-01
A history of both the denials and advances of human rights in the 20th century as seen through different events.
I Have a Dream by
Publication Date: 2004-08-31
In celebration of the fortieth anniversary of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s "I Have a Dream" speech, this volume demonstrates the enduring significance of his words as the clearest societal vision ever portrayed of what America can and should be.
Invisible Punishment by
Publication Date: 2002-10-10
Focuses on social and material consequences for the families and communities of the more than 47 million Americans who have federal or state criminal records.
Legalisation of Human Rights by
Publication Date: 2005-11-11
This book is essential reading for those wishing to develop a clear understanding of the relationship between human rights ideals and laws and for those working toward the fostering of a genuine ;human rights culture.
Pathologies of Power by
Publication Date: 2003-04-25
Describes how the "structural violence" of denied opportunities, economic deprivation, violent despots (and the powers supporting them), and international financial organizations harm the health of billions of people
Perspectives on Health and Human Rights by
Publication Date: 2005-04-13
A collection of articles reflecting a shared perspectve that health is largely influenced by the environments in which people live and that we need to bring more attention to reducing the gaps between those who enjoy higher standards of health and quality services and those who, for a mix of civil, political, economic, social or cultural reasons, are more vulnerable to ill-health and to inadequate access to health-related services.
Resisting Racism and Xenophobia by
Publication Date: 2005-09-15
A collection of essays focusing on the intersections between race, gender, sexuality, class, and nationality that exert a huge influence on human rights conflicts around the world.
Respect and Rights by
Publication Date: 2002-09-04
Explores changing public attitudes, the causes and consequences of group disrepect and proposes an agenda for action to expand group respect.
Social Justice by
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Confronts foundational issues about health and justice. Develops a theory of social justice that, while developed for the specific contexts of public health and health policy, can be applied in other relams of social policy.
Taking Liberties by
Publication Date: 2002-12-19
Memoir of the author's forty years of working for human rights.
The Torture Papers: The Road to Abu Ghraib
Consists of memos and reports written by U.S. government officials concerning interrogation techniques in Afghanistan, Guantánamo, and Abu Ghraib. (Available electronically.)
Understanding Global Slavery by
Publication Date: 2005-11-07
Understanding slavery today -- Slavery and the human right to evil -- No one shall be held in slavery or servitude : a critical analysis of international slavery agreements -- Slavery and the emergence of non-governmental organizations -- The challenge of measuring slavery -- Globalization and redemption -- Human trafficking : a worldwide concern -- Understanding the demand behind human trafficking -- Coda : three steps to stopping slavery (and four things you can do right away).
Universal Human Rights in Theory and Practice by
Publication Date: 2002-10-30
In a thoroughly revised edition, Donnelly elaborates a theory of human rights, addresses arguments of cultural relativism, and explores the efficacy of bilateral and multilateral international action. Entirely new chapters address prominent post-Cold War issues including humanitarian intervention, democracy and human rights, "Asian values," group rights, and discrimination against sexual minorities.
A Voice for Human Rights by
Publication Date: 2005-12-22
An annotated collection of Robinson's speeches, given between 1997 and 2002, when she served as the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights.
We Are All Suspects Now by
Publication Date: 2005-09-15
Reveals the human cost of the domestic war on teror and examines the impact of post-9/11 policies on people targeted because of immigration status, nationality, race, and religion.
White Supremacy and Racism in the Post-Civil Rights Era by
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
Discusses the history of discrimination in the United States, that in many cases beliefs have not changed but have just been moved underground, and that institutional racism still plays a role in society.
Economic Justice and Social Responsibility of Business
Against the Third Way by
Publication Date: 2001-06-11
The Third Way is the political philosophy of Tony Blair and New Labour in Britain, Bill Clinton in the United States, and Gerhard Schr�der in Germany. Defended most forcefully by Anthony Giddens, it claims to offer a strategy for renewing the Centre Left that avoids the free-market liberalism of the New Right and the state socialism of the Old Left. Callinicos develops a fundamental critique of this philosophy, arguing that Third Way governments have continued the neoliberal policies of their conservative predecessors, allowing social and economic inequality to continue growing.
Beyond the Bottom Line by
Publication Date: 2000-09-30
Analyzes the contribution of business people who use their business to develop and promote an idealistic social vision. Provides eleven case studies of contemporary innovators from six countries and an historical analysis of this phenomenon. (Also available electronically.)
