Skip to Main Content
University of Detroit Mercy logo

Health Services Administration

NICHSR

The National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) website is no longer supported by the National Library of Medicine.

Links from the NICHSR have been re-created below

Health Services Project Websites

These sites contain grant funded projects that are in-process as well as one that have been completed.

Key Health Services Organizations

These organizations serve the information needs of the Health Services research community. 

Federal Agencies:

Associations and Organizations:

International:

Behavioral and Mental Health

Child Health Services Research

  • 10 Characteristics of Preschool-Age Children: A State and Local Data Tool to Inform Policy and Action

    Interactive tool shows 10 important characteristics of 3- to 5-year-olds. It displays the characteristics by whether the children are enrolled in early education, whether their families are low income, or whether their parents are immigrants.

  • Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE) Study
  • Information from the study, which assesses the associations between childhood maltreatment and later-life health and well-being. Includes data and statistics, and publications. Details about the study itself are included.

  • All 50 States and Washington, D.C. CHIP Fact Sheets for all years

    All of the CHIP fact sheets published are listed in Adobe Acrobat PDF format.

  • CAHPP State Data Chartbook

    Chartbook provides childrens' health indicators at the state level, including health insurance coverage, special health needs, and factors impacting coverage. Users can select states on an individual basis or compare two states.

  • CAHPS® Item Set for Children with Chronic Conditions

    CAHPS®, formerly known as the Consumer Assessment of Health Plans, is a research-based survey measurement tool that is widely used for assessing access, communication, and other aspects of the experience of health care. This set of items assesses the experiences of this population with health plans and health care services.

  • Catalogue of Surveillance Systems

    The Catalogue of Surveillance Systems provides one-stop access to over 100 publicly available datasets relevant to childhood obesity research.

  • Child Health

    Publications on children's health from HRSA.

  • Child Health Care Quality Toolbox

    This online resource is intended to help state and local policymakers and program directors and staff answer questions about measuring health care performance in child health programs.

  • Child Welfare Enacted Legislation

    Search legislation by state from 2012 forward. Also available is a link to a separate database of legislation from 2005-2011. Categories include child abuse and neglect, child fatality, and education.

  • Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI)

    The Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI) develops and maintains a number of quality measurement tools and strategies that assess the quality of care provided to children and young adults, as well as projects to advance the effective use of data to improve policy and practice.

  • Children's Faces of Medicaid: Data Analysis Series
  • Resources are part of CHCS' ongoing Faces of Medicaid data analysis series, which is designed to uncover patterns of behavioral health care use and expense for children in Medicaid and to help states and other stakeholders uncover opportunities to improve outcomes for these children and youth.

  • Children's Health and Education Mapping Tool
  • Provides county-level GIS information on child health, education, and socioeconomic status, as well as health facilities and school-based health center locations.

  • DiversityDataKids
  • This tool allows you to analyze data by race/ethnicity, compare data across states, metropolitan areas, counties, large cities, and large school districts, and compare policy indicators across states.

  • Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) Service

    The Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) service is Medicaid's comprehensive and preventive child health program for individuals under the age of 21. It includes periodic screening, vision, dental, and hearing services.

  • Health Behaviour in School-aged Children (HBSC)
  • The HBSC collects data every four years on 11-, 13- and 15-year-old boys' and girls' health and well-being, social environments and health behaviours. These years mark a period of increased autonomy that can influence how their health and health-related behaviours develop. The research venture dates back to 1982, when researchers from England, Finland and Norway agreed to develop and implement a shared research protocol to survey school children. By 1983 the HBSC study was adopted by the WHO Regional Office for Europe as a collaborative study. HBSC now includes 45 countries and regions across Europe and North America.

  • Health Care Coverage and Financing for Children with Special Health Care Needs: A Tutorial to Address Inequities

    This tutorial clarifies the language used to describe the differences within the population of children with special health care needs (CSHCN) and provides tools and examples of policies, programs, and partnerships that users can adopt in their states to improve access to coverage and financing of care for the most vulnerable children.

  • Healthy Students, Promising Futures: State and Local Action Steps and Practices to Improve School-Based Health (Jan 2016)

    This toolkit outlines 5 opportunities for improving the health status of school-age children. Included are enrollment in health insurance, nutrition and physical activity, and reimbursable health services.

