Guides: Criminal Justice: Statistics

BJS Bureau of Justice Statistics

From the website...The Bureau's mission is "to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.. "

Data Collection: National Crime Victimization Survey

Data Collection: National Crime Victimization Survey
From the website: "NCVS is the nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization."

"The survey enables BJS to estimate the likelihood of victimization by rape or sexual assault, robbery, aggravated and simple assault, theft, household burglary, and motor vehicle theft for the population as a whole as well as for segments of the population such as women, the elderly, members of various racial or ethnic groups, city dwellers, and other groups."

BJS Crime & Justice Electronic Data Abstract Spreadsheets

Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool (Clery Stats)

Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool
From the website: " This analysis cutting tool was designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to campus crime and fire data. The data are drawn from the OPE Campus Safety and Security Statistics website database to which crime statistics and fire statistics (as of the 2010 data collection) are submitted annually, via a web-based data collection, by all postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those that participate in federal student aid programs)."

Crime Solutions.gov

Crime Solutions.gov
From the website: We created CrimeSolutions.gov to give practitioners and policymakers information about evidence-based programs and practices in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services. It includes easily understandable ratings based on the evidence that indicates whether a program or practice achieves its goals. 11/14

Death Penalty Information Center

Death Penalty Information Center
From the website: "The Death Penalty Information Center is a national non-profit organization serving the media and the public with analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment. Founded in 1990, the Center promotes informed discussion of the death penalty by preparing in-depth reports, conducting briefings for journalists, and serving as a resource to those working on this issue. The Center releases an annual report on the death penalty, highlighting significant developments and featuring the latest statistics."

The reports date back to 1995.

Defense Security Cooperation Agency

Defense Security Cooperation Agency
Find information on arms sales.

FBI Uniform Crime Reports

FBI Uniform Crime Reports
Featured reports include Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted.

Hate Crime Statistics --FBI

Hate Crime Statistics from the FBI
Congress passed the Hate Crime Statistics Act, 28 U.S.C. § 534, which required the Attorney General to collect data “about crimes that manifest evidence of prejudice based on race, religion, sexual orientation, or ethnicity.”

The Attorney General delegated the responsibilities of developing the procedures for implementing, collecting, and managing hate crime data to the Director of the FBI, who, in turn, assigned the tasks to the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program.

Under the direction of the Attorney General and with the cooperation and assistance of many local and state law enforcement agencies, the UCR Program created a hate crime data collection to comply with the congressional mandate.

Hate Crime Statistics takes approximately 9 months to compile and publish.

Immigration Statistics

Immigration Statistics
Immigration statistics from the Department of Homeland Security. See yearbooks from 2004 to latest edition.

Justice Research and Statistics Assocation

Justice Research and Statistics Assocation
From the website: "The Justice Research and Statistics Association is a national nonprofit organization of state Statistical Analysis Center (SAC) directors, and other researchers and practitioners throughout government, academia, and the justice community who are dedicated to the use of research and analysis to make informed policy and program decisions.

JRSA conducts and publishes multistate, policy-relevant research on justice issues; provides training and technical assistance to build research and evaluation capacity and knowledge of evidence-based practices at the state and local levels; and maintains information on state criminal and juvenile justice research and programs."

Local Demographics & Statistics

Source: Data Driven Detroit

Center for Urban Studies
Conducts and disseminates research for the metro Detroit area and provides access to crime surveys, housing studies, and demographic information.
Data Driven Detroit
Provides statistical information and reports and an interactive mapping tool to create customized data maps.
Detroit Crime Statistics
Map out types of crimes by address or zip code, which can be narrowed down by date.
Michigan Census
Provides statistical and demographic reports for the State of Michigan.
Michigan's Uniform Crime Report
Provides crime data for the state and county level starting from the year 2000.
Michigan State Police Statistics

This website features a crime statistics database that is searchable both statewide and at the county level. It also provides links to other statistics, such as traffic enforcement statistics and narcotic crime trends.

NationMaster

NationMaster
To compare countries on "just about anything."

From the website: "NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources. Using the forms below, you can get maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.

We want to be the web’s one-stop resource for country statistics on everything from obesity to murders."

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
From the website: "Our mission: to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data."

National Center for Juvenile Justice

National Center for Juvenile Justice
From the website: "The National Center for Juvenile Justice (NCJJ), located in Pittsburgh, PA. is the research division of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges and is the oldest juvenile justice research group in the United States, having conducted national and sub national studies on crime and delinquency since 1973."