Corporate Social Responsibility by
Publication Date: 2004-12-13
Provides best practices and cutting-edge ideas on ways and means for corporations to maximize contributions to social issues and to know what good they did.
Publication Date: 2003-11-25
Argues that we must move away from top-down visions of the processes at work and concentrate on how ordinary people who are locked out of power structures create "globalities" of their own. (Also available electronically.)
The End of Poverty by
Publication Date: 2005-03-15
Offers keys to economic success in the world today and the steps that are necessry to achieve prosperity for all. Describes solving the problem of poverty as a matter of both moral obigation and strategic self-interest of the rich countries.
Environmental Protection and the Social Responsibility of Firms by
Publication Date: 2005-04-06
Do firms have social responsibilities to commit resources voluntarily to environmental protection? Some of the nation's leading scholars in law, economics, and business examine commonly accepted assumptions at the heart of current debates on corporate social responsibility and provide a foundation for future research and policymaking.
Growth and Empowerment by
Publication Date: 2005-03-04
Proposes a new strategy for development on two interrelated approaches: building a climate that encourages investment and growth and at the same time empowering poor people to participate in that growth. Sees economic development as a dynamic process of continuous change in which entrepreneurship, innovation, flexibility, and mobility are crucial components, and the idea of empowerment, as both a goal and a driver of development, is crucial.
In Pursuit of Equity by
Publication Date: 2001-09-20
Examines not just women's employment history, but also the forces that have shaped economic policy for the past 100 years. Reveals the subtle shifts in language that marked progress for women and changed the work landscape by looking at crucial pieces of legislation and important court cases. Describes the effects of legislation that gave many middle-class women economic freedom, but had unforeseen negative consequences for poor women and women of color.
The Invisible Heart by
Publication Date: 2001-04-01
A reevaluation of the competitive market that explains why Adam Smith's "invisible hand" if it reaches too far, can undermine the "invisible heart"--the values of love, reciprocity, and obligation on which our families and communities depend. Addresses a basic problem in our society, balancing economic pursuits with care for others. Outlines strategies for developing an economic system that rewards both individual achievement and care for others.
Managing As If Faith Mattered by
Publication Date: 2001-08-07
Argues for integration of the principles and values contained in Christian social teaching with management theory.
The Myth of Ownership by
Publication Date: 2004-11-18
Explores tax policy from the standpoint of contemporary moral and political philosophy.
The Market for Virtue by
Publication Date: 2005-07-21
Provides a comprehensive analysis of the contemporary corporate social responsiblity movement in both the United States and Europe.
The New Geography of Global Income Inequality by
Publication Date: 2003-04-30
Maintains that income inequality for the world peaked in the late twentieth century and is now heading downward because of declining income inequality across nations. Furthermore, as income inequality declines across nations, it is rising within nations (though not as rapidly as it is declining across nations). Firebaugh claims that this historic transition represents a new geography of global income inequality in the twenty-first century.
Resource Rebels by
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
Native peoples and their allies work to protect the world's remaining natural resources from corporate greed.
Rich Country, Poor Country by
Publication Date: 2005-04-30
Builds the case for multinational corporations to take an active role in combating poverty around the world. Argues that huge corporate entities not only have the wherewithal but an obligation to alleviate the suffering that results from a lack of economic resources and opportunity. Presents a theoretical and practical framework for multinationals to stimulate economic development in the Third World--providing access to capital, entrepreneurial expertise, and emerging technologies.
The Role of Business in Fostering Peaceful Societies by
Publication Date: 2004-11-11
Offers a fresh approach to understanding responsible business practice. Contends that not only does business benefit from a peaceful environment but it can in fact effectively foster peace through adopting responsible and open working methods. Shows how companies can encourage collaborative working across borders, discourage corruption and create citizenship and problem-solving practices which tend to reduce violence and increase social harmony.
Against the Dead Hand by
Publication Date: 2002-01-04
Lindsey puts international integration into historical context by stating that today's period of globalization has a precursor in the free markets and economic integration of the mid-19th century. For much of the 20th century, the invisible hand of the market gave way, he writes, to the dead hand of the state. While that changed when large parts of the world emerged from communism and statism, Lindsey maintains that the effects of state ownership, price controls, trade barriers and other leftovers from the statist era still grossly impede the global economy.