  • Human Development Report (United Nations)

    The Human Development Report (HDR) presents a wealth of statistical information on different aspects of human development. Links to other background materials, data resources and on-going debates and discussions on human development statistics.

  • Innovation Station

    Search for best practices on a variety of maternal and child health areas, limited to state or region.

  • Kidsdata
  • Find data about the health and well being of children in communities across California. Kidsdata.org allows users to find, customize, and use data on more than 500 measures of child health and well being. Data are available for every county, city, school district, and legislative district in California.

  • Leveraging CHIP to Improve Children’s Health: An Overview of State Health Services Initiatives

    Chart provides information about states' health services initiatives (HSIs) to improve the health of low-income children and youth. HSIs can include direct services and public health initiatives. States have used HSIs to support poison control centers, school health services, lead abatement efforts, and other unique prevention and intervention projects.

  • MACStats

    A continually updated repository of statistics on Medicaid and CHIP enrollment and spending, and documents with key aspects of both programs.

  • Measuring America: A Child's Day: At a Glance

    This infographic outlines the amount of time each day children spend at education and reading, the availability of meals, exercising or participating in a sports activity, or in child care.

  • Medicaid State Fact Sheets

    Federal and state fact sheets provide snap shots with current data (as of January 2017) on Medicaid and CHIP coverage, access, and financing.

  • Medicaid, CHIP, and ACA State Snapshots

    Factsheets for the nation as well as all 51 states (including the District of Columbia). These snapshots underscore the importance of Medicaid in providing coverage for children.

  • Monthly Medicaid and CHIP Application, Eligibility Determination, and Enrollment Reports and Updated Data

    A series of monthly reports that were publically released through the Medicaid and CHIP Performance Indicator Projects.

  • NICHD DASH

    NICHD DASH is a centralized resource for researchers to store and access data from research studies by the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) to use for secondary research.

  • NICHD Study of Early Child Care and Youth Development (SECCYD) Sunsetted/For Reference Only

    A longitudinal study that examined how early child care impacts childhood development and health. Funding for data collection ended in 2009, but the data is still available for research via application.

  • National Center for Health Statistics Health E Stats

    Health statistics, links to publications, working papers, and electronic medical record use.

  • National School-Based Health Care Census
  • This online survey provides the school-based health field with accurate, up-to-date data about SBHC demographics, staffing, services, utilization, financing, prevention activities, and clinical policies.

  • National Survey Publications and Chartbooks

    HRSA's Maternal and Child Health programs promote and improve the health of mothers, infants, children, and adolescents, including low-income families, those with diverse racial and ethnic heritages, and those living in rural or isolated areas without access to care. Publications include materials on health care, prenatal care and newborn screening, and preventive care and research. Included here are National Survey of Children's Health, National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs, Child Health USA, and Women's Health USA.

  • National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs

    From 2009-2010, this survey analyzes the prevalence and impact of special health care needs among children in the US

  • School Health Policies and Practices Study (SHPPS)
  • The School Health Policies and Practices Study* (SHPPS) is a national survey periodically conducted to assess school health policies and practices at the state, district, school, and classroom levels.

  • Securing a Healthy Future: The Commonwealth Fund State Scorecard on Child Health System Performance, 2011

    A report, chartpack and data tables which examine states' performance on 20 indicators, including children's health care access, affordability of care, prevention and treatment, the potential to lead healthy lives, and health system equity.

  • State Level Trends in Children's Health Insurance Coverage

    Page provides an in-depth report which examines health insurance coverage for children nationwide and at the state level and additionally, an interactive map with state level summaries of health insurance coverage for children.

  • State Strategies to Promote Children’s Preventive Services
  • This series of maps and accompanying chart illustrate state-specific Medicaid or CHIP performance improvement projects, measures, or incentives promoting children's preventive services, such as those recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics' Bright Futures guidelines.

  • The CCDF Policies Database Book of Tables: Key Cross-State Variations in CCDF Policies as of October 1, 2014

    Child Care and Development Fund provides federal money to States, Territories, and Tribes to subsidize the cost of child care for lower-income families. This Book of Tables presents key aspects of the differences in CCDF-funded programs across United States, as of October 1, 2014.

