Guides: Health Services Administration: Writing, Citing, Posters

Introduction

It's important to give others credit when you quote or refer to their ideas by including citations in your papers. Citations should include enough information for readers to find the original source.

Most library databases have citation tools that allow you to quickly generate a citation that you can cut and paste into your bibliography. Look for icons or links that include the word "cite" or "citation".

RefWorks

RefWorks (https://refworks.proquest.com)

a bibliographic management tool that will automatically format citations (end notes and footnotes) and a bibliography for your papers.

You must set-up an account:

RefWorks Help

Detroit Mercy Tutorials
Link leads to university library page with instructions for using various RefWorks features and links to other RefWorks help.
RefWorks Guide
An entire website that will assist in all aspects of using RefWorks.
RefWorks You Tube Channel
Multiple short videos (1-3:30 min) that demo RW features

Citing Resources: Websites and Ebooks

APA Style Blog | American Psychological Association
Offers examples and information for using the APA format (6 and 7) and avoiding common APA errors. You can search for an answer to a specific citation question, explore posts by category, or view the most recent posts and comments. The blog is run by a group of experts who work with APA Style every day.
Citing Drug Databases
Purdue U. has created sample citations for Micromedex, Lexi-Comp, and Facts & Comparisons eAnswers .

AMA Manual of Style by The Jama Network Editors
Publication Date: 2020; 11th ed.
*Single user ebook
Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers by Patrias K, author; Wendling D, editor.
Publication Date: 2020; 2nd ed.
Provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations

FAQ's About APA | American Psychological Association
Guide to Understanding Plagiarism (Easy Bib)
Provides a flow chart that will assist writers in determining when they need to cite.
Purdue OWL: APA Style
Provides general APA guidelines and examples.

Anatomy of a Citation (Reference)

Anatomy of a Citation (APA7)

APA 7 Handouts and Templates

APA 7 Heading Levels Template: Student Paper

APA 7 Paper Formatting Requirements
Provides guidance on formatting your paper in APA 7. Instructions include: title page, header, headings, paragraph alignment and indentation, margins, fonts, and line spacing.

APA 7 Sample Student Paper Template
Word doc provided by APA Style Blog.
APA 7 Sample Student Paper
Annotated PDF provided by APA Style Blog provides explanations of formatting.

APA 7 Style Guide to Common Reference Examples
Provides examples for creating references for journal articles, books, edited book chapters, magazine article, newspaper article, reports, press releases, conference sessions, webinars, films, YouTube videos, webpages, podcasts, and more.

Copyright Basics

Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States - Chart
Online chart (downloadable pdf) by Peter Hirtle (Cornell University) that provides a quick way to determine if a work is in the public domain.