Alternatives to Economic Globalization by
Publication Date: 2004-10-10
Conflicting worldviews -- Design for corporate rule -- The unholy trinity : the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund, and the World Trade Organization -- Ten principles for sustainable societies -- Reclaiming the commons : what should be off-limits to globalization? -- Subsidiarity : recalling power from the global -- Alternative operating systems -- Corporate structure and power -- New international structures -- Global to local : what you can do.
The Amoral Elephant by
Publication Date: 2001-03-26
Beyond Solidarity by
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
An argument for a sharable morality in a world increasingly fractured along lines of difference. Gunn asks how human solidarity can be reconceived when its expressions have become increasingly exceptionalist and outmoded, and when the pressures of globalization divide as much as they unify. He finds the terms for answering these questions in a more inclusive, cosmopolitan pragmatism--one willing to explore fundamental values without recourse to absolutist arguments.
The Collapse of Globalism by
Publication Date: 2005-09-22
Maintains that globalization is dead, leaving a situation where, instead of surrendering or sharing sovereignty, governments and citizens are reasserting their national interests.
Publication Date: 2003-11-25
Argues that we must move away from top-down visions of the processes at work and concentrate on how ordinary people who are locked out of power structures create "globalities" of their own.
Global Shaping and Its Alternatives by
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Global Shaping and Its Alternatives offers a unique series of reflections on the connections between market capitalism, the politics of alternatives, and the cultural elaboration of social change. It argues that there is a need for an alternative explanatory framework on globalization - one that rejects fatalism and that highlights the dynamic roles of states, NGOs, local fractions of capital, democratic movements and gendered social relations. Without understanding how global shaping is taking place and how it affects human life across the globe, there can be no transformational possibility for humanizing our conditions of existence.
Publication Date: 2001-09-05
Argues that the opening decade of the 21st century will constitute a teeming battlefield of clashing ideologies. After identifying and evaluating the five central claims of globalism--including assertions that globalization is inevitable, nobody is in charge of globalization, and globalization benefits everyone--Steger offers an overview of the counterclaims made by anti-globalist forces.
Globalization and Social Movements by
Publication Date: 2001-10-16
Explores how globalization affects social movements in different countries.
Globalization and Society by
Publication Date: 2003-12-30
As the studies presented in this book show, integration in the world system may benefit a given society or may harm it; it may entail changes to a society's culture, but does not obliterate a society's distinctive characteristics.
Globalization and the Good by
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Papers by a group of noted academics, religious leaders and business people to discuss the contexts and challenges present in the modern phenomenon of globalization.
Globalization and Anti-Globalization by
Publication Date: 2002-07-01
Studies the evidence about globalization, assessing global trends, issues of governance, culture, the economy, patterns of inequality and global ethics in relation to the contending claims and counterclaims of the principal positions in the globalization debate. Proposes a new political agenda for the twenty-first century, a global covenant of cosmopolitan social democracy.
The Globalization Gap by
Publication Date: 2004-07-16
The revolt of the rich -- Time versus opportunity -- Who the rich are and how they live -- Pyramids of opportunity -- Corporate wealth and hedging -- The global speed trap : diversifying to ward off losses and old age -- Why the poor are where they are -- A passage through India -- Poverty traps -- Origins of the rules of globalization -- How the rules rule the poor -- Global crises we will all face -- A blueprint for sharing opportunity.
Globalization, Poverty and Inequality by
Publication Date: 2005-09-23
Challenges the conventional belief that global poverty is residual and will be corrected as globalization deepens by arguing instead that globalization and poverty are relational, and that the workings of the global system condemn many to poverty.
Globalization under Construction by
Publication Date: 2003-10-22
Asks the questions: What are the rationalities of government implicit in global modernity's project of mobilizing space, time, and difference? And what difference does it make to the globalization debates to put those rationalities in the foreground of critical analysis? Altogether, the work attempts to discern in the disparateness of contemporary events an emerging pattern of governmentality, techniques of governance and assemblages of intersecting arguments about the history of the present and the nature of the future that our present portends.
Globalization Unmasked by
Publication Date: 2001-07-31
Contends that globalization is not new. Capitalism over the past 100 years has experienced periodic waxings and wanings of its tendency to integrate economies worldwide. Argues that globalization was created by deliberate policies put in place by powerful states under the control of dominant classes, and that it is not a structural part of the capitalist system, it is instead an ideological smokescreen used to divert attention away from the resurgence of imperialist powers.
