Guides: Criminal Justice: Gun Violence

Background Information

Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Guns and Violence
Includes links to academic journal articles, magazine articles, statistics, and opinion pieces on guns and violence.
Points of View Reference Center: Gun Control
Includes an overview on gun control issues as well as links to primary documents, academic journal articles, and magazine articles.

Guns in Law (eBook) by Austin Sarat
ISBN: 9781625344281
Publication Date: 2019
Examines the usefulness of history as a guide in ongoing struggles over gun regulation, the changing meaning of the Second Amendment, the perspective of law enforcement on guns and gun control law, and individual and relational perspectives on gun rights.
Loaded (eBook) by Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz
ISBN: 0872867234
Publication Date: 2018
Uses primary source documents to explore the history of firearms in the United States.
How America Got Its Guns (eBook) by William Briggs
ISBN: 9780826358134
Publication Date: 2017
Balanced and painstakingly unbiased, Briggs's account provides the background needed to follow gun politics in America and to understand the American gun culture.
Reducing Gun Violence in America (eBook) by Daniel W. Webster
ISBN: 9781421411101
Publication Date: 2013
The Johns Hopkins University convened more than 20 of the world's leading experts on gun violence and policy to summarize relevant research and recommend policies that are both constitutional and have broad public support.
The Gun Debate by Philip J. Cook
Call Number: HV 7436 .C657 2014
ISBN: 9780199338986
Publication Date: 2014
Includes information on gun control pertaining to U.S. history, jurisprudence, cultural beliefs, political agendas, epidemiological data, criminology, law and regulation, and policy effectiveness.
The Gun Debate by Glenn Utter
ISBN: 1682171027
Publication Date: 2016
Providing 300-plus entries of in-depth coverage, this encyclopedia is exceptional for its balanced and unbiased approach to this controversial issue.
Guns in American Society by Gregg Lee Carter
ISBN: 9780313386701
Publication Date: 2012
A comprehensive resource on the legal, social, psychological, political, and public health aspects of guns in American life.

Websites

Johns Hopkins Center for Gun Policy and Research
Studies the effects of gun laws, the implementation and enforcement of gun policies and community violence prevention efforts.
Firearms-Control Legislation and Policy
From the Law Library of Congress, includes legal approaches to gun control in various countries around the world.
National Association of Gun Rights
A nonprofit organiation dedicated to preserving and protecting the right to keep and bear arms through aggressive programs designed to mobilize public opposition to anti-gun legislation.
Michigan Coalition to Prevent Gun Violence
This organization works to prevent gun violence through community education and the development of evidence-based policies.
National Rifle Association
includes information on fun rights policy and legislation, firearms training, hunting, competitive shooting.
Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence
the website for this nonprofit gun-control organiziation ncludes information on gun rights litigation and legislation
National Shooting Sports Foundation
This foundations members include manufacturers, distributors, firearms retailers, shooting ranges, sportsmen’s organizations and publishers nationwide.
University of California Firearm Violence Research Center
Research on individual and society detrminants of risk for involvement in firearem violence, and prevention, consequences and treatment of firearm violence at the individual, community and sociietal levels.

Background Information

Learn about gun violence and related social and political issues with these sources:

Guns and Violence (Opposing Viewpoints in Context)
This database includes journal articles, newspaper articles, primary sources, and editorials representing different perspectives on guns and violence.
Gun Control Policy by Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
ISBN: 9780470670286
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Examines some of the controversy surrounding gun control policy, the Second Amendment of the United States Constitution, and the history of gun control policy initiatives.
The Gun Debate: An Encyclopedia of Gun Control & Gun Rights by Glenn Utter
ISBN: 1682171027
Publication Date: 2016
Providing 300-plus entries of in-depth coverage, this encyclopedia is exceptional for its balanced and unbiased approach to this controversial issue.

Public Opinion Polls

Public Opinion

U.S. demographics of gun ownership and public opinion polls on gun safety and gun policy.

Shootnngs, Guns, and Public Opinion -- this webpage from Cornell's Roper Center includes data on Americans' support for stricter gun control laws and how it varies as mass shootings are reported.

Statistics

Includes information on firearms licensing, manufacturing and export, commerce, loss and theft, and registration.

Firearms and Crime Statistics includes links to publications with data on gun-related crime.

"An online archive of gun violence incidents collected from over 7,500 law enforcement, media, government and commercial sources daily," includes unintentional shootings, defensive shootings, mass shootings, shooting injuries, and shooting deaths.

From the CDC, includes firearm mortality by state.

https://publichealth.jhu.edu/sites/default/files/2023-06/2023-june-cgvs-u-s-gun-violence-in-2021.pdf