Skip to Main Content
University of Detroit Mercy logo

Health Services Administration

Medical / Nursing Mobile App Info

Presently, there are no guidelines or regulations for medical apps; anyone with adequate programming skills can create an app. Analyze any medical or nursing apps before downloading. Note who was involved in the creation of the app.

Decorative

Database Apps

5 Minute Clinical Consult Logo Follow instructions for downloading and accessing the app that accompanies the Detroit Mercy subscription. 

App icon See instructions for downloading the app that accompanies the Detroit Mercy subscription


EBSCO logo Access CINAHL Complete. At the bottom of the homepage is an "iphone and android apps" link. Click the link and enter your email address to receive download instructions, a link, and a download "key".

The EBSCO Mobile App - Quick Start Guide provides instructions for use.


WISER app iconWISER Response: (FREE) Provides accurate information about hazardous substances, emergency resources available, and surrounding environmental conditions in an hazardous material incident.

Drug & Chem Resources

ACEP app iconACEP Toxicology Section Antidote provides access to dosing regimens for a variety of medications and antidotes used for common poisonings encountered in emergency medicine.


CDC App iconCDC Opioid Guideline: helps providers apply recommendations by including the entire guideline, tools, and resources. Includes a Morphine Milligram Equivalent (MME) calculator*, summaries of key recommendations, and an interactive motivational interviewing feature to help providers practice effective communications skills and prescribe with confidence.


CDC vaccine App iconCDC Vaccine Schedules: provides ACIP recommended immunization schedules for children, adolescents, and adults.  


Epocrates App iconEpocrates: drug reference application with info on prescription and OTC medications, pill identifier, drug interactions, and several med calculators.

Health Professional Training

3D Brain app icon3D Brain: Rotates and zooms around 29 interactive brain structures. Discover how each brain region functions, what happens when it is injured, and how it is involved in mental illness.

Med Calculators

App iconASCVD Risk Estimator Plus: by the American College of Cardiology and American Heart Association helps providers and patients estimate 10-year and lifetime risks for atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease.


MediCalc App iconMediCalc: Comprehensive "Medical Calculator System™". It performs automatic computation of more than 300 hundred clinical formulas, equations & scores "commonly used" in medical practice.


MediCalX App iconMedCalX: Tool that enables professionals to easily use complicated medical formulas, scores and classifications. This free version permits access only to a subset of formulas.


Calculate App iconCalculate by QxMD: can be used to calculate various clinical scores and indices.

Medical & Nursing News

MApp iconedscape: Multipurpose app that offers medical news, drug information, disease & condition information, medical calculator, drug formulary, and CE's.


Patient Health and Education

BAM! App iconBAM! Dining Decisions: Make smart food choices to stay powered up. Decide which foods give you more energy and powerful muscles and which ones are better to eat only sometimes.


Health IQ App iconCDC Health IQ: Challenge your Health IQ in this fun and educational health trivia app.


Milestone App iconCDC Milestone Tracker: Track a child’s milestones from age 2 months to 5 years with illustrated checklists; get tips from CDC for encouraging your child’s development; and find out what to do if you are ever concerned about how your child is developing.


App iconHealth IQ: taking short, 5 minute quizzes to assess your level of health knowledge. In addition to the main daily 30 question quiz, you can also take the  500 daily quizzes on a variety of topics


Solve the Outbreak App iconSolve the Outbreak: CDC app that lets you be a Disease Detective, find clues about outbreaks, and make tough decisions about what to do next. A fun peak into epidemiology.


webPoinsonControl App iconwebPOISONCONTROL by Poison Control Centers provides expert help for a possible poisoning by helping users determine if an exposure is dangerous and requires medical attention.

Reference & Misc

CASP App iconBased on the Critical Appraisal Skills Program templates developed at Oxford, CASP helps with critically appraising EBP literature.


CDC App iconCDC: a great variety of content such as stories, videos, podcasts, journals and blogs with up-to-date health news and information.


Diagnosaurus App iconDiagnosaurusDDX: Free version. Helps perform differential diagnosis. Search over 1,000 diagnoses by organ system, symptom, or disease, or view all entries. Use “See Related DDx” feature in each entry for alternative diagnoses.


USPTF App iconUSPSTF Prevention TaskForce Recommendations: Designed by AHRQ to help primary care clinicians identify clinical preventive services (i.e. screening, counseling, medication) that are appropriate for their patients. Use the tool to search and browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations on the web or on your PDA or mobile device.


Figure 1 App iconFigure 1community for medical and nursing professionals to safely share clinical cases and discuss treatment. Contribute your own medical cases in a privacy-conscious way. Available for Android also.


MediBabble App iconMediBabble Translator: Professional-grade medical interpretation app for healthcare providers;a history-taking and physical exam application designed to improve the safety, efficiency, and quality of care for non-English speaking patients.


App iconBlood Donor by American Red Cross: Find nearby Red Cross blood drives, schedule appointments, earn rewards from premier retailers, follow your blood’s journey from donation through delivery (when possible), and create or join a lifesaving team and track its impact on a national leader board.

Databases and Websites Formatted for Mobile Devices

Decorative

WPSI logo

Patient Education Sites Formatted for Mobile Devices

Mobile formatted screenshot