Winners and Losers in Globalization by
Publication Date: 2006-01-10
Objectively and dispassionately illuminates the emotionally charged globalization debate; Acknowledges that the costs and benefits of globalization will not be distributed evenly; Details the economic effects of globalization on individuals, governments, nation-states and business; Assesses the impact of globalization on both labor markets and financial markets, on global economic growth and on income distribution and real convergence between different national economies.
Globalizing Women by
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Explains how the negative and positive aspects of globalization have helped to create transnational networks of activists and organizations with common agenda.
Healing a Broken World by
Publication Date: 2002-08-08
Maintains that the model of economic globalization threatens Earth's life systems, cultural integrity and diversity, and that as a society we acquiesce to the prvailing form of globalization, failing to consider seriously the long-term social and ecological implications of economic globalization, resist it, and forge alternatives.
People Before Profit by
Publication Date: 2002-12-03
A critique of the increasing trend toward globalization. Derber believes we can still change globalization's direction, eliminating its market-driven excesses to provide truly universal economic development. The goals he proposes include ending global poverty, promoting local democracy and culture, making businesses socially accountable and creating a framework for genuinely collective peace and stability.
The Politics of Globalization by
Publication Date: 2002-12-01
Surveys and analyzes the many understandings of globalization, rooted in traditional and emerging theories. Considers different definitions of globalization, and explores several specific globalizing processes. While much of the emphasis is on political changes wrought by economic trends (for example trade and international capital flows), other forces such as cultural changes, issues of identity, etc. are also discussed. Evidence of changes in each of these areas is presented, and political consequences discussed.
Postmodernism Is Not What You Think by
Publication Date: 2005-08-15
Maintains that the former nationalistic world-system has collapsed and is slowly being replaced by a more global set of structures.
Representing Resistance by
Publication Date: 2003-09-30
Suggests that globalization is supplanting Cold War ideology and critiques mainstream news media coverage of civil disobedience. Explores the "new activism" of social movement groups who use performance and media to appeal directly to the people in promoting their causes, fundraising, and recruitment.
Seeking Social Justice Through Globalization by
Publication Date: 2001-10-23
Seeks to clarify how globalization is to be understood and evaluated as a "good" or "bad" thing. Maintains that a proper evaluation requires historical self-awareness, both of the historical background of globalization itself and of the historical origins of the very norms by which such evaluations are made. (Also available electronically.)
A Social Theory of the WTO by
Publication Date: 2003-08-19
Uses a social theory or constructivist approach to show that developing countries played a critical role in strengthening multilateralism in the World Trade Organization. By adopting a new role in trade negotiations during the Uruguay Round negotiations, developing countries helped to strengthen trade rules and change the trading culture of limited multilateralism.
There Is an Alternative by
Publication Date: 2001-10-01
A group of distinguished authors explore the "defeatist myth" that �there is no alternative� to corporate sponsored globalization. Theoreticians and activists from feminist, environmental, anti-imperialist and anti-racist struggles across five continents report on existing community-based initiatives, and demonstrate how we can all defy the creed of corporate globalization.
The Twenty-First Century Confronts Its Gods by
Publication Date: 2004-09-09
Maintains that the secular West has its gods--such as market capitalism--and that veneration of these contributes to the cultural and religious unrest of our time.
The World Is Flat by
Publication Date: 2005-04-05
... Friedman explains how the flattening of the world happened at the dawn of the twenty-first century; what it means to countries, companies, communities, and individuals; and how governments and societies can, and must, adapt. The World Is Flat is the timely and essential update on globalization, its successes and discontents, powerfully illuminated by one of our most respected journalists.
Racism and Discrimination
The Heart of Whiteness by
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Power, Race, and Culture by
Publication Date: 2005-06-07
Examines race and race relations in the United States. Encourages readers to think about their histories in terms of social development, and to make their own observations about arace.
Urban Injustice by
Publication Date: 2002-09-03
Presents a history of the inner city, an analysis of the social forces that made it inevitable, and a description of poverty programs since the New Deal that were more successful than most realize at attaining the goals set out for them--modest ones for the poor, more ambitious ones for the middle class and wealthy.
White Like Me by
Publication Date: 2004-12-21
Activist, lecturer and director of the new Association for White Anti-Racist Education (AWARE), Wise works from anecdote rather than academic argument to recount his path to greater cultural awareness in a colloquial, matter-of-fact quasi-memoir that urges white people to fight racism "for our own sake."