Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering: New Books 2019-20

(ebook) A collection of essays that present the challenges of providing adequate, reliable, affordable, and clean water supplies to communities around the world.

Introduces the equations and formulae that are most important to air pollution, including examples of how these equations and formulae apply to the quantification of real-world scenarios and conditions.

This text offers comprehensive and principled, yet practical, guidelines for resilience of critical infrastructures including buildings and bridges, dams, levees, and sea walls, as well as power plants and chemical factories, transportation networks, and wastewater.

(ebook) Reviews procedures for conducting flow, transport, and reaction simulations using computational fluid dynamics along with specific practical examples of water, wastewater, and stormwater treatment applications.

(eBook)  Explores sustainable design processes, products and value chains. The book also presents all required design steps: from problem definition, synthesis and analysis of potential solutions, to the final solution evaluation. 

(ebook) Scientists offer personal accounts of the challenges, struggles, successes, U-turns, and satisfactions encountered in their careers in industry, academia, and government.

(ebook) Describes the functions and operations of stormwater control measures, offers trouble-shooting suggestions, and provides valuable information on inspection and maintenance procedures.

(ebook) Provides new and non-traditional ways of thinking about Health and Safety, focusing on technological, organizational, and cultural integration.

(ebook) Address the continuously increasing societal, political, economic, and environmental demand for sustainable facilities that minimize risks arising from aging, deterioration, and natural and human-made hazards.

(ebook) Provides successful examples and analysis of the modular operation for energy and fuel recovery and conversion

(ebook) As scientists try to discern what the Earth's changing weather patterns mean for our future, Rachel Rothschild seeks to understand the current scientific and political debates surrounding the environment through the history of another global environmental threat: acid rain.

(ebook) Provides a concise yet comprehensive explanation for the extraordinary growth in wind and solar energy; the trajectory of the transition from fossil fuels to renewables; and the implications for industries, countries, and the climate.

(ebook) This book examines the progress made on the application of risk-based structural evaluation methods (RBsEM) and provides recommendations to help enhance their implementation in engineering practice.

(ebook) Closely explores the resulting environmental impacts from transport planning, construction and the decommissioning of transportation systems.

Presents the science behind predictions for coastal impacts and offers hope in the form of a framework of new national policies and programs to support local and state governments.

Analyzes citizen science (research involving nonprofessionals in the research process), how it can move people toward social change and environmental sustainability, and the tensions and dilemmas that citizen science projects commonly face.

Bridges the gap between principles and techniques of hydraulic engineering systems by presenting various problem and solution scenarios including effective design procedures, equations, tables and graphs, and helpful computer software.

An essential all-in-one introduction, Ethics for Engineers provides in-depth coverage of major ethical theories, professional codes of ethics, and case studies in a single volume.

A fully integrated custom code based on the 2015 International Residential Code. Effective date: February 8, 2016.

This code applies to all buildings except detached one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses up to three stories

Presents key theoretical approaches to issues of sustainability and environmental management, bridging the gap between engineering and environmental science

Journalist Edward Struzik visits scorched earth from Alaska to Maine, and introduces the scientists, firefighters, and resource managers making the case for a radically different approach to managing wildfire in the 21st century.

This expert cost guide gives you materials, equipment and labor costs to develop reliable cost estimates for even the most complex mechanical construction projects.

(print book) Cold War-era FBI files on famous scientists, including Neil Armstrong, Isaac Asimov, Albert Einstein, Richard Feynman, Alfred Kinsey, and Timothy Leary.