Guides: Criminal Justice: Police Misconduct

Police Misconduct Books and eBooks

Guidelines for Investigating Officer-Involved Shootings, Arrest-Related Deaths, and Deaths in Custody by Darrell L. Ross
ISBN: 9780323296236
Publication Date: 2017
Addresses critical components of investigations dealing with officer-involved shootings.. It covers: estate, community, judicial, agency, involved officer, and public policy interests.
Police Use of Force (eBook) by Michael J. Palmiotto (Editor)
ISBN: 9781498732147
Publication Date: 2016
Presents readers with timely, in-depth coverage of the use of force, deadly force, non-lethal weapons, militarization of policing, racism and profiling, legal cases, psychology, perception and training, and violence prevention.
From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation by Keeang-Yamahtta Taylor
Call Number: E 185.86 .T367 2016
ISBN: 9781608465620
Publication Date: 2016
Surveys the history of racism and persistence of structural inequality, arguing that recent struggles against police violence hold the potential to reignite a broader push for Black liberation.
They Can't Kill Us All (eBook) by Wesley Lowery
ISBN: 9780316312479
Publication Date: 2016
A deeply reported book that brings alive the quest for justice in the deaths of Michael Brown, Tamir Rice, and Freddie Gray, offering both unparalleled insight into the reality of police violence in America and an intimate, moving portrait of those working to end it
Essential Rules of Behaviour for Police in Armed Conflict, Disturbance and Tension (eBook) by Ralph Crawshaw
ISBN: 9789004219151
Publication Date: 2014
Considers the rules of behavior in actual armed conflic tas well as police conduct in those forms of conflict that fall below the armed conflict threshold.
Accountability by Camera (eBook) by Douglas A. Kelly
ISBN: 9781593327576
Publication Date: 2014
Online video can bypass police jurisdictional influence over traditional mass media and may be affecting police-civilian interactions in American public space as the initial cusp of a paradigm shift.
Tried and Convicted (eBook) by Michael D. Cicchini
ISBN: 9781442217171
Publication Date: 2012
Details how government agents routinely circumvent individual constitutional rights that are intended to protect us from the vagaries of the criminal justice system.
Peer Reporting of Unethical Police Behavior (eBook) by Vedat Kargin
ISBN: 9781593324483
Publication Date: 2010
Kargin examines police officers' decision making with regard to peer reporting of unethical police behavior.
Accountability by Camera: Online Video's Effects on Police-Civilian Interactions by Douglas A. Kelly
ISBN: 9781593327576
Publication Date: 2015
Explains how Online video can bypass police jurisdictional influence over traditional mass media and may be affecting police-civilian interactions in American public space as the initial cusp of a paradigm shift.

Statistics

National Police Misconduct Reporting Project

"The CATO Institute analyzes media reports each day to locate news stories of police misconduct, records those reports in a database, and then transmits details about each report in a news feed. Our objective is to identify policies that consistently uphold high standards of ethics, honesty, and professionalism from police officers and allow policymakers to consider proposals that minimize wrongdoing.

Websites

ACLU: Fighting Police Misconduct by American Civil Liberties Union
Includes the history of ACLU's fight against police misconduct as well as links to a community action manual and tips on what to do if you are stopped by police.

Black, White, and Blue: Americans' Attitudes on Race and Police
Includes public opinion poll results from both 2014 and 1968 comparing opinions of blacks and whites on police brutality, accountability, and training.

Copwatch
Copwatch groups are local organizations that observe and document police in order to hold the police accountable in cases of police misconduct or brutality. The first Copwatch was formed in Berkeley, CA

Law Enforcement Misconduct
This U.S. Department of Justice page includes information on police misconduct legislation, federal criminal enforcement and how to file a complaint.
NAACP: Pathways to Police Reform
The NAACP’s community mobilization toolkit working toward police reform.
National Police Accountability Project
The National Police Accountability Project (NPAP) is a non-profit membership organization of plaintiff's lawyers, law students and legal workers dedicated to ending law enforcement and detention officer abuse of authority through coordinated legal action, public education, and support for grassroots and victims' organizations combating misconduct. Includes links to attorneys, research papers, news and other resources.
Use of Force
This webpage from the U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics includes statistics and results from the Police-Public Contact Survey, the Arrest-Related Deaths Program, ant the FBI's Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted database.