Mechanical Engineering: Biomedical Engineering

Engineering Databases:

• Engineering Village: The most comprehensive index of engineering research available, going back over 120 years.  (Only available ON CAMPUS.)

• IEEE:  Electrical engineering journals, magazines, conferences, and standards

• ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers): lncludes full text access to six journals from the (ASCE)

• SAGE Journals Online: includes full text articles from 15 journals dealing primarily with polymers

• Wiley Online Library: an interdisciplinary database including engineering and technology articles.

Remember to give credit to the original source when you use someone else's work or idea, whether you use a direct quote or paraphrase.  Most style guides require some form of citation in the text of your paper as well as at the end in a bibliography or list of references.

Purdue Online Writing Center (OWL): The Purdue OWL offers detailed instructions and examples of how to write and cite in MLA or APA format.

Citation Machine: A free, quick, and easy to use citation generator that work for APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.

RefWorks: Use RefWorks to keep track of the articles you find as you do your library research, and use it again as you write to format your entire paper, inserting quotations and creating a list of references at the end.

Medical Databases:

• PubMed : Includes more than 29 million citations from biomedical literature going back to the 1950s.Created and maintained by the National Library of Medicine.

• CINAHL (EBSCO): Large and authoritative database of nursing research.

• Cochrane Library: Includes full-text systematic reviews, methodology reviews, a registry of clinical trials.

• ProQuest Health and Medical Collection: Includes many premier medical journals as well as consumer and health administration titles.

• Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO): Features scholarly, full-text journals in various medical disciplines.

• ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health:Contains full-text articles from scholarly nursing and complementary medicine journals.

• Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA): Citations from published and in-progress health technology projects from around the world (click on the HTA checkbox to the right of the search boxes).

Interdisciplinary Databases:

• Science Direct: Contains original research articles in science, technology, engineering and medicine, as well as a selection of  journals in the social sciences, humanities and business.  Full text starts in 1995.

• SAGE Journals: Includes scholarly health sciences, material sciences and engineering journals as well as social science and humanities journals.

• Wiley Online Library: Contains scholarly articles in a wide range of disciplines.

• Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) : Includes journal and newspaper articles from a wide variety of publications.

• ProQuest Central: very large, multidisciplinary database with documents from journals, magazines, newspapers, trade journals, reports, wire feeds, podcasts, and more