Guides: Mechanical Engineering: Autonomous Vehicles

Federal Highway Administration

"The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) provides leadership in the safe development, testing, and deployment of automated vehicle (AV) technology, including connected and automated vehicle (CAV) research and cooperative driving automation (CDA)."

FHWA Outreadh
Includes information on outreach with state DOTs and, other public agencies, and industry groups as part of a National Dialogue on Highway Automation.
Policy and Guidance
Includes information on how the FHSA is integrating autonomous vehicles into the MUTCD and integrating them into planning processes.
CARMA
CARMA is an open source platform designed to encourage collaboration by simpiifying software development and working with any vehicle, hardware or control system to improve transportation efficiency and safety.
Platooning Research
Includes real-world testing results on vehicle platooning and truck platooning, as well as earlier human factors studies.

White House report

Ensuring American Leadership in Automated vehicle Technologies: Automated Vehicles 4.0

Compiled by the National Science & Technology Council and the U.S. Department of Transportation, this report works toward a consistent approach across over 38 U.S. Government agencies toward research, development and integration of automated vehicle technologies. It aims to protect users and communities, promote efficient markets, and facilitate coordinated effors.

IEEE Conbected Vehicles Initiatiative

The IEEE Connected Vehicles Initiative "seeks to promote technical activities, networking, publications, standards and access to technical information in connected vehicles." This guide includes links to news, IEEE publications, and conference proceedings. The initiative is currently developing a series of eLearning modules on connected vehicle technologies, systems and applications.

eBooks

Engineering Autonomous Vehicles and Robots by Shaoshan Liu
Provides detailed steps and codes to create an autonomous machine, at affordable cost, and with a modular approach.
Sustainability Prospects for Autonomous Vehicles by George T. Martin
Examines the social, behavioural, and environmental implications of autonomous vehicles and how they will impact communities.
Advanced Autonomous Vehicle Design for Severe Environments by M. N. Ogun
Discusses research and future trends in manned and unmanned ground vehicle dynamics, terrain mobility and energy efficiency.
Autonomous Vehicles by Clifford Winston
Argues that policy analysts nust identify and analyze important issues and necessary steps to ease the advent of autonomous vehicles and ensure their safety and efficiency.
The End of Driving by Bern Grush; John Niles
Explores both the potential of vehicle automation technology and the barriers it faces when considering coherent urban deployment
Are We There Yet? by Michael A. Pagano
Examines the technological questions surrounding autonomous vehicles and the uncertain societal and legislative impact of widespread AV adoption.
Sensing and Control for Autonomous Vehicles by Thor Fossen
Explores guidance, navigation and motion control systems for autonomous vehicles are increasingly important in land-based, marine and aerial operations
Autonomous Underwater Vehicles by Cynthia Mitchell
Explores how a Service-Oriented Agent Architecture (SOAA) for marine robots is endowed with resilient capabilities in order to build a robust (fault-tolerant) vehicle control approach.
Formation Control of Multiple Autonomous Vehicle Systems by Hugh H. T. Liu; Bo Zhu
Examines the dynamics and control aspects of formation control in order to study a wide spectrum of dynamic vehicle systems such as spacecraft, unmanned aerial vehicles and robots.
Autonomous Products and Their Consumers: What We Love and Fear When Using Autonomous Vehicles by Schulze, Benjamin
ISBN: 9783736971790

Federal Aviation Administration

"The FAA collaborates with industry and communities to advance drone operations and integrate them into the national airspace."

Recreational Flyers
Includes information on how to register a drone, temporary flight restrictions, travelling with a drone, a link to the Recreational UAS Safety Test, and rules for recreational drone operation.
Certified Remote and Commercial Operations
Includes rules for commercial operators, study materials for a knowledge test for drone pilot certification, a link to obtain a FAA Tracking Number, and registration and marking requirements
Public Safety and Law Enforcement
Includes toolkits to help law enforcement handle sightings and reports as well as LEAP agent contact information.

Drones (eBooks)

Drones by Sarah E. Kreps
Explores how drones work, how and where they are used on the ground and in maritime environments, and how they are being integrated into military and civilian life.
Ethics and Civil Drones: European Policies and Proposals for the Industry by Campos, Virginia S.
Explores the results of the European H2020 AiRT Project related to mitigating safety and security concerns when civil drones are piloted by the service sector
Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV)-Enabled Wireless Communications and Networking by Deruyck, Margot
ISBN: 9783036546636
Addresses issues involved in allowing UAV-enabled wireless communication and networking.
Drones for Biodiversity Conservation and Ecological Monitoring by Ricardo Diaz-Delgado (
Examines how unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV) contribute to a better understanding of biodiversity and ecosystem status, threats, changes, and trends
Drones by Tamara Thompson (Editor)
Explores why drones are controversial, how drone technology has outpaced regulation, whether or not domestic law enforcement agencies or commercial entities should be allowed to use drones

National Transportation Library

This guide contains information on U.S. Legislation, Federal Regulations, and International projects on connected vehicle technology issues including organizational, societal, legal and infrastructural impacts of the new techologies.