Guides: Criminal Justice: Find Articles

Databases

Databases

ProQuest Criminal Justice
ProQuest Criminal Justice provides information on the research of crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, litigation and crime trends. Included are U.S. and international scholarly journals on correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material for researchers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Sage Journals
Sage Journals Online includes the full-text of peer reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 24 years, encompassing over 18,000 articles. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Currently there are summaries of more than 215,000 justice and substance abuse resources. Many of the articles are available full text from other UDM databases.
JSTOR
JStor provides full text and scholarly articles in the following disciplines: Area Studies, Arts, Business and Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine and Allied Health, Science and Mathematics, and Social Sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. An additional year of journals published is added annually.
PsycINFO
PsycInfo is produced by the American Psychological Association and provides abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. Ninety-nine percent of the 3.3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s are peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, from 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Wiley Online Library
Click Law & Criminology, click Criminology. Full text is available from at least 2001 (except for new journals) and may go back to the 1970s. Volumes available through UDM are preceded by an OPEN PADLOCK icon.

Citing Articles

Remember to give credit to the original source when you use someone else's work or idea, whether you use a direct quote or paraphrase. Most style guides require some form of citation in the text of your paper as well as at the end in a bibliography or list of references. You should always double-check citations that are automatically generated.

EasyBib: Generates free references for book, articles and websites in APA, Chicago and MLA styles.

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): The Purdue OWL offers detailed instructions and examples of how to write and cite in MLA or APA format.

Criminology-- Current issue

GTD Global Terrorism Database

GTD Global Terrorism Database
While this is not an academic subscription database, you will find very pertinent information about terrorist attacks by group, including filterable statistics.

From the website: "The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2020 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 200,000 cases."