  • The Children's Health Care Report Card

    Interactive data hub that identifies state and national trends and allows users to take a closer look at metrics such as children’s uninsured rates, Medicaid/CHIP participation rates, access to quality care, as well as policy options to improve enrollment and retention in Medicaid/CHIP.

  • The Opportunity Atlas

    Atlas provides longitudinal data on childhood opportunity at the state-, city-, and neighborhood-level, with multiple demographic filters.

  • UNICEF Data

    Datasets related to the health of women and children worldwide

  • Visualizing Trends for Children of Immigrants

    Interactive tool designed to generate charts and tables with indicators on children, age 0 to 17, for the United States and for the 50 states and the District of Columbia using data from the American Community Survey

    APHA Center for School, Health and Education

  • The Center for School, Health and Education focuses on the role that school-based health centers can play in ensuring educational success and promoting the well-being of school-age children and teens.

    AcademyHealth

    AcademyHealth acts as an objective broker of information, bringing together stakeholders to address the current and future needs of an evolving health system, inform health policy and practice, and translate evidence into action.

    Adolescent Health: Think, Act, Grow® (TAG)

    A national call to action to improve adolescent health in the United States. TAG calls upon organizations and individuals to prioritize activities that can support the health and healthy development of all of America's 42 million adolescents.

    Child Health Evaluation and Research Unit (CHEAR)

    Research conducted by the CHEAR Unit provides information to improve the delivery of child health care and enhance the effectiveness and efficiency of public and private health care programs.

    Child Health Services Research Interest Group

    This interest group provides a forum for researchers, policymakers, practitioners, and trainees to interact on health issues related to children. Links are provided to information about upcoming and past meetings.

    Child Trends

    Nonprofit, nonpartisan research center that studies children at all stages of development and provides research, data, and analysis to the people and institutions whose decisions and actions affect children, including program providers, the policy community, researchers and educators, and the media.

    Children's Health Insurance Program

    Initiative is dedicated to making high-quality, comprehensive, affordable health insurance coverage for all of America's children a top national priority.

    Families USA: Children's Health

    Information and resourches on children's health collected by Families USA.

    Indian Children's Program

    The IHS Division of Behavioral Health Indian Children's Program (ICP) provides education, training, and consultation on issues affecting American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) youth via IHS's Telebehavioral Health Center of Excellence (TBHCE). These services are available to all IHS, Tribal, and Urban (I/T/U) providers.

    Innovations in Childhood Obesity Resource Center

    This resource center provides practical tools and strategies to spur Medicaid-public health collaboration to reduce childhood obesity among low-income populations.

    Insure Kids Now!

    Insure Kids Now! is a national campaign to link the nation's uninsured children -- from birth to age 18 -- to free and low-cost health insurance.

    Integrated Care for Kids (InCK) Model

    A child-centered local service delivery and state payment model that aims to reduce expenditures and improve the quality of care for children under 21 years of age covered by Medicaid and CHIP through prevention, early identification, and treatment of behavioral and physical health needs. The model will empower states and local providers to better address these needs and the impact of opioid addiction through care integration across all types of healthcare providers.

    Medicaid Early Childhood Innovation Lab

    The MECIL will recruit six to eight teams led by state Medicaid agencies or health plans to participate in an 18-month learning lab to catalyze upstream innovations in Medicaid. Teams participating in MECIL will design, implement, and spread strategies for: (a) creating the conditions for optimal early childhood (ages 0-3) health and development; (b) intervening with high-risk, low-income families to prevent childhood trauma, boost kindergarten readiness, and reduce long-term health and social services costs for federal, state, and local governments; and (c) generating connections between Medicaid stakeholders and innovators in early childhood development.

    National Initiative for Children's Healthcare Quality (NICHQ)

    NICHQ is an independent, not-for-profit, quality improvement organization dedicated to achieving a world in which all children receive the high quality healthcare they need.

    National Research Center on Hispanic Children and Families

    The Center provides information and resources for research on Hispanic children and families, with the focus areas of education, poverty, and family involvement.

    PEDSnet

    A pediatric learning health system dedicated to discovering and implementing new ways of providing the best care and improving health care outcome

Community / Public Health

Health Disparities

Health Economics, Reform, and Policy

Health Informatics

Quality

Women's Health