National Registry of Exonerations

National Registry of Exonerations
From the website: "The National Registry of Exonerations is a project of the University of Michigan Law School. It was founded in 2012 in conjunction with the Center on Wrongful Convictions at Northwestern University School of Law. The Registry provides detailed information about every known exoneration in the United States since 1989—cases in which a person was wrongly convicted of a crime and later cleared of all the charges based on new evidence of innocence."

Other Federal Agencies

U.S. Department of Homeland Security

United States Courts

RAINN Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network

RAINN Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network
From the website: "RAINN: The nation's largest anti-sexual assault organization. RAINN's policy department works to improve the criminal justice system to ensure that more rapists are brought to justice, and that victims of sexual violence get the justice they deserve." 11/14

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
From the website: "The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States."

Justice Research and Statistics Association

Justice Research and Statistics Association
"national nonprofit organization dedicated to the use of nonpartisan research and analysis to inform criminal and juvenile justice decisionmaking. We are comprised of a network of researchers and practitioners throughout government, academia, and the justice community." The website includes free research and analytical reports.

State Statistical Abstracts

State Statistical Abstracts
Find a list of abstracts for most US states.

Statistical Resources Online

Statistical Resources Online
From the website: "This research guide provides links to some of the best online sources for international statistical information. The resources have been reviewed and selected by Library Network research librarians for use by World Bank Group and IMF staff.

Most are free Internet resources, but we have also included commercial databases accessible through paid site licences, with access restricted to IMF and/or Bank Group staff on an institution-wide basis."

Trafficking in Persons Report - US Dept of State

From the website: " The Trafficking in Persons (TIP) Report is the U.S. Government’s principal diplomatic tool to engage foreign governments on human trafficking. It is also the world’s most comprehensive resource of governmental anti-human trafficking efforts and reflects the U.S. Government’s commitment to global leadership on this key human rights and law enforcement issue."

"In the TIP Report, the Department of State places each country onto one of three tiers based on the extent of their governments’ efforts to comply with the "minimum standards for the elimination of trafficking” found in Section 108 of the TVPA."

Reports include 2001 through the current year.

US Census

US Census Bureau
This is the official U.S. Census Bureau website, providing information about the 2010 census with access to older census data.

Included are anonymous data from many social, financial and medical studies that are conducted by the Bureau of the Census.

US Census Bureau Law Enforcement, Courts, and Prisons

US Census Bureau
This section presents data on crimes committed, victims of crimes, arrests, and data related to criminal violations and the criminal justice system.

U.S. Department of Justice

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives

Bureau of Justice Statistics

National Criminal Justice Reference Service

Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center

Drug Enforcement Administration

Federal Bureau of Investigation

Federal Bureau of Prisons

National Institute of Justice

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention

U. S. Marshals Service

USA.gov Data and Statistics

Data.gov
Search USA.gov for statistics on agriculture, climate, education, engergy, finance, health, public safety, science and research, and more.l

UNESCO Institute for Statistics

UNESCO Institute of Statistics
From the website: "The UIS publishes a broad range of publications, including analytical reports, technical papers and statistical frameworks.

The majority of publications focus on education issues, reflecting the breadth of related statistics and indicators in the UIS database. There is also a growing number of titles featuring UIS data and analysis in the fields of science and technology, culture as well as communication."

United Nations Statistics Division

United Nations Statistics Division
From the website: "[The United Nations Statistics Division] provides a global centre for data on international trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environment and demographic and social statistics gathered from national and international sources."

Web Junction

From the website:

"This module is designed to assist users in finding information on topics including corrections, courts, crime and crime prevention, the justice system, and law enforcement."

Find guides to databases, statistics, important documents related to crime and more.

World Drug Report

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime Statistics

Find UN information on the world wide supply of and demand for opiates, cocaine, cannabis, amphetamine-type stimulants (ATS) and new psychoactive substances (NPS), as well as their impact on health. Reports date back to 1997.

U.S. Sentencing Commission

United States Sentencing Commission (USSC)
"The U.S. Sentencing Commission, a bipartisan, independent agency located in the judicial branch of government, was created by Congress in 1984 to reduce sentencing disparities and promote transparency and proportionality in sentencing.
the website Includes the annual Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics

Criminal Justice: